We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget place bad location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivory Phi Phi Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ivory Phi Phi Island
Ranked #10 of 60 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good budget place bad location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

First the good points:
Cheap
Clean
Comfortable beds !

Bad points

Our room was overlooking a building site and the main entrance is opens to a fish stall ! It also has another hotel above it. You can hear everything in the room above.The builders outside start playing music at 6 so no early lie in bed.

I would book anywhere else if you want to sleep.

The staff are lovely and very friendly !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1007ojgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    61
    25
    15
See reviews for
7
111
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
127 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a lot of luggage and therefore wanted to stay somewhere close to the pier & that didn't involve transferring boats. So we choose to stay here and the price was also quite attractive for Phi Phi. The location was definitely convenient but I wouldn't say it was 'good' due to it being directly opposite some very smelly and unpleasant fish & food markets. It's a bustling and at times noisy area. The rooms were ok, very basic, a tad small & not quite as clean, bright or pristine looking as their photos suggest, but really it was still ok. The biggest downside was that the air conditioning only turned on when we were in the room, therefore we were always entering a stifling hot room. The staff were always friendly and helpful though, helped us with any requests & questions we had, such as needing more bottled water & toilet paper as it wasn't refilled every day. Bins also weren't emptied every day which was surprising (and gross) given that we were not able to flush toilet paper. No breakfast is offered but there's a lot of options close by, including 2 supermarkets. Given that we did not intend to spend much time in our room it was decent and did the job as a budget option, however in hindsight it would have been better to stay somewhere a little more peaceful and away from the action (even if less convenient), and somewhere where the rooms and cleaning was not quite so basic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I've stayed in a few places in Phi Phi in the past and this place is easily up there as one of the best. Decent value for money at around £32 a night for a double room with AC, hot shower and tv with loads of channels. Very central but far enough away from the noise from the bars. Place was very clean and security was great. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djorkaeff1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Without even realising we were given a room with no window, therefore our room felt like a prison cell for the entire stay. Rooms are SO basic -absolutely nothing special at all. The bathroom smelt like stagnant water and the aircon was directly above our bed so was freezing cold at night as they only provide a sheet as a duvet. Not impressed at all! All I can say is that the woman on reception was very friendly and good location if you want somewhere in the town (which was a dump anyway) .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Med95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We've been choosing the place for Phi Phi for a big while cuz most of the place written that if we want to sleep before 4am we shouldn't stay there..we found this! It's easy to walk around, nice place with good security system, nice receptionist she gave us some useful information. The room is small but cozy and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OraNatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The street that the Ivory sits on is actually a good one, very central and yet completely devoid of anything noisy around it (there's a good french bakery/cafe just across the road on the corner - recommended for breakfast). The receptionist was also very friendly and helpful which is not something to take for granted on Phi Phi. The photos however show bright airy clean rooms which aren't replicated in real life. Ours was on the ground floor and very dull and confined, and whilst relatively clean when we arrived it didn't get cleaned on the 2nd day (think we might have missed an instruction but the staff saw us leave for the day anyway). So we had dirty floors, dirty towels when we get back after 7pm, at which point the reception was closed so we were stuck with it. But if you want a good value budget option in Phi Phi I'm positive you could do a lot worse

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JReading156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Perfect boutique hotel for all your needs. They even have laundry service for 50 bhat per kilo. Walkable distance to everywhere and they make you take off your shoes before you enter to maintain cleanliness. A little pricey. But I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLTann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#23 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#17 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#4 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
PP Insula
PP Insula
#2 of 60 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory Phi Phi Island

Property: Ivory Phi Phi Island
Address: 194/1 Moo 7, Phi Phi Don Village, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivory Phi Phi Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ivory Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivory Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing