We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, good staff, food and great value. Rooms not nice for us.”
Review of Tohko Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tohko Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights during multi resort stay on island.

The beach is stunning, sea is crystal clear, snorkelling was good.

On arrival ( by water taxi from Tonsei) my girlfriend and i were very pleasantly surprised by the beach and picturesque nature of the resort. The staff met us with luke warm reception but i actually dont think that this is intentional bad service. The place is just so laid back that when you come from a hotel where the staff are pleased to see you then you find this a bit disappointing. However, once you get to know the guys then you find that actually they are very genuine and warm.

We hated the room because it was so basic and dirty. It is real traveller type accommodation but while we disliked the 'rustic charm' other travellers actually loved it. Positives are that it is really quiet and idyllic, it was a very romantic location for us and the food and drink are great and inexpensive.

The rooms are very basic, sparecely decorated and small. However, they are very close to the beach, you sleep well because it is so quiet and we booked the deluxe (there was nothing deluxe about this) with aircon. Other travellers stayed right on the beach in bamboo structures that were open to the insects and without aircon and they loved it.

We got our room for 2500 per night which i felt was fair value.

Overall, the beach is where you spend much of your time and this is gorgeous so if you dont mind basic rooms then this is a decent place to stay. We wanted luxury and high quality so we left after two days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 377 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Staying in the beautiful Beach Front Bamboo Bungalow was a real novelty. It IS as gorgeous as the pictures and it was amazing to lay in the hammock directly above the white sand and crystal clear waters below. The trip to Phi Phi Ley was excellent and they took us early enough to avoid the crowds. The restaurant served good meals.

Unfortunately Phi Phi Island is money-maker island and this resort has adopted that ethos. The room prices are extortionate for Thai standards as the accommodation is extremely basic. Everything is about making money here which is a shame - you even have to pay to borrow one of their many snorkels or hop in the long tail boat to town (when they're going there regardless). The younger staff can be a little moody, the many boats that drive by do spoil the tranquillity of the beach, and you will probably see rats lurking in the rooms.

If you don't have much time, and money isn't an issue, then stay here with the expectation of primitive accommodation (along with lots of mossie spray) and you won't be disappointed because it is beautiful. If you have plenty of time and don't want to spend as much, I'd go to Koh Jum and just do a day trip to Phi Phi Don and Phi Phi Ley. We missed out due to time, but I imagine the accommodation and beaches are similar on Koh Jum, only much quieter due to no boat traffic and at a tiny fraction of the price.

Room Tip: Bamboo Beach Front Bungalows are the best but will they are stifling at night in March/April. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boiledegg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is the worst value resort I've stayed in. The problem is the beautiful location.The nice,quiet beach and the very good snorkeling and being on the popular island of Koh Phi Phi means the owners don't have to try hard to get customers and some staff don't try at all. An exception must be made for the kitchen staff who produce very good meals and the young waitress who is expected to do the majority of the serving and cashier work while the young males busy themselves with their electronic games and the industrious art of being cool.
We stayed in a hillside A/C so called bungalow.This was dearer than a modern stylish boutique hotel in Bangkok and as dear as very comfortable accommodation in Koh Lanta and Koh Ngai. The room was awful. Electricity from 18.00 to 06.30. Shower curtain masquerading as a toilet door,a decrepit bed and gaps in door and window frames convenient for mosquitoes and cockroaches. Cleaning ? After a request for the toilet bin and room bin to be emptied,you are given a bin bag so you can do it yourself. Well,you've only paid 2200 baht per night via a booking agency and you can't expect a member of staff to tear himself away from his important leisure time.The room was cleaned and the bed linen changed after 4 days.The air conditioning broke down so we were moved to the neighbouring bungalow with empty bins and clean sheets.
We would have moved but this was at the end of our holiday and options were a bit more limited,plus we had paid in advance.
The 2 stars are given only for the good beach and snorkeling during the day and the meals and drinks at night. We have spent over 30 years camping in more comfort than here and last year camped on Koh Rok and Bamboo Island. If this resort is representative of Phi Phi,as someone else posted,stay on Koh Lanta and visit Phi Phi on day trips. In fact,visit Koh Anywhere but not here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claretnale81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a booking for 3 nights and extended to 5 because our two families immediately fell in love with this secluded sandy beach resort. No luxury expected and no disappointment ensued. We all love the slow pace, snorkeling, kayak boat and blue water swimming. We got plenty of all of that.
The coffee is surprisingly excellent, food very tasty.

Family crew are very friendly.

Highly recommended for families and couples.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaviad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A few things to note before booking. If you want to relax and do nothing much besides chill out on a private beach with some of the most welcoming hosts I've met, then this is the place for you! If you want to meet new people and dance to doof doof music into the wee hours of the morning - then this is not the place to be. We stayed in the family beachfront wood bungalow which had two large clean queen beds with good mosquito nets. We left the shutters open at night and fell asleep to the most spectacular view of the sea ( put the fans inside the nets as it gets quite hot otherwise). Tohko as said before is quite isolated and if you want to party it up in Tonsai then it might be a challenge getting back at night if the sea is choppy. However, we found that at low tide we could walk over the rocks to Rantee beach which is much larger and had a few restaurants and bars to choose from. Make sure you cross back before the tide comes in or you might get stuck there too. I was speaking to Tohko's owners and although day trippers would normally bring extra income to the place, they are not encouraged to stay as the owners are very protective of the space and their guests' privacy. Overall a lovely stay if you don't mind the bare basics. Bring Deet repellant and you won't get bitten at all!

Room Tip: Ask for the family beachfront bungalow. Same price I think but great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I only spent one night here (and my only night on Phi Phi), but for me, it was perfect. The private ferry access was simple, picking up/dropping off right at the main Phi Phi docks. It was a quick 15-20 minute ride to the beautiful private beach - a nice, sandy beach butting right up to the dense jungle. The restaurant/bar area was just off the beach (30ft from the water) and I pretty much just hung there all night, watching the sunset and drinking a bunch of Singhas. The service was good (attentive/nice) and the food was delicious. The resort as a whole was real quiet - I'm sure part of it was due to being only the start of high-season, but part of it was due to the isolation of the resort in general. I think I only saw 10 people total through the whole night.

We had a group of 6 so we had gotten the 'Family Beach Front Fan Bungalow.' It was a very basic bungalow, but with a private bathroom (running water), power, 2 queen beds / 1 twin bed / hammock (on the porch). I ended up passing out in the hammock, waking to a colorful sunrise to the east the next morning.

Overall, Tokho seemed relatively basic and possibly on the more-expensive side, but I think the isolation on a beautiful beach is completely worth the price if that's what you're looking for.

http://blog.onefortheroadphoto.com/2013/01/06/koh-phi-phi-don/

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Tohko Bach resort was a beautiful secluded resort which was a long tail boat ride our of phi phi's main town. It is a great place for couples to get away. We stayed in the bamboo bungalows in the beach. They were just so romantic. I loved the rustic feel to them, the hammocks, and the view. We had food poisoning from before we got to the resort so that was the only detractor, it isn't a great place to be when you are sick. Be weary that there are Mosquitos, we bought coils with us and if you are like me and get earn alive I wouldn't go in one of the open rooms without it. The view is beautiful and you can go straight in the water off the beach with not many people around. There is some coral there so you need to be careful not to damage it or hut your feet. Overall I think it is a romantic getaway and it would've been much better for us if we weren't sick. The water comes right up under the bungalow as well, it is very loud, just a heads up.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.1 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
863 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tohko Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tohko Beach Resort

Address: Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $53 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tohko Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tohko Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toh Ko Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing