We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot on the Beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mama Beach Residence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Spot on the Beach.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Nestled against the limestone cliffs at a far corner of the beach, Mama’s is just far enough away to be peaceful yet close enough so you can walk down and see what you’re not missing on the busy tourist strip. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is generous and delicious – it’s worth paying extra for an espresso as they make it well (and French filter coffee is frankly grotesque). We had a Grand Sea View Room and we wouldn’t trade it for any of the others. The open-air bathroom wasn’t a surprise but the excellent view of the lush, green cliffs was. We’d come again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    279
    115
    43
    51
See reviews for
104
514
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very nice hotel just a 5 minutes walk from all the main town in Phi Phi. You could say that you get the feel of being away from everything, but you are actually in the middle of it.
The rooms are very well set, very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is fantastic, and the breakfast is incredible!

I could not find a nicer place to have either lunch or dinner in the island, if you go the restaurants in town, they may be good, but the noise, the smell, and all the hustle around them will just make your dinner a not relaxing one... At Mama Beach, you are just eating at the beach...

Room Tip: Beach front room are great, I would go for the ones at the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanPa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed in Mama Beach for 5 days. Service level is high. Excellent breakfast. Rooms are very classy and modern (I would say an Apple kind of vibe). Location is close enough to the village but far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Beach is very nice with a spectacular view on the 'mountain'.

Only downside was the shower which was a little complicated and warm water seemed to be scarce. We booked a snorkle tour with Mama Beach and that was unfortunately very disappointing. We expected them to know the right trips with the right touroperator but it was a huge disappointment. They were however kind enough to give the commission earned to us as a compensation.

Conclusion: very good resort and probably one of the best on Ko Phi Phi for a relatively good price.

Room Tip: The more expensive have a breathtaking sea view. The cheaper rooms in the back have not a spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David19051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here with my parents and brother (we are all adults) and had an amazing stay. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast buffet was delicious. The fresh orange juice was a great touch every morning.
They had beginner and intermediate yoga classes on a platform looking out over the ocean in the evenings at 6:15pm which was a really nice way to relax before dinner.
Food at the restaurant was really good (both Thai and international options).

I was hesitant about Phi Phi because of all the tourists but Mama has an amazing location where it is quiet and peaceful. Just a 10 minute walk from where the ferry drops you off, also.

The rooms were clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nicely desined, lovely garden and very comfy sunbeds on the beach. This hotel is the last one on the beach line, so it was very quiet and peaceful staying. But it takes only 10 min walk to get to restaurants and bars. Breakfast was always very delicious and service was just great! Rooms designed nicely and clean.
It may sound strange, but towels smelled like not fresh. Maybe there were problem with drying, but during all staying it didn't improve. And also we had problems with hot water, actually we had no hot water. When we said it to one of reception guys, he proposed to restart heating boiler (it was located in bathroom). It helped just for a while, we had hot water for some hours, but then it was gone again.
Overall our staying in the hotel was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuliavit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I loved this place! The location is amazing! It's secluded from the 'town' area, so perfect for a 'private' getaway! The view from my room was amazing! They have their own 'fresh sugar' scented soap and shampoo which i loved but the showerhead in my room was broken so the water pressure wasn't so great. Other than that everything was great! I was very impressed with the friendly staff! They were very very cute and helpful! Their breakfast buffet is pretty good too! I recommend this place if you like your vacation quiet and private.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moka m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Mama Beach and really loved it! I had read a previous review on how to get to the resort from the ferry and it really was a 10 minute walk turning left after you get off the ferry dock.
So easy!

We were welcomed with two fruit smoothies as our room wasn't ready yet ( we arrived before check in time) at the cute bar. Try the strawberry daiquiri after your complimentary smoothie!

Great location as it is away from the wild side of phi phi but if wild is your style just party it up in town further and come back for a nice quiet sleep at Mamas!

Private chairs for Mama residence to lay out on at the beach is a great perk.

Order the Pad Thai off of the restaurant menu.... The best I had my entire 12 days thoroughout Thailand! Oh and the fried rice is amazing too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjfadnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,398 reviews
1.2 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,529 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Property: Mama Beach Residence
Address: 199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Phi phi island 81000 Krabi province, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mama Beach Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing