We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mama Beach Residence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January after spending 4 nights in Phuket. We loved the location - 10m walk from the pier along a beautiful path but close enough to all the bars. Everything about this hotel was amazing the views the location the breakfast was the best we had in Thailand. The dinner was fantastic too especially sitting right beside the sea. We mostly went into town for the evenings as there were so many restaurante and bars. as with previous comments bathroom is o outside but there was no problem with this. We would def return to this hotel as it looked much better than anything else we saw

Room Tip: We had a more expensive room on the top floor but all the rooms looked great
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Orangetreeclinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 907 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just left mamas at phi phi. For $150 AUD a night I expected a lot more. Sheets were dirty, bathroom was dirty. Bathroom door did not shut properly, not what you want with so many Mosquitos on the island.

Breakfast was cold. Eggs were ok. Fruit juice was great. Drinks from bar were great. Food from resort was over priced and did not look inviting. There are much better dining options at phi phi for half the price.

I will not be coming back here again. We saw a nicer hotel a few doors up.

Room Tip: Don't come here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 7 days at Mama's Beach Residence. A good place to relax. Accommodating and helpful staff, very good food at the hotel's restaurant. If you want to wake up to a great view of sunrise, this is the place to be which is very romantic. Delicious fresh French croissants are served for breakfast, together with different sorts of prepared eggs. The hotel is well situated, at the end of the beach, away from the crowded and noisy center.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mathieu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It's a nice and quiet place 10 minuters walk from The Pier. The Rooms are in good condition and very comfy. The private beach may not be as beatiful as other beaches on the island, but good enough. The restaurant has near exellent food and a good breakfast buffet.
The staff is really nice, friendly and very helpful. And the drinks in the bar are amazing, try the Strawberry Daiquiri.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O_ilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a wonderful stay for 2 nights at Mama Beach. Position on Phi Phi is amazing at the quiet end of the island nestled under the limestone cliffs with amazing views from the rooms. Rooms simple, clean and comfortable. Easy walk into the main restaurant/shopping busy area of Phi Phi. Breakfast was delicious and fresh and served with beautiful views! We were met at Tonsai pier by friendly staff which was a surprise as we were unsure where to go or what to expect when arriving at Phi Phi. All staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here and we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerryMay01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel, fab location right on the beach with lovely sun beds to relax on, rooms and staff are wonderful but best thing is the restaurant. Best food on phi phi and very well priced, cheaper than most but food is to die for. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennygraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

we loved our stay in this little place and especially the chill out atmosphere of the hotel (including the chill out music!). Rooms are very comfortable and i loved the white and clean design, and the best is the location of the hotel directly on the beach. compared to what we saw on the island (and what I had checked out on the web before choosing this hotel), for us the best place to stay of Phi Phi Island! As the island is terribly overpriced, the prices of this hotel seemed absolutely reasonably for the quality.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
675 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,588 reviews
1 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,717 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Address: 199, Moo 7 | Ton Sai Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $73 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mama Beach Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing