We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading website cheating you into more expensive rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I tried to book this resort through their website.
The website mistakenly lets you believe that all their rooms are available - indeed, it mentions "while waiting for confirmation" but then you're getting an email back that, how regrettable, exactly that type of room is not available for the requested date but don't worry, we propose another one. All the time failing to let you know that the one proposed is actually close to 50 % more expensive than the one you actually selected.
In short, this is a rip off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toming30, Manager at Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Firstly, may I just clarify that all the bookings made through our website were room requests based on availability using the "On request" button.

Basically, there are two ways of booking through our website:

1. 'Instant Confirmation', whereby confirmation of the selected room is given immediately and there is no need to check back for room availability.

2. Rooms booked 'On Request' are subject to room availability. before giving confirmation, our reservation staff first have to check whether the requested room is actually available. If not, an alternative room is offered. Although we try our best to offer room rates and types as close as possible to the customer's preference, sometimes the only available options are different room types at higher rates.

Guests can experience similar situations if they have booked through OTAs and their room reservation was not fully confirmed by the OTA or the local agent in Krabi.

We'd like to suggest that the best way to ensure you do get the room and the rates you want it is best to book directly through our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 850 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

I still have mixed feelings about this resort so I'm just going to provide a list of pros and cons

Pros:
The location of the hotel is absolutely stunning, the view out the window looking out onto long beaches crystal clear waters were stunning!!
SOME of the staff were more than helpful, our AC unit wasn't working properly and the room temp was 37+ the 2 handy men spent over 2hrs fixing this for us in the sweltering heat and ended up replacing the entire unit.
Stunning beach!!

Cons:
Due to a booking mess up we ended up having to rent a Thai house instead of sea front bungalow, yes it was spacious but not worth the £130 a night price tag. Essentially there is the bungalows, 1 bar / restaurant everything else is a long tail boat trip away in the dump that is ton sai bay. If your after a super relaxed doing nothing short break doing the same thing every night then it's perfect, myself and my girlfriend were looking to relax but after 2 days were going stir crazy.
The rooms were not clean at all. especially the super firm rock hard beds, our sheets had multiple crusty stains from previous occupants. I've seen previous reviews mentioning bed bugs this wouldn't surprise me at all
The rest of the staff in the hotel / bar / restaurant are extremely miserable, a smile was obviously too much!!
As stunning as the long beach was 90% was taken up by long tail traffic with a small designated area for swimming at the northern end...which pretty much sums up the whole of koh phi phi. What should be an island paradise has been ruined by the lack of foresight and control by the Thai tourist board which has allowed this stunning island to be dumped on by every Tom dick & Harry trying to make a quick buck. Ton sai bay is completely overcrowded, smelly and generally not worth the boat trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Second time lucky with this review as my first was queried then automatically deleted by trip advisor. I was asked for clarification about a 'bed bug allegation'. If waking up every morning with more and more bites - all in a formations of three (breakfast, lunch and dinner they call it) was not bed bugs, I'd like to know what it was!? I thought about taking pictures during my stay, but regrettably did not.

As other reviewers have stated already, the bed sheets in this place are dirty, the mattresses rock hard. I was in bungalow Q7 - supposedly supperior. My bites have been painfully uncomfortable even since getting back - nearly two weeks later.

Bed bugs aside, I echo most of the other negative commnets. Unspeakably rude staff, generally poor standard of cleanliness. Extremely overpriced for this standard of accomodation, and NOT a resort. They won't even serve you a drink on the beach and have about 20 Englsh style deck chairs for the entire resort. And by the way, if you dare move them, they fine you 500 Baht.

Apart from the OK location, which is about as good as it gets on Phi Phi, I wouldn't return to these greedy pigs in a million years.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The location makes this place worthwhile. This is surely the best beach on Phi Phi, nice and quiet and so beautiful. We booked a standard bungalow, it was one row back from the beach set away from the main section of the resort (next to PhiPhi blue sky). In the morning id walk 25 meters from our room and find a very quiet beach complete with cocunut palms and an empty hammock and watch out over the spectacular view of PhiPhi Ley island. Breathtaking says it all.
Tonsai village is a 20min walk away, Lo Dalum is about 25-30mins. The walk was fine by us as we are fit, we did the walk at night also which was lit enough for us to walk safely. The room was big, clean and dated. It had air con and a fan.
The staff aren't overly welcoming and the restraurant is average but for a location like this, well... who cares!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our family of 4 recently stayed 4 nights here in a beachfront family bungalow (P1) which was perfect for us, just a few steps from the beautiful beach, great views and a lovely feel. The restaurant adjoining the beach was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our included breakfasts, cocktails at sunset, and dinner each night. Some of the youngest staff don't seem to have as good english as the others but smiles go a long way in breaking down the barriers. We arranged our own morning snorkelling trips from the resort, snorkelling at Phi Phi Leh, Bamboo Island and Mosquito Islands. Our long tail boat men were great with their boats but didn't have much english at all so weren't really "guides" that we could ask questions of. We walked into Tonsai village one afternoon, not difficult for us except for the incredible humidity! I think we made a great choice staying here, certainly the nicest place on Long Beach and we were very happy with everything. Lots of construction currently going on with expansion of the Beach Resort down the other end of the beach.

Room Tip: Beachfront family bungalow P1 was a fantastic size and location for our family of 4.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank TASSIE-FAMILY-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent 4 great days on your resort with my wife and 2 kids - when we visited other parts of Ko Phi Phi we really felt like we made the right choice choosing this resort - it was very peaceful - the bungalow was nice & neet - the location & beach outstanding and the staff was professional & helpfull - Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The bungalow was nice & spacious (perfect for a couple + 2 kids) - it looked better in real than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Seriously, I don't know where all the negative reviews about this place are coming from! It is simply paradise! We were a group of 14 that stayed in 5 of the beach front bungalows which were large, clean and simple but beautifully decorated. The views are to die for - the best on Phi Phi by far. The beach is clean, the water crystal clear. We never wanted to leave and after a trip to Tonsai to check it out, didn't bother. The food at the restaurant was great and to eat right on the beach every night was a highlight. As for the reviews about the rude staff, well that is completely untrue. They dealt with our large group including 7 children with a smile every day. The mini mart and massage prices were unbelievably cheap considering the isolation.

Please do yourself a favor and stay here. We stayed in 5 different locations in our 3 week trip including a 5 star resort in Phuket and this place blew them all out of the aqua green water!

Room Tip: Wooden beach front bungalows offer views to die for
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank asiafan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#6 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#18 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#4 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,451 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort

Address: 138 Moo 7, Long Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $81 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing