We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“far away!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Bamboo Mountain View is about as far away as you can get from the main buzz in Phi Phi. You have to walk up a steep hill to get there (hence the name) and there are no street lights so make sure you have a torch when walking to and from at night. Bamboo huts are very basic, although i didn't encounter any bugs during my stay, there are plenty of ways for them to get in. Ceiling fan that didn't point towards the bed, brown water with bits in from the taps, mosquito nets with holes in (i got bitten a lot!) Wifi not great and you won't get any signal in your room. When we got there the electricity had been cut off because the owner hadn't paid the bill, so no lights, wifi, or fans for the first night. Lock on our door was broken and we had to ask for it to be fixed as soon as we arrived. Steep and uneven steps up to the huts so you really must take care if you've had a drink or have heavy bags. I wouldn't even bother with the breakfast, there are a couple of shops a few yards down the road for snacks. Very over-priced and far away from all the bars and restaurants, but as Phi Phi is small it only takes around 5-10 minutes to walk into the main strip. If you want a proper jungle style stay then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajsmith04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    15
    17
    80
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you pay approximately 300-500 baht for this, then you can't complain. Is an interesting experience.
However, we got ridiculously overcharged during a very busy time, and would personally deem it a complete scam.
We were convinced by the advertisement of a swimming pool, which ended up being somewhat inhabitable, even for cockroaches.
Rooms extremely limited, but as I said if you pay the correct price, it is a relatively nice location

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omriked111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights while travelling around Thailand and it is without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed!
It is situated at the top of a very steep hill which when bundled with suitcases and backpacks and with the 40 degree heat beating down on you, this proves to be extremely hard work!! It is a long way from the restaurants and the shops and even further away from the dock.
Our room had holes in the bamboo walls, our mosquito net around the bed had holes in so we had to botch it together with safety pins to avoid being eaten alive. The toilet was the most disgusting thing I have every seen.
The only good thing was the pool. Good size and depth. No surprise we had the whole place to ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The place is more or less falling apart, the service is mediocre at best and the manager struggles to keep track of who has or has not paid for there stay yet. I must say the location isnt the best either, abiut a 10 minute walk out frm where everything is happening., the center where everything happens. Hoewever, is is pretty cheap so I guess you pay for what you get imn some sort

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We thought we would take a boat trip over to Phi Phi island and stay the night. I then booked this place online a few nights before. The photos looked average, and we were prepared that it would be at least a 3 star property - but for 1 night, we thought it can't be that bad!
Well it was!!!
First we had to walk around 20 mins through the town, then hop on the back an old half broken down truck and go up a steep hill. Once we arrived doubts began to sink in. We were then taken up these steep concrete steps (which were very dangerous for adults & kids), and taken to this shabby old little hut. The beds were on a concrete slab and the bathroom was horrible - below 1 star!! Crawling insects everywhere.
There was no way our family were staying here. My husband went for a walk around Phi Phi island and arranged other accommodation for us. Losing our money for that 1 night, was not an issue! We were happy to be out of there!!
The thought of having to spend a night in there was causing much distress.
Do not recommend at all!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and two friends lived there for two nights. The rooms are good enough, but it's a bit far from everything. Also, one night a guy broke into our room, while we were sleeping, and stole our wallets, cameras ++. We believe that it was one of the guys working there who did it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mats H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a room here for one night and did not even end up staying there at all. To begin, there was no electricity when we arrived, if you wanna use the AC its extra, otherwise you are stuck with a fan, which didn't even work in our room. This place is a long walk from the beach, shops and restaurants, plus the hill you have to walk to get there is no fun, especially if you are tired and drenched in sweat from the heat. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986renatol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
View Garden
View Garden
#47 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco's
Coco's
#35 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
#34 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#11 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
#30 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#5 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort

Property: Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Address: Moo 7 Tumbol Aonang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing