We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good operation with friendly instructors”
Review of Island Divers

Island Divers
Ranked #10 of 40 Tours in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scuba Diving school in Koh Phi Phi Don
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good operation with friendly instructors”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We met at 7.30am to sign our liability forms, show our Padi OW cards, chat with other divers and headed out to the water. We started our first dive at 8:50am. Saw some beautiful fish and coral. Had pre-ordered lunch on the boat (choice of food were Thai curry/Basil minced chicken/chicken fried rice/baguettes), then parked at Maya Bay (along with about 40-50 other boats, mostly long-tail and some bigger boats). Thankfully, we found a very small little beach that we could swim/snorkel over to, which is about 500 metres opposite the famous 'The Beach' beach. We were parked too far away and there was too much traffic so we didn't go over there. Our second dive was interesting. We saw a black tip shark and a turtle. We suddenly entered into a cold current in which we couldn't see two metres in front of us. Thankfully, Miller, our dive master, directed us out of that. He was very responsible to take care of one diver who had problems with equalizing and when her buddy accidently wandered off with another dive group, he kept us altogether at the surface and waited till the lost diver came back.

One dive site was at Ko Bida Nok and I think the other was Ko Ha. They recommended we go to Hin Muang and Hin Daeng, but we were leaving the next day. Overall, we were quite happy with the experience. Two dives and lunch cost 2500Baht, from 7.30am to 2.30pm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 28foreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    49
    3
    8
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“They couldn't have done a better job!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went on my first ever dive with Mike and to be honest I was terrified but once we got on the boat and Mike started talking us through the skills and equipment I was put at ease. It was such an incredible experience. I am so excited to get back underwater again soon.
Island Divers is clearly an experienced Dive Centre that cares about safety and happy customers. Everything was so well organized and controlled. I couldn't even make a single suggestion to improve their setup.
Don't bother going elsewhere on the Island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank skellyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good diving centre”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

First of all, if you are interested in underwater, diving is a must in Phi Phi. Underwater life is amazing.
Went diving with Island Divers, they are good at what they do, have their own boats, enough personel and respectfull to environment . All you have to do is to relax and dive. If you are looking for a western minded diving centre, I recomend Island Divers.
I dived with Jess, she is quite good, manages time efficiently, finds interesting things underwater and takes necessery safety precautions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank oknar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“amazing!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Myself and three girlfriends decided to go scuba diving on our second last day in phi phi, had an amazing day all the crew where very trustworthy and great at their jobs. Considering we were first time divers they made the experience fun and relaxed! Definitely recommend Island divers :) It made us fall in love with Phi Phi and never want to leave!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurenb692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good experience, great instructors, good boat”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Went diving despite the pouring rain and heavy winds. If I had more time on Phi Phi I probably would have deferred until tomorrow ( which they let lots of people do). Because of the waves we were only able to dive on the east side of Phi Phi Lei. Visibility wasn't great but saw a few interesting things.
The staff was very pleasant throughout the process and our instructor was very good as well.

I would absolutely recommend this dive company.

Bonus - you don't have to carry your gear to/ from the boats - huge bonus

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank x57114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Divers also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Island Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing