We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Cheap, Not Great”
Review of Pong Pan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pong Pan House
Ranked #59 of 64 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Based on reviews I had low expectations of this place and unfortunately they were not even met. The double rooms priced at 500 Baht are livable, we stayed 4 nights and were comfortable enough.

The bathroom is really small and struggles to drain the water from the shower. The shower itself was very inconsistent, my first shower there was nothing short of pathetic but it did work ok sometimes. The water would sometimes not work for a a couple of hours at a time.

The location is good, you can easily walk anywhere, beach, bars, pier and viewpoint. The staff are friendly but it ends there, they wont bend over backwards for you by any means.

The Wifi worked most of the time but was extremely slow.

I probably would not stay here again, I have the feeling there are better value places on Phi Phi but it did the job for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Pong Pan House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were scheduled by our tourist office in Bangkok to stay at this place. Once we arrived, my friend and I took one look at the room, and decided to go elsewhere. The room is not habitable. There was mold in the bathroom, and the bedroom itself smelled like a combination of raw sewage and mildew. When we informed the front desk staff that the accommodations were not satisfactory, they did not show any concern, and were a bit arrogant.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank J0sephUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

this place is horrible
no mini fridge
no safe
rooms are dirty and dingy
banged my knees trying to use the toilet, entire bathroom stall is TINY
its 60 meters from the beach, so at 8pm, the bar music pounds all night, i had to use ear plugs and the bass is horribly loud
staff is more interested in watching movies, and the wifi they have is actually a signal they steal from a neighboring hotel.
Better places to stay, it was cheap but not worth saving 2-3 dollars at a better place

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0rthern_Traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Short:

if this is the last place available to book, then just stay in Phuket and take the boat over.

The Long:

Insects, window in washroom did not close properly, so mosquitoes, and ant infestation.

They never cleaned our room, and when we asked why they didn't even change the sheets, they said "every 3 days". What? You're charging us $60 a night for this dive and you don't even change the sheets? Same applies for towels.

We did get some fresh sheets/towels but the guy at the front desk acted like he was doing us a favour. What?

Also weird smell from the washroom, and my friends room had this sharp cheese smell.

Next, the walls were paper thin, so impossible to get a proper sleep at night, even with earplugs the walls vibrated.

The ONLY plus is that it was close to the beach, like a minute walk, but that's it.

Hopefully you read this a good few weeks before you go, so book something else.

Room Tip: Yes, don't stay here at all, if anything, maybe the rooms on the not beach side, but those ones...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the_tall_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marlen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank mucx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank german009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
21.3 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
868 reviews
21.1 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
290 reviews
20.8 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#6 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,621 reviews
19.9 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
21.8 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pong Pan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pong Pan House

Address: 102 / 9 Moo 7 | TB. Aonang AP. Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Parichart House)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pong Pan House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pong Pan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing