We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach, but not so luxurious!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort
Ranked #26 of 64 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The cottages are on the beach but far from the party beach and the shops,around 15-20 mins walk....Room had nice view and you can actually swim in-front of the cottages...Only the bathroom was so nice, but we didn't mind as the price we paid was pretty less and we hardly spent time in the room!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZazzyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through a travel agent in Bangkok. We had an air conditioned twin room, which didn't look anything like in the photos - those ones are a hundred metres down the beach, but apparently the same resort. The "resort" is actually in the main bay where all the boats arrive, so facing the hundreds of boats that are moored there which ruins the view a bit.

We were not met at the pier so we were pointed in the right direction and walked ourselves. Reception is a little bit hard to find! It's a good job though, as they charge you for this.

The room: the safe wasn't working which was unfortunate, and the TV only received a couple of channels (fine by us as we don't watch TV). The bathroom was clean but damp, and the hot water very temperamental. We stayed in fan rooms with no hot water on other islands: we're not snobby travellers, but when we've ended up paying around £35 per night we expected a little bit more. It had a sliding patio door with a padlock on. The A/C did work, which was good considering we were both quite ill one night!

They charge for beach beds which don't have cushions, even if you're staying with them. The little bit of beach is nice enough and there's a rock climbing place close by. A swimming area is buoyed off from the busy harbour area.

You would have thought it was far enough away to be quiet at night, but it is still noisy from the hotel directly across the bay at the other end (interestingly further away than the backpacker and beach bars, which you couldn't hear) - I think it must have been the shape of the bay.

They were able to lock our luggage away after checkout because we were getting the evening ferry, although allow a bit of time for them to find the key to get it out again!

They have bicycles to hire but you don't need one - it's plenty close enough to walk to the main area.

Oh, and when packing to leave we checked under beds and found MASSIVE bugs!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boo_Borsberry-Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This set of 10 bungalows are slightly away from all the tourist shops of Ton Sai (about a 5-10 minute walk) so the beach is a little emptier here, though the bay is still filled with countless boats, which somewhat ruins the view. Sand Sea View Resort says their bungalows are “on the beach,” and I guess this is true since they’re built on sand. They also say there is “an ocean view,” which is also technically true since you could see a sliver of blue from our deck. We were in the second bungalow, not sure how the view from #5 would be.

The sliding door to our bungalow hardly opened enough for us to get in and out. There’s a fridge and an old TV, three hooks on the wall to hang your things. Plenty of floor space, A/C and hot water, soap dispenser in the bathroom, towels and toilet paper.

There was an incredibly bad smell in the bathroom that was overwhelming by the second day. There was a door to close off the bathroom, which kept the main room ok but made the bathroom even worse.

The owner/manager (?) Koko was friendly and tried to be accommodating. We paid 1,100 Baht/night (about $37).

We moved after two nights down to Long Beach and we were MUCH happier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyouandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

And a view of it too. We stayed in one of the huts facing the beach, the view and the locale were both EXACTLY what we were after. The staff were excellent, really really can't fault them at all. We did encounter roaches(see the pics) and the cleanliness could be questioned and some would care, but for the money, i didn't.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattlynch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for budget accomodation on Koh Phi Phi and don't want to sleep in a dorm, you have to put up with fan-only rooms. Close to the beach and on the quieter end of Ton Sai harbor is the Sand Sea View Resort and it offers these kind of bungalows. I paid 700 Baht per night for a bungalow that was relatively clean. I ended up only spending one night however, because it was so hot that I couldn't sleep. The resort doesn't have much else to offer, no WiFi, not even the chairs at the beach are free. Maybe the A/C bungalows are better, but surrounding resorts looked much nicer. I wasn't a great fan of Phi Phi altogether, so maybe skip this island and explore the much more beautiful ones around?

Room Tip: invest in A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakermaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A friend and I got to Phi Phi and we were told we'd be greeted at the dock by hotel staff. I showed some locals my hotel confirmation (BRING THAT) and they pointed us in the right direction. We found our guy who was helping everyone who was staying there put their luggage onto a cart that he pulled back to the hotel.

Luckily we had our itinerary so we were able to check in right away. Another group of people didn't and it was more difficult for them. The rooms are fine. They weren't dirty, they weren't air conditioned (we had mosquito nets), and they weren't fancy. I didn't spend any time in there other than sleeping so maybe I'm not picky enough but everything else about this place more than made up for the lack of fanciness.

The location, to me, was perfect. Steps from the beach, some local beach monkeys, and a great little bar The Deaf Gecko. Shops and restaurants are steps away too. It's a walk to the other side of the island but it's a great walk. There's so many things to see, like the tsunami memorial. Plus I liked being away from drunken college people (I was 30 when I was there) so it was nice to go get drunk on their turf and then go home to quiet.

Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in phi phi island and it was stunning.

Booked hotel at the pier we asked for a place on the beach for a good price as we were on a budget. We got shown the photo's and booked the place for fan room bungalow on the beach for 1000bht which was about 20 English pounds.

We waited for about 20 minutes for the trolley man to come and take us to our room.

He finially turned up and walked us down to the accomadation it was just off the beach is stunning and we thought this is the place!

We enter the room which is woven bamboo sheet for walls.

The room was very basic which we were fine with it but there were cockroach eggs in all the corners. The bed was a box surround with 2 mattress placed on top. The room was full of little insects the fan was placed over the bed.

We went out and brought some bug spray. Sprayed the room and came back later. There were dead cockroaches over the floor and little dead insects everywhere.
I felt horrible sleeping in the room but the island was full and we had booked 2 nights.
The next morning I woke up and I was covered in bites. The fan barely worked and made a loud noise but we hadn't a choice.


I Would never return this accomadtion but the island is stunning and two nights in this insect pit was worth it just being in such amazing place!

There is better accomadation on the island and if traveling in dec/ peak season I would pre book next time.

Advice dont walk to view point in afternoon as there's over 1000 steps up hill and in the heat it's painful! But it was worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,305 reviews
0.0 mi away
PP Nice Beach Resort
PP Nice Beach Resort
#37 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mama Beach Residence
Mama Beach Residence
#2 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Good View
Phi Phi Good View
#11 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Cliff Beach Resort
Phi Phi Cliff Beach Resort
#6 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chongkhao Resort
Chongkhao Resort
#13 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort

Address: 17 M.7 T.Aonang A.Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $37 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phi Phi Islands are considered to be one the most beautiful tropical islands of the world, located in Krabi province southern of Thailand. It is surrounded by white sandy beaches; crystal clear sea water, fascination coral reefs and various species of fish. Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort is located on Ton Sai bay which is a peaceful and beautiful beach. The resort offers comfortable and convenient air conditioned and fan bedrooms. The private beach is most suitable for your vacation. This is your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing