We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect clean room for the budget traveller”
Review of Tara Inn Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tara Inn Bungalows
Ranked #52 of 66 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay at Tara Inn this month whilst travelling on a budget around Thailand.

I was worried I wasn't going to find a cheap & clean room on the island of Phi Phi - but stumbled across this 'hotel' on Trip Advisor.

The owner is very friendly and will go out of her way to help you with anything you need. The rooms are clean and basic and located just a 60 second walk away from the beach.

Clean affordable rooms at a great location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Not the best spot we could have picked for a good nights sleep but the place is a steal at 350 B for a double fan only. A nice central location, decent sized rooms, clean, nice shared bathroom and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

6 of us stayed in 3 rooms here for 4 Nights when we were in Phi Phi, All the rooms were simple but accommodated our needs perfectly, This is right in the heart of the lively Nightlife area of the Island and a short 2 minute walk will have you at Slinkys Bar (Not to be missed). Fantastic Mexican Restaurant right beside Hotel also and Banana Rooftop bar is a must for a game of beer pong or just to relax!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasjBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Keeping it brief:
- Owner can be hot and cold so the rude aspect is overbearing
- Great central location however if you plan on a night in, the rooftop bar will keep you awake until 3am
- No WiFi in the room which would be standard for the prices
- Room was nice, no complaints with the A/C room
- Price doesn't equate to the quality you can get elsewhere on Ko Phi Phi which is a tiny island so a 5 minute walk is worth it
- All in all, they don't value a guest as another visitor will come back immediately after

Room Tip: If you plan on staying in any night you stay, doon't stay here, the rooftop bar goes on all nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianShanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well, what can we said more ? What you paid is what you get. Rooms on Phi Phi islands is very expensive. So, 700baht is alright, but you have to bear the pub noisy sounds at night. You also need to sleep on rock-hard like bed.

However, location is nice, near to pier and beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steed47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night after leaving another hotel after a horrific time there. We were looking for a basic, clean and sealed room for no more than £10. And that is what we got with Tara inn. Quite warm at night but a/c rooms are double. Great location right in the centre, near the bars and near the beach. There is a roof top bar opposite the hotel that show movies every night at 7pm the place gets very busy so get there 30 mind before I u want a seat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We decided to stay here based on the reviews on Trip Advisor but unfortunately we didn't have the same experience as others who have stayed here. Overall, I think that this place is adequate it is in a good location but it is nothing special.

I think it is difficult to find good cheap accommodation on Phi Phi so for 500 bhat this was probably one of the cheapest. We looked at others and it was all in around the same price for a room with a fan and cold showers. When we arrived at Tara Inn, we decided to look at the rooms with AC and without AC. After deciding not to stay in the AC room because it was more than our budget, the owner got a bit annoyed at us and was quite rude from then on.

We then went to look at the non-AC room but the owner hadn't brought a key with him so he went to get it. He sent another member of staff back with the key and then brought our bags up to the room before we had even decided to stay there and then told us that he had already brought the bags up the stairs. When we asked him about the price, he literally closed the door and walked off without answering our questions.

The room itself was quite big and had a good fan. The bathroom wasn't great, the floor was pretty dirty, there was no handle on the inside so you couldn't close the door and the shower had to be hand held. Wifi is only available in the reception area. On the first night we stayed here we were really tired so we went to bed early and it is pretty noisy. The second night we went out so it was fine.

The location is good, in the middle of everything and very close to the beach. Overall, it is a grand place to stay but after reading the previous reviews we were fairly disappointed with our stay and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phi Phi Don
23.6 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#36 of 85 in Ko Lanta
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
913 reviews
0 mi away
Gypsy House
Gypsy House
#17 of 66 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 66 in Ko Phi Phi Don
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apache Beach House
Apache Beach House
#44 of 94 in Ko Phi Phi Don
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibiza House Phi Phi
Ibiza House Phi Phi
#37 of 66 in Ko Phi Phi Don
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Inn Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Inn Bungalows

Address: Tonsai Village, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $19 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tara Inn Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tara Inn Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Inn Bungalows Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing