We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveler rating
525
353
134
57
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
525
353
134
57
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfort room spent nights bars and restaurants quiet at night island beach ferry monkeys phuket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night November 2012.

It is located on the peir side of the island making it convenient, they do tend to have someone on the peir to take your bags in a hand cart to the hotel, but if you miss him as we did head left as you leave the peir past the hospital it is one of the last places close to the big rock about 10 minute walk. They also will take your bags to the pier once you check out if you have plans for the day and they stand with them until you collect before your ferry we did this and it allowed us to enjoy one of the longtail boat trips after checking out.

located well away from the hussle and bustle of the main peir and main strip, this hotel feels nicely away from it all it is quiete has its own lovely bit of beach and is righton the beach front also has its own beach bar (slightly more pricey than places on the main strip but very nice )

the rooms are in blocks of 3 high, ours had a balcony overlooking the beach, the rooms are modern and comfortable. One strange thing i thought for a hotel of this price and standard was that the bathrooms have a large open air part which has a curtain for privacy, but that wasnt the issue it meant that bugs - mosquitos and lizards could come in very easily ( we had a small lizard in our room which entered via the open air part.

The staff are helpful and friendly as with all the islands.

activities, you can book them from the hotel, but they are a lot more exepnsive than heading to the many tour operators on the main strip. We did a 1/2 day tour by long tail boat to various islands including the one where the beach was filmed (this trip was one of the highlights of our thailand trip) we got quoted various prices from 1,500 bhat at the hotel (althought this was a different specification trip - 350 bhat which was as far right as you can walk from the pier. we paid 400 bhat each plus the 100 bhat for the national park fee including fruit and water and snorkelling equipment for 1/2 day well worth it.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citybreaker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ANGELO20122013, Directeur général at Mama Beach Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear shortbreakerUk,

Thank you very much for your letter.

Mama Beach Team is continuously attempting to improve the Residence’s performance.
There still may be room for improvement when it comes to the hospitality and so we are willing to accept criticism or congratulations when needed.

We are proud to know that Mama Beach team have been part of your successful holiday’s time.

Thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best of luck to you!

Sincerely,
Angelo R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Good points...Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Well situated with great views against the Tonsai towers at the west side of the Island, in the quiet away from the overcrowded and a now very commercialised island, close to the pier for trips/ferries etc, good quality breakfast/dinners from their open air restaurant, rooms sprayed daily with mosquito repellant. Well equipped rooms with tv, wifi, comfy bed. Cheap massages facing onto the beach.

Bad points...Small rooms with open air bathroom however I admit this is a very clever design (so not sure if good or bad) most rooms on phi phi seemed to be very cramped so on the money. The beach owed by the hotel was small and as near harbour not particularly clean.

Overall....This once idyllic Island has been spoilt by too many people trying to make money and putting little back in, 20bht to get on the island, 400bht for phi phi ley all into local pockets and it is not clean so thank goodness for this hotel which is smart, clean and away from the trash!! The staff were amazing after a booking issue and bent over backwards to help. I would recommend this hotel to all after our stay.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank D'n L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ANGELO20122013, Directeur général at Mama Beach Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Darran L,

Thank you very much for your letter.

Mama Beach Team is continuously attempting to improve the Residence’s performance.
There still may be room for improvement when it comes to the hospitality and so we are willing to accept criticism or congratulations when needed.

We are proud to know that Mama Beach team have been part of your successful holiday’s time.

Thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best of luck to you!

Sincerely,
Angelo R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

There was a cockroach in the living room - it may be a jungle, but for 4000 baht you would expect more.
The room was not cleaned good enough before we entered, there was a used wet towel on the floor, and the shower was not maintained.
Other than that everything was great but for us cockroach means - departure so we haven't had the chance to find out more :)

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yair_Levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ANGELO20122013, Directeur général at Mama Beach Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Yair_Levy,

First of all will you please accept all our excuses for any inconvenience found during your stay in your Room at Mama Beach residence.

To be totally precise and clear about this situation we recall that what ever is the price of a room (This room is being sold to you at 3000b) this problem result from gross negligence of the house keeping and in particular the management and we do apologize for this inconvenience.

We would have been ready and happy to receive your complain “in Situs” in order to permit our staff to monitor our underlying cleanliness deficiencies and to eventually have a chance to make amends in this respect.
Even though that your booking made through Agoda was for 1 night we might have wished to convinced you to stay longer.

We would like to thank you for your feedback and will make sure that such problem won’t arrive again.

Sincerely,
Angelo R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on the end of the beach (pier side) . This means 2 facts, it is slways full of boats and ferries, and it is very quiet during night.

The fact that it has its own piece of beach is very good, they have comfy beds on the terrace on the white sand and they keep cleaning it all day long. The beach is clean and they put the floating cable on water to block ships and small boats so the water is safe for swimming.

I really liked this beach because its privecy.

The rooms are also nice, smaller than i though and imagined by there website but it was big enough for us. We took the front beach room which was an exelent choise, its really comfortable to be there with children cause you just let them go alone to the beach, restaurant and garden.

However, the bad side was their welcoming part. It started with a nice thai man who came to pick us from pier. He put our stuff on his cart and told us to wait 5 min. Those 5 min became 1 hr on the heat of 35 degrees, it was horrible.

After he decided to take us to the hotel the fron desk lady claimed that we should pay for extra bed for the children. Just after i proved her that emailing with the manager and he agreed in advance not to charge for that, she agreed to give us the room key.

I must give huge complimentd for the lady in charge of breakfast, the food was really good and fresh.

All in all, i think its a very good hotel and the owner seems to be areally mice person, carring the garden to be nice and green all the time. I hope that my incident with the front desk was a simple mistake and not a way of life...

Enjoy

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liorfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ANGELO20122013, Directeur général at Mama Beach Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Liorfi,

Thank you very much for your letter.

Firstly, we are also disappointed that in this instance the residence did not live up of yours expectations and apologize for the long delay at the pier and the lack of communication between the member of our staff.

Mama Beach Team is continuously attempting to improve the Residence’s performance.
There still may be room for improvement when it comes to the hospitality and so we are willing to accept criticism or congratulations when needed.

We are proud to know that Mama Beach team have been part of your successful holiday’s time.

Thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best of luck to you!

Sincerely,
Angelo R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Mama Beach which is located at the top left of the beach when you arrive on the pier.
The place is very peaceful, at 15mn walking from the center (diving centers, bars with good ambiance, retailers...)
Mama Beach has its own restauran7t in which you can eat nice meals or fast food whenever you want, the bar is just beside at edge of the beach. The prices are quite cheap.
We arrived at the pier, somebody picked up our luggages, we walked less than 10mn to arrive at the lobby. The staff were very friendly and brought us to a very nice, clean and design room with an amazing view on the beach and sea!!! The bathroom with a shower is very nice.
We came to dive and pass our PADI advanced, we left our room very early, they gave us a voucher to eat a good breakfast in a french bakery close to the diving center (Aquanauts Divers who recomanded us Mama beach as a peaceful place).
The last day we had a very nice breakfast at the Mama Beach.
We highly recommand this hotel,
for the location, the kindness of the team, the room and the food.
Clearly an hotel we would enjoy to go back!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gozy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ANGELO20122013, Directeur général at Mama Beach Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Gozy07,

Thank you very much for your letter.

Mama Beach Team is continuously attempting to improve the Residence’s performance.
There still may be room for improvement when it comes to the hospitality and so we are willing to accept criticism or congratulations when needed.

We are proud to know that Mama Beach team have been part of your successful holiday’s time.

Thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best of luck to you!

Sincerely,
Angelo R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews