We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing island hideaway”
Review of Tohko Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tohko Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing island hideaway”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My girlfriend & I came across this place while frantically looking for somewhere to stay as we boarded the plane from koh samui, we didn't really want to be in the thick of things on phi phi. We decided to not to spash out on the more expensive places on the island and I'm so glad we didnt!! We fell in love with Tohko beach spending 5 nights here. We stayed in a ocean front bamboo bungalow which coming from from 5* was basic but quaint with just a fan an open toilet looking out to the sea and a simple cold shower, a bed with a mozzy net. You also have a balcony with a very comfy hammock. Honestly within a day or so no luxurys mattered! This was the way I had always imagined I would stay on a deserted island and after a hectic first week travelling from island to island I finally felt the tension leaving my body and became completely relaxed. The staff are amazing and will help u with anything. The food here is great and cheap! Try the club sandwhich, not your usual club sandwhich you would expect but amazing and the battered shrimp!!! wow. All drinks are very well priced 80 bht to 90-100 for a large Chang beer & there mai tai cocktails go down a treat!!!You may sometimes see a few people kayak in for lunch.

The beach is lovely and you feel like your on your own deserted island, sharing with only a few other couples and the odd small crab and the lovely hotel dog. If your looking for somewhere to completely relax and not be bothered by anyone and then you must check out this place.like a previous review, in some way I hope that this stays a hidden gem but you can't knock this resort and for the money and experience its top notch! One thing to note is you only have power in your bungalow from 6pm till 6am (but you are out all day so we did not find this a problem) but if you need your phone charged or anything you can use the bar which everyone does. They also have free wifi at the restaurant. We will definitely return here...loved it!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_joe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    135
    50
    29
    41
See reviews for
36
214
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

After staying for 3 days we realised this was enough. We are newly weds and staying in thailand for 3 weeks.
Don't expect luxury, I read reviews and was expecting a back to basics experience and that's what we got! If you score this resort a 1/5, i am guessing you just expected more in the first place.

It was a lovely location with a decent beach (aside from the trash lying around, the swimming was nice).
A private beach with some activities from the pier 15mins long boat away, although we did rent a canoe. at 600 Bhat this was expensive and when asking can we use it for a half day and pay half the price the answer was no, I was expecting more flexibility in a place like this. so 600 for 2 hours, very steep.

The prices were steep considering that we stayed in a hut with the most basic things, such as electricity only at dark, which we got used to.

Location great, service, ok, hygene was poor and the food not great either. However all round a great travelling experience, 3/5 or 6/10 would be my score.

Thanks for the memories Tohko.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommy_w25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I won't give you my opinion...just the facts and let you make the decision. Arrived by long tail to decent looking private beach, staff helps you onto the beach...OK not bad so far. Escorted to room and smell raw sewage from nearby runoff. Make it to room (which uses padlock to lock the door..weird). Then you throw bags down and attempt to get the AC going that you paid extra for...guess what electricity runs only from 6pm to 6am. Which means showering, relieving yourself and napping in a dark humid room. Bathroom is a small room with a toilet and sink..how do you shower? Well there is a shower head but no shower so you just close the door ( now in pitch black BC there are no windows) and blast the whole bathroom with water and soap so now when you want to drop a d you get to sit in a hot dark wet room..woops my finger slipped through my wet toilet paper. So your thinking maybe I'll go for a swim..but maybe not cause you just saw a used condom float by. So you go back to the room to sweat it out in the room on your urine stained sheets (all linens are second hand bought from the show hoarders..they look like something procured from a dead persons apartment). Then you decide to keep yourself busy with wifi at the bar but it doesn't work and all their second books are in Russian Thai or German. Finally electricity turns on and you have access to 300 channels all in Thai which you desperately search through for something in English and then you pass out from absolute sadness and depression.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank stezly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Set on a private beach on the east coast of phi phi, away from the main areas and all the other resorts, lies this little family run beach hotel - accessible only by boat or down a steep hillside through dense jungle (a great trek by the way.. the phi phi viewpoint is amazing!)
If you are expecting luxury, you will be deeply disappointed. If you are expecting lovely hosts, private bungalows - each with its own balcony fully fitted with chairs and hammock, waking up to a sunrise over gentle waves, amazing snorkeling possibilities from the beach, with perhaps a few mosquito bites thrown in, you will here have found the perfect place.
We rented a beach front bamboo bungalow, and literally woke up to waves underneath our hut every morning. A little warning.. if you can't handle a few gekkos and maybe a few ants in the bathroom, go for å normal bungalow. The mosquito net will keep you snug in your own little tent in bed at night, but it won't keep the bugs out of the bathroom.. but that's all part of the charm of the bamboo :-)
We loved our private hammock as much as we loved the 3 public ones, and the family is wonderful. We were picked up from phi phi pier by longboat and they take you to and from the pier twice a day if you prefer the relaxed and easy way to the other side of the island :-)
If we ever come back to this part of the world, we will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chihuahua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we loved our stay but if we did it again we would stay 2 nights at tokho and 2 nights in the main town area or at viking which is closer but probably not too noisy. The walk to the view point was great though a little dangerous and be aware it can be expensive or impossible to get a taxi boat back to the resort at night due to rough seas or low tide, if you stay here you choose to have dinner there and not party in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matilda_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

we stayed here for a romantic getaway. we stayed on a bungalow that just was completed and brand new. the owners/staff were great. very private beach. there is no where else to eat so you should bring your own water and snacks. the hotel restaurant was great and good value. I really wanted to leave a 1 star and bad comments to keep this place hidden and pure. We will be back someday. They could also arrange trips for you to other islands and to "town" to get supplies.

Room Tip: beach front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanceM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed in a Bamboo Bungalow with a sea view for 6 nights, this was exactly what the doctor ordered (and we didnt even know it until the fact)... We wanted a beach front where nature was the spectacle. We wanted to keep it simple, silent and safe and the Tohko Beach Resort ticked all of our boxes. The beach was clean (in actual fact to my surprise, the staff clean the beach early in the morning everyday to ensure that the sand is perfect), with clean and clear water. Escaping the madness from the town, when relaxation was on the agenda, one could not ask for a better place on earth. Everyone on the beach were there to relax and we thoroughly enjoyed beautiful conversations and meals whenever we chose fit. The staff were extremely pleasant and respectful, going beyond the call of duty in taking care of all of our needs. Even the resort dogs patrol and look after the place with a sense of calm and pride. The food was extremely well priced, with something delicious for everyone (sipping on fresh smoothies and lassi's on the beach was the most refreshing and indulgent way to hydrate).... We loved the quality of people we met at the resort! Overall, we truly couldn't of asked for anything more. We were able to get our laundry done, eat and drink to our hearts content and sleep like babies with the sound of the waves and the comfort of the fan under our mosquito net. We weren't bitten once! If you are looking for a place to completely relax, and find yourself whilst connecting with your self, intoxicated by the view... then this is really a little slice of heaven. I definitely will return, and this time I will book for longer!

Room Tip: If your happy to get real. Then you cannot go past the bamboo bungalows with the sea view... The sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyborg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
821 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tohko Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tohko Beach Resort

Property: Tohko Beach Resort
Address: Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tohko Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tohko Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toh Ko Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing