We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ko Phi Phi Don
from $77.34
More Info
from $145.01
More Info
from $28.92
More Info
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
115
11
0
1
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
115
11
0
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour sunrise tour floating village amazing beauty surprise cake recommend rob hotel pickup full day tour private beach pileh lagoon thailand trip amazing tour highly recommend this company island hopping once in a lifetime pineapple day trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 136 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

This is an unnecessary middle man type of tour. You’re basically paying a lot of money just to ride to Phi Phi. And even that part was a struggle for them to do. They weren’t able to pick us up. We coordinated a plan to get to the ferry early and meet up with them and we were surprised to see they were actually leaving us without even thinking twice. We didn’t not interact with our guide for more than 2 seconds. Don’t waste your time. You’re better off going to phi phi island on your own to meet with the boat teams there for half the price.

Date of experience: January 2020
7  Thank dluxe100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phiphiboattours, Public Relations Manager at Phi Phi Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Desmond,

We are really sorry that you didn't have the experience you were looking for, we did call the mobile phone number you provided at 7:06 am for the pickup you requested at 6:30 pm the previous day but received no answer, because we had multiple pickups that morning, and customers staying in Patong frequently party the night before and sleep in we made the hard call to continue with pickups and send you an email letting you know that you could meet us at the pier. When our team member met you at the pier you were already checked in to the speedboat at a discounted price a ride you ultimately attempted to not pay for but we can cover that later. Once you reached the pier you were met by your long-tail captain and went on tour, when you finished the tour you shorted your captain 200 Thai Bhat approximately $6 usd and failed to pay for your speedboat tickets. Unfortunately like most people who visit Thailand you have no problem with a boat captain making $10 or less per day after expenses and even promote it. Yes our Captains get paid more and we are doing out best to increase prices and pay our captains even more. 15 years ago a tsunami took everything from locals on Phi Phi, one of our owners lost His Home, His Mother and His Boat, many people still haven't recovered fully financially or emotionally.

So you arn't sure what you paid for I will explain it in a simple list,

1. For someone to read your email after business hours requesting a morning pickup.
2. For someone meet your driver at 5 am to start pickups.
3. For someone to drive to your hotel only to not be able to reach you on the number you provided.
4. For someone to forward your information to the owner of the speedboat company at 5 am to secure you last minute seats on the full speed boat on an extremely busy Saturday morning.
5. For your boat Captain to wake up at 3 am to move his boat so it is floating and not on the beach when the tide goes out.
6. For your boat Captain to carry close to 75 lbs of water, ice and fuel to the boat.
7. For your boat Captain to maneuver a 2 ton boat in and out of shallow lagoons and reefs safely solo for 4 hours.
8. For your boat captain to be willing to jump in the water and save your life if you are injured, get a cramp, cant swim as well as you thought you could, get stuck on the reef ect.
9. For someone to bill your card when you try to short the boat captain and skip on paying for your speedboat tickets and take the time to pay your balance that was due at the end of the tour.
10. For someone to put up with the stress and heartache of running a business that multiple families depend on for income only to have an entitled customer provide incorrect contact information try to steal from the business then leave a 2 star review before even calling to let you know they were dissatisfied and let you make it up to them.


tl:dr
Customer provided incorrect contact information and missed their call for pickup so they had to get their own cab to the pier, we still got them to Phi Phi and out on a long-tail after their 4 hour tour they underpaid the boat captain the balance and left without paying for their speedboat tickets. Then promptly left a poor review.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Don’t waste your time with this company or Robert!!!

We booked with this company months before our trip and dealt with Robert directly. We paid Robert up-front for round-trip transportation from the hotel to the ferry, round-trip ferry tickets, and deposit for the long boat. It was a fiasco from the get-go - total joke. Robert never followed up with our e-tickets on the ferry, despite repeated emails and texts to him on the days leading up to our trip. We were told the morning of (!!!) our day-trip to find our own way to the ferry (about an hour from our hotel - good thing we planned in advance and started suspecting how shady this operation was!!) and only got our e-tickets as we were en route to the ferry. The e-tickets were also for the slower, 2-hour ferry trip, rather than the 1-hour speed boat we were sold on and promised. Once we got to the island, we dealt and negotiated directly with the long-boat captains who were so nice and easy to deal with. We had an amazing day touring the islands, and, thankfully, our wonderful captain saved the day and overall experience.

Once we were ready to return, after an amazing day with our gracious and knowledgeable boat guide, we had no ferry tickets reserved and basically had to beg and plead our way onto the last speed boat back to Phuket. Again, thankfully, the ferry boat people were great - as most Thai people are!!! - and understood the situation Robert had put us in (they must have heard this song and dance before regarding Robert.) We were able to secure seats on the last boat off the island, no thanks to the reservations we pre-paid for through this company.

Robert did refund the cost of the ferry tickets, but it almost ruined the entire experience. We were stressed about the logistics and there was just no need for it. What’s the point of paying up front for a service that is not provided, even if the actual cost is refunded. Just a total waste of time and energy on our part.

I’m not really sure what we paid Robert or his company for, to be quite honest. He really did nothing. It’s just so easy to book your own transportation to and from the ferry docks and your ferry tickets, and then just find a long-boat captain when you get to the islands. Don’t waste your time with Robert or this sham of an operation.

Phi phi is amazing!!! (Robert is not!!!)

Date of experience: January 2020
8  Thank Brandonandcourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phiphiboattours, Public Relations Manager at Phi Phi Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Anniak,


I believe this review was written by your husband as the description of your day matches our records. We have nothing but empathy for you and your family we understand that people have very little vacation time and desire the best experience possible.

The truth is we dropped the ball and made mistakes on your tour and we are extremely sorry for that. However I would like to share our side of the story with you in hopes that you will have empathy for us and our team of captains and remove your review (which is double posted in violation of tripadvisor's terms of service and we could easily have removed).

But before I explain to you and prospective customers how this happened. Let us be clear that you began your review with a Blatantly fraudulent statement you claim that you "booked with the company months before our trip" when in fact you paid your invoice for your tour on December 30th, 4 days before your tour. We can prove this based on the commentary included in this review and your emails and WhatsApp communication with us. Now that we have established that you are willing to publish lies to damage our business I would like to let you know that this behavior is in-fact a crime called "Libel". The specific definition of the word Libel is "a published false statement that is damaging to a person's reputation".


Now, on to our side of the story. The week of Christmas and new years is the single busiest week of the year on Phuket and Phi Phi. Additionally this time of year has a strong emotional charge for local families, as the 26th of December was the 15th anniversary of the 2004 Tsunami. On new years eve the villa we booked on Phuket for the holiday canceled the booking at 10 pm after telling us they would be there in 5 min to check us into the property, so the first 5 hours of our new year was spent searching for a vacant room on motorbike. When we finally found a vacancy and got checked in to the room at 6 am on January first we were unable to go to sleep because we still had to coordinate the mornings pickups and transfers. We would normally send this information out late at night because customers often wait until the last minute to forward all of their details. We had no place to sleep at the time or keep our thousands of dollars of laptops and cameras, so we decided to prioritize finding a room. At Close to 8 am we were able to rest and be confidant that all of our customers would find their boats. We woke up the night of the 1st sent out Information to captains for tours on the 2nd found some food and tried to get back to sleep.

Unfortunately at this point a packed Christmas week of tours and not having lodging New Years Eve our sleep schedule was completely off and when we were both still up at 3 am we realized that we would need to power through to morning ensure that people were picked up and made it to the pier again. When we fell asleep we set alarms thinking we would take a short rest sadly being on the verge of hyper exhaustion at this point we over slept, when we woke we were in a rush to send information out for the 3rd as well as have a birthday cake made for a group of 15, we got the cake made, and got all bookings done and went back to sleep.

Sadly we made one major mistake, in the fray of high season exhaustion we accidentally booked your transfer on the ferry rather than the speedboat. The next morning we woke up at 4 am to visit the Phuket town wet market and purchase fresh caught seafood for a Birthday BBQ.

You mention Dealing with and negotiation with the long-tail captains on your own your Captains name was Oosaman, nickname Ooss, there were no negotiations to be had you didn't pay him a cent, we eat dinner with Ooss and his wife Lily on the floor at their house 4 nights a week, we read to their kids and have provided him with a booked tours 6 days a week for almost an entire year. You Claim that Ooss gave you "an amazing day" and was a "gracious and knowledgeable boat guide" yet you leave him a 1 star review. Captain Ooss is a stake holder in our company and the in our opinion one of the Best Captains on the island, you say you're not sure what you paid for but you received by your own admission the experience of traveling the Phi Phi islands with a true local captain who takes pride in his craft and providing an authentic and memorable experience. We can 100% guarantee not all Captains are equal in this respect and had you simply hired a boat taxi from the walk street you would have had a far different experience. Oos was born on Phi Phi and has been driving long-tail since age 9, over 40 years and you wont find him for hire on the walk streets.

Furthermore, in the morning Rob and I parted ways and took separate speedboats to Phi Phi, the speedboat I was on was doing a tour and lost engine hydraulics at the end of the day and could not drop me at the speed boat landing on Phi Phi in the shallow water so I swam over 800m to shore then ran to the pier to and spoke to the tiger line desk to make sure you got on the boat, and if not what you were unaware of is the fact that we had 3 private speedboats operating that day and would have gotten you home no matter what.

You mention that "thankfully, the ferry boat people were great - as most Thai people are!!! - and understood the situation Robert had put us in" what you don't know is that the people on the ferry were helpful because of Rob not in spite of him in-fact Rob ate Christmas dinner with the manager of the ferry you were on. So they treated you the way they did because of our relationship with them. Otherwise the reality is that the Friday after new years without booking through us you would have been disregarded as entitled Farang.

The 2 fraudulent reviews you posted constitute 33.3% of our 1 star reviews.

We have over 112 real 5 star reviews, and in keeping with our 5 star status rather than having these reviews removed which would be well within our ability as we have bonafide proof of your false statements, we take full responsibility for booking you the incorrect transfer on our busiest day yet.

(another customer got bit by a monkey and didn't have travel insurance the same day ALWAYS GET TRAVEL INSURANCE)

We have decided to GIVE you a voucher for a full day tour with Oosaman, NOT including transfer to Phi Phi Island.

We will email you your voucher shortly, it will be 100% transferable you are free to use it, give it, or auction it for charity but you may not resell it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Booked a trip with Phi Phi Island Boat Tours because like most tourists - we were willing to pay more $$$ to have everything taken care of which usually results in a stress-free tour day. In this case we paid a lot of extra $$$ to have our day ruined by Robert and his company. I wish I would have trusted my gut and just booked our ferry and long boat on our own....which is very easy and I'll explain at the end of this review.

I booked this tour approx 3-4 months is advance. We prepaid for roundtrip taxi transfer to and from the pier in Phuket, roundtrip speedboat to/from Phuket to Phi Phi, and a deposit for our longboat day tour.

Starting about 1 week out from our tour date I began emailing the company asking for confirmation and our ferry e-tickets. After a few emails in a row without reply I was told I would receive the tickets 48-72 hours prior to our tour which I did NOT. 24 hours prior to our tour I called Robert, the owner and he told me he would send me the e-ticket that evening. I woke up the morning of my tour without any e-ticket in my email inbox.

We decided to at least get ready and get down to the lobby because maybe the taxi driver had my tickets? Well, no taxi driver ever showed up to our lobby. So now I have paid approx $400 USD and don't have a taxi transfer or tickets for the ferry...I urgently called and texted Robert who didn't answer his phone but then texted me 4 tickets for the ferry but says to please get our own taxi??? WTF is going on...Robert tells me that the taxi he had ordered had mechanical issues that AM. I am claiming BULLSH*T.

Not wanting to miss out on a day on Phi Phi and the $400 we have already wasted we hire our own taxi and get to the pier on time to find out he sent me ferry tickets for the slow ferry - 2 hours vs 1 hour speedboat that we paid extra for....don't worry it gets worse on the way home....

So we make it to Phi Phi Island and get into our longboat....never seeing Robert anywhere or even hearing from him...until I realize we need to get back to Phuket at some point and Robert is probably going to F that up too because at this point a 5 year old could do a better job at running a tour company.

Robert finally gets back to me via text and says not to worry....states that our names and pictures have been sent to TigerLine Speedboat and to check in there for a 530pm departure.

Guess what....? Ya he never sent our names or pictures to TigerLine. So now its 530pm and we dont have a ride back to Phuket....so we are wondering if we can get a hotel room, another ferry ride, sleep on the beach? WTF are we going to do?

WE finally force our way onto the TigerLine boat - pleading with them that we were dooped by Robert and his company and that we paid for a speedboat transfer. They made room for us on the 630pm boat, thank god.

We arrived back to our hotel at 830pm exhausted and pissed off that our stress-free day turned into a STRESSFUL day....

Robert issued us a refund for our taxi transfers and difference in ferry/speedboat ride costs. In retrospect I should have asked him to refund the total I paid him since he ruined our day. This was the only time in Thailand that we were taken advantage of....everyone else was kind and the customer service was excellent.

Robert apologized via email the next day and whined about being busy....so busy that he couldn't run his own company smoothly. Not sure if he realizes how busy we are at home to make a decent living to be able to afford a trip to Thailand....so his being busy excuse is just more bullish*t to add to this story.

DO NOT book with this company! If you want to book a longboat on your own its very easy.

If you are staying in Phuket - prior to your trip to Thailand book a round trip ferry ticket from Rassada Pier (Phuket) to Tonsai Pier in (Phi Phi). The morning of just hire your own taxi to Rassada Pier which is very easy to do through your hotel front desk...approx 800 baht or so....when you get back to Rassada Pier that evening there will be taxis there waiting for tourists so no worries.

Once you arrive on Phi Phi Island there are tons of Long Boat captains that you can hire right there on the pier and probably much cheaper than what we paid.

Hope this was helpful and helps someone else has a less stressful day than we did.

Date of experience: January 2020
8  Thank NFS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

The team at Phi Phi Island Boat Tours helped my girlfriends have the best birthday party ever.

Robert & Max helped organize a custom cake, private beach dinner, on top of getting us great price on private speedboat from Ao Nang.

We had 15 people so we booked 2 private long tail boats to explore Phi Phi Islands.

By far an experience not to be missed & surely birthday we will remember forever.

Thanks Again Guys !

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank SaraTravels002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phiphiboattours, Public Relations Manager at Phi Phi Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind review you guys were so kind and fun! We were happy to take the extra steps to make your day special, and thank you for booking in advance and making all your needs clear so we could make your day one of a kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2019 via mobile

We booked this tour when we arrived on the island for £25 each and what good value for money this was. We were taken to Maya Bay, Monkey Beach, the Viking Caves and many more areas, we snorkelled and seen beautiful fish and turtles and once we had watched the sunset we were taken to snorkel with Plankton which was awesome. We received 2 meals on the boat and unlimited coke and water. The guides were great, they were so informative and funny and made our day really special. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the island you definitely will not be disappointed.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank TraceyG653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phiphiboattours, Public Relations Manager at Phi Phi Island Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for recommending us Tracy It means a lot to us when we can give people a special day on Phi Phi.

Thank you for recommending us Kapun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews