We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection is hard to come by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Beach Residence
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Mama beach resort is amazing. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The price was very good, Seeing as when you wake you up there is a crystal clear beach with monkeys running from the cliff edge at 6:30am with the sun rising out of the sea, I think the price is VERY good. Will return for sure one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 906 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the best hotel on Phi Phi! Excellent rooms modern and very clean with a view to die for! Stunning beach and location was so perfect just a 5 minute walk up the beach to the main village so at night your away from the parties! Lovely helpful staff and beautiful food and drinks. We stayed here over xmas and had the time of our lives. The hotel helped my partner arrange for a private long tail boat with an ice bucket and wine and bunch of flowers to take us out to the amazing Phi Phi Lei where he proposed on a secluded stretch of beach on christmas morning! It truly was heaven on earth! Thank you so much Mama Beach for an amazing christmas we will be back! xxx

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSimeone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there for few days and I really liked it! Location is the best, beautiful hills and sea view from the window. It's quite area, like 5 mins away from all the noisy bars and restaraunts. Modern room design, comfortable beds, air con, clean etc. Loved the restaraunt, food is great there. I really advice you to stay there if you in Ton Sai.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qtey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! Room had a beautiful ocean view. 2 twin beds were comfortable. Good wifi throughout the rooms, restaurant and private beach area. Rooms were clean and a had a modern feel. When you are out of the room, it does get quite warm inside but the Aircon unit does cool the room down pretty fast.
Breakfast was included in the price and featured made-to-order eggs, cereal, fruit, pastries, juices. It was a good way to start the day. Food at the restaurant throughout the day was just ok.
The private beach was great - maybe not the cleanest or most scenic on the island, but for the Tonsai village area, it was fine. Loved being steps from the room. Plenty of loungers and shade for guests. Staff were very friendly and helfpul.
Hotel is about a 10 min walk from the pier and village center. Hotel has porters to take your luggage to the pier.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January after spending 4 nights in Phuket. We loved the location - 10m walk from the pier along a beautiful path but close enough to all the bars. Everything about this hotel was amazing the views the location the breakfast was the best we had in Thailand. The dinner was fantastic too especially sitting right beside the sea. We mostly went into town for the evenings as there were so many restaurante and bars. as with previous comments bathroom is o outside but there was no problem with this. We would def return to this hotel as it looked much better than anything else we saw

Room Tip: We had a more expensive room on the top floor but all the rooms looked great
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Orangetreeclinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just left mamas at phi phi. For $150 AUD a night I expected a lot more. Sheets were dirty, bathroom was dirty. Bathroom door did not shut properly, not what you want with so many Mosquitos on the island.

Breakfast was cold. Eggs were ok. Fruit juice was great. Drinks from bar were great. Food from resort was over priced and did not look inviting. There are much better dining options at phi phi for half the price.

I will not be coming back here again. We saw a nicer hotel a few doors up.

Room Tip: Don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 7 days at Mama's Beach Residence. A good place to relax. Accommodating and helpful staff, very good food at the hotel's restaurant. If you want to wake up to a great view of sunrise, this is the place to be which is very romantic. Delicious fresh French croissants are served for breakfast, together with different sorts of prepared eggs. The hotel is well situated, at the end of the beach, away from the crowded and noisy center.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mathieu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,587 reviews
1 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,716 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Address: 199, Moo 7 | Ton Sai Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $73 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mama Beach Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing