We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful,secure and pool bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Garden Bungalows
Ranked #46 of 63 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2014

While checking in a couple came and started complaining that they have not been given the room with garden or pool view for which they paid extra amount. Despite appeasing the reply came that the rooms are unavailable and they paid the amount to AGODA so complain to the booking site,this response was a turn off for me in the very beginning of my trip. On the contrary when i checked in I found the room was very clean, nicely maintained and was on the front side. I had a great time of my life at phi phi. The hotel has a good jungle sort of feel, a bit way like 15 minute walk from the beach parties and good 30 minutes walk from the pier. The pool side on the top is worth visiting. Guy at the pool bar is really nice and helpful. The view from the poolside is breath taking. Good stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABUZAR A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we really appreciate your opinions and are glad to hear that you found the bungalows to be of a good standard with a breath taking view from the poolside. Thank you for alerting us to the problem the other guests had experienced with their booking, we have spoken to the reception staff who dealt with the complaint and hopefully resolved the issue, so this shouldn’t happen again. On a more positive note, we were very happy to hear that your experience of our staff was all good and that they proved to be helpful. We are very concerned that this is the experience that all our guests should receive and work hard to ensure that booking agencies are clear with the guests about which room they are paying for. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Garden Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Tropical Garden from 25th till 29th of December.
Great place with great pool. Rooms are basic but really what more do you want.
Great massages on the open tea-house deck and great cocktails by Pon and his nephew, made us feel like kings! Ko Phi Phi is a bustling little town with a lot of adventure, Tropical garden is the half way uphill hide away that offers the cosy and relaxed balance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we really appreciate your opinions and are glad to hear that you found the bungalows to be of a good standard with excellent service. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool, massage service and cocktails, thanks again for your positive comments and feedback, we hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had booked any accommodation so went for this one as it was one of the cheapest at 800 baht. The pool area looked nice but ended up in the main building ... The room was basic and you could hear assorts going on. You couldn't hear the partying at night which was great. The staff weren't friendly at all and when I went to have a look at the pool are they were very unwelcoming . Anyway, I have lived in hostels for a year in Australia some time ago so I'm used to getting some bed bug bites. But at night did feel crawled all over by bugs but didn't think much of it until I woke up the next day bitten really badly . My right leg and my left arm was covered in the bites .I loved phi phi island but couldn't wait to leave because of the bites and feeling dirty . I would recommend booking somewhere before arriving at phi phi .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Kellyjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we do appreciate your opinions and are sorry to hear that the bungalows did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry that you were unfortunate enough to be bitten at night; we do ensure that all our mattresses are treated, though occasionally a guest, often coming from a cheap hostel in Bangkok, will carry bed bugs in their luggage, which can sometimes find their way onto our mattresses. We have sort expert help and advice and invested in a special high temperature steam treatment machine to deal with these unwelcome outbreaks, which successfully ensure a swift elimination of the bugs and their eggs. We also use a power hoover to clean the room and are satisfied that this is the most effective treatment available. Fortunately these incidents are rare and we are pleased to say that we have not had any further reports of bed bugs since your visit last year. We do hope that you come back to our bungalows in the future and that we can next time greatly improve your experience of our bungalow resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after staying at coco which is just opposite tropical garden and we loved it.
If your not into to much walking or wildlife I wouldn't recommend staying here as we saw a few snakes and monkeys and the stairs to the bungalows are quite difficult if your feeling lazy.
The location is great as it's in the quiet zone on phi phi but not to far from the main area and also pretty close to the view point.
There is a pool here which is quite nice and there is 2 bars which is also good if you want to pre drink before going out. We loved this because the staff would play drinking games with us.
The bungalow itself is quite basic but clean and has warm running water and air con rooms which was a luxury for us after staying in a bad hotel before.
Would definitely return here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Chelseasmelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we really appreciate your opinions and are glad to hear that you found the bungalows to be of a good standard with friendly staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool and bar, and managed to see some of the wonderful wildlife, thanks again for your positive comments and feedback, we hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We staying in a bungalow at the end of Sept. was one of the cheaper places available at 650B a night. Location for us was good, on the outskirts of the resort so far enough away from the noise but still within walking distance of the action.
Room and bathroom were plenty big enough for us but basic with only fan, mosquito net and dresser. The pool & loungers were nice for days when we didn't make it to the beach and the bar was reasonably priced.
The one thing that really let the tropical gardens down was the bed bugs, got bitten loads. Real shame.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_couple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we do appreciate your opinions and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, room, pool and bar facilities. We are very sorry that you were unfortunate enough to be bitten; we do ensure that all our mattresses are treated, though occasionally a guest, often coming from a cheap hostel in Bangkok, will carry bed bugs in their luggage, which can sometimes find their way onto our mattresses. We have sort expert help and advice and invested in a special high temperature steam treatment machine to deal with these unwelcome outbreaks, which successfully ensure a swift elimination of the bugs and their eggs. We also use a power hoover to clean the room and are satisfied that this is the most effective treatment available. Fortunately these incidents are rare and we are pleased to say that we have not had any reports of bed bugs in the last year. We do hope that you come back to our bungalows in the future and that we can next time improve your experience of our bungalow resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is such an interesting and unique place to stay in Phi Phi Don. You pay alot more than you will in other parts of Thailand, ($46 CA) but my partner and I loved the no-frills bungalow we stayed in. There is no noise from the beach and they have killer pad thai breakfasts :)
Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we really appreciate your opinions and are glad to hear that you found the bungalows to be such an interesting and unique place to stay. Also glad to hear that you got to try one of our chefs renowned Pak Thai dishes, thanks again for your positive comments and feedback, we hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my friend opted to pay a bit more to stay in a bungalow rather to stay in an apartment. We loved the room and the staff was very nice.
There is free wi-fi but only cold water.
And the location is nice, only 5-min walking from the beach...
Our only issue here was our neighbour, who was veeery noisy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamilaNakano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teerapongn, Owner at Tropical Garden Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our bungalows, we really appreciate your opinions and are glad to hear that you loved the bungalows and the location. Also glad to hear that you found the staff to be very nice. Thanks again for your positive comments and feedback, we hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibiza House Phi Phi
Ibiza House Phi Phi
#39 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gypsy House
Gypsy House
#16 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Uphill Cottage
Phi Phi Uphill Cottage
#9 of 63 in Ko Phi Phi Don
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
#31 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Garden Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Garden Bungalows

Address: Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $15 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Garden Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows are situated in a quiet, peaceful corner of Phi Phi Island, close to the mountains, and only 5 minutes walk to the beach. The garden setting and mountain views are a lovely place to relax and rest, as well as being an excellent base for local trips. Our small resort is designed to enable you to feel close to nature, all our bungalows are built of natural materials, though are equipped with the necessary home comforts. Our facilities include a swimming pool and poolside bar, restaurant, free Wi-Fi, book exchange and friendly staff to help you make the best of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Garden Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Bungalows Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing