We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to party not to lay down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great place to party not to lay down”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We didnt consider staying in Phi Phi island due to the massive volume of tourist staying there. However, travelling there was the only chance to meet some friends, so we make it.
It was August and technically “low season”, but we had many problems to find out a spot there, it was almost fully booked.
We booked this hotel because of the price, we weren’t willing to pay more than 5-10€ per night but in Phi Phi you realize that prices are different than in the rest of the country, so we end up by paying 25€ luckly in front of the “long beach” that for our surprise next day it was absolutey crowded.
The breakfast, restaurant it’s OK, staff is fine but slow (like in all islands) and I must highlight THE MONKIES in our room (14A). Before travelling there I read an opinion regarding the monkeys and I thought “It wont be that much…”, I must let you know, that those monkies were aggressive, they hung around and growled quite a bit.
If you like to party it’s a good place to stay but better to book a hotel at Tonsai Pier, otherwise you’ll have to cross the mountain by food at night (and there is not any sort of road to follow) or pay 500 baths for a night boat (4 people). If you want to lay down in a great beach… better go to other islands around.

Room Tip: Avoid A module (for the monkeys).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpackers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    317
    164
    67
    51
See reviews for
144
455
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

First question asked about Koh Phi Phi is whether it has touristically recovered from the 2005 tsunami. Apparently it has, and with a bang, allowing the building of eyesore "luxury" resorts on its most precious landscapes. So landing from a 2 hour boat trip from Phuket we were quite happy to jump right away on a 10' free transfer long tail boat to Pearl Paradise resort situated on the so-called 2nd bay and skip the village altogether thus escaping the hedonistic cohorts of revellers. Our stay started with a slight disappointment as our booking through Agoda had led us to believe that we had got the upper category M1-M2 cottages in front of the beach whereas somehow expectedly we got the M5-M6 cottages a little further away. No big deal as the cottages, while lacking sophistication, offer all the necessities to be expected and more including TV, hot showers, free bottled water and huge beds. Our family of 5 particularly enjoyed the vast little populated relatively clean sand beaches and the transparent sea where fishes are never far away from being spotted. The constant traffic of long tail boats, the only mean of transport on the island, was slightly annoying but it was less of an an annoyance than feared possibly due to the conspicuous absence of jet skis during our stay. Another plus was the permanent sight of the grandiose Phi Phi Leh island and the availability of tours - although one can barely imagine what kind of circus touring Phi Phi Leh together with hundreds of long tails and speedboats filled to the brim could become (and in spite of that snorkelling was great!). At all times of the day, the resort restaurant is available immediately overlooking the beach offering decent cheap food as well as a very good fish-grill in the evening (unfortunately I hold it that there is no fresh fish on the island since all fishermen have reconverted as taxis!). Price-wise PP is probably an excellent quality-price option as we paid €89 per bungalow per night buffet breakfast included, this at the peak of high season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brunochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First, have right expectations - this is not 5 star hotel. Paradise Pearl is 5 star bungalow complex at amazing location - Long beach on Phi-Phi island. We stayed there 4 days in busiest time - NY and really enjoyed it. What we liked? Bungalows - they are great quality, cleaned daily, towels and all changed, free water in fridge. Location - after staying 10 days in total on Phi-Phi - Long Beach is the second best beach around after Maya beach (you can't live there). Great beach, many chairs, wasn't too crowded even for NY, beautiful view on Phi-Phi Lay. Good quality restaurant, same prices as in Phi-Phi town. Breakfast: basic, but good, very filling. Staff - always smiling and happy to help, speak English better than in other places. Advice? Best value in my opinion - bungalows S1-S6, we stayed in S2 - big enough and has sea view. Minus: no fruits - buy fruits on Phi-phi, all bungalows have fridges. All in all: 5 star solid - recommend to stay 100%.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vol4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at PP Bungalow for 9 nights and enjoyed really much. The service at PP Bungalow is pretty much the same you get everywhere at Ko Phi Phi Don. People are not as friendly they are in Phuket or Krabi but still nice. Once you get to know the staff a bit they are really nice! So be nice and polite to them and talk with them, you get better service!

The long beach and PP Bungalows are quiet and nice compared to the town. There is not any party people at this area and the place is suitable for all who wants to relax.

The hotel beach is excellent and can get a bit crowded sometimes.

The breakfast was included to our stay and I think it was excellent replacing the lunch each day.

You get one hour of free wifi for free. After that you have to pay it. It takes 15min to walk to the town where is dozens of free wifi's. The cheaper option is to use hotel computers behind the reception.

The shark point where you get to see Reef Sharks is near the long beach and you can get there from the beach. Just take your snorkle and fins with you (or rent them from the beach) and walk to the south end of the beach. Start swimming towards the islet and the sharks stay in the halfway. Best time to see them is at the morning (7 to 10) or in the afternoon after 1pm.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the beach (P3) and we have nothing bad to say except a bit hard bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jallu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am not sure where all the negative reviews come from?! It might be more expensive than other hotels, it's not 5* quality and service, no. But overall experience was great, it was my favourite place in Thailand!

We stayed in a beachfront bungalow (P2) which was amazing! The bathroom is not great but the room has everything you need. Amazing sea views from the balcony. The rooms are traditional Thai style, really lovely. The location of the hotel is the best on Phi Phi and the views from the hotel are dramtically beautiful. The restaurant is also located right on the beach front, I am not usually one to eat a lot at the hotel, but I found myself eating here a lot because the food was great, well priced and the restaurant was always buzzing. Did I mention the views?

The hotel offers a free longtail transfer on arrival and departure and well as trips to Tonsai Town at certain times of day, free of charge. The spa is great too, very reasonable and the ladies are very friendly. The snorkelling is great and shark point is very close, some of the best on Phi Phi!

I can't say much for the breakfast, it was just ok. For dinner, they also offer an aray of fresh seafood on display, which you can choose yourself and request the cooking method/style. Delicious!

It's not a 5* resort so don't expect that. They are called Bungalows for a reason. The hotel has a very casual, relaxed atmosphere. Take it for what is it and you will love it!

Room Tip: Try splurge a bit to get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmyB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I tried to book this resort through their website.
The website mistakenly lets you believe that all their rooms are available - indeed, it mentions "while waiting for confirmation" but then you're getting an email back that, how regrettable, exactly that type of room is not available for the requested date but don't worry, we propose another one. All the time failing to let you know that the one proposed is actually close to 50 % more expensive than the one you actually selected.
In short, this is a rip off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toming30, Manager at Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Firstly, may I just clarify that all the bookings made through our website were room requests based on availability using the "On request" button.

Basically, there are two ways of booking through our website:

1. 'Instant Confirmation', whereby confirmation of the selected room is given immediately and there is no need to check back for room availability.

2. Rooms booked 'On Request' are subject to room availability. before giving confirmation, our reservation staff first have to check whether the requested room is actually available. If not, an alternative room is offered. Although we try our best to offer room rates and types as close as possible to the customer's preference, sometimes the only available options are different room types at higher rates.

Guests can experience similar situations if they have booked through OTAs and their room reservation was not fully confirmed by the OTA or the local agent in Krabi.

We'd like to suggest that the best way to ensure you do get the room and the rates you want it is best to book directly through our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I still have mixed feelings about this resort so I'm just going to provide a list of pros and cons

Pros:
The location of the hotel is absolutely stunning, the view out the window looking out onto long beaches crystal clear waters were stunning!!
SOME of the staff were more than helpful, our AC unit wasn't working properly and the room temp was 37+ the 2 handy men spent over 2hrs fixing this for us in the sweltering heat and ended up replacing the entire unit.
Stunning beach!!

Cons:
Due to a booking mess up we ended up having to rent a Thai house instead of sea front bungalow, yes it was spacious but not worth the £130 a night price tag. Essentially there is the bungalows, 1 bar / restaurant everything else is a long tail boat trip away in the dump that is ton sai bay. If your after a super relaxed doing nothing short break doing the same thing every night then it's perfect, myself and my girlfriend were looking to relax but after 2 days were going stir crazy.
The rooms were not clean at all. especially the super firm rock hard beds, our sheets had multiple crusty stains from previous occupants. I've seen previous reviews mentioning bed bugs this wouldn't surprise me at all
The rest of the staff in the hotel / bar / restaurant are extremely miserable, a smile was obviously too much!!
As stunning as the long beach was 90% was taken up by long tail traffic with a small designated area for swimming at the northern end...which pretty much sums up the whole of koh phi phi. What should be an island paradise has been ruined by the lack of foresight and control by the Thai tourist board which has allowed this stunning island to be dumped on by every Tom dick & Harry trying to make a quick buck. Ton sai bay is completely overcrowded, smelly and generally not worth the boat trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort

Property: Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Address: 138 Moo 7, Long Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing