We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No way!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We thought we would take a boat trip over to Phi Phi island and stay the night. I then booked this place online a few nights before. The photos looked average, and we were prepared that it would be at least a 3 star property - but for 1 night, we thought it can't be that bad!
Well it was!!!
First we had to walk around 20 mins through the town, then hop on the back an old half broken down truck and go up a steep hill. Once we arrived doubts began to sink in. We were then taken up these steep concrete steps (which were very dangerous for adults & kids), and taken to this shabby old little hut. The beds were on a concrete slab and the bathroom was horrible - below 1 star!! Crawling insects everywhere.
There was no way our family were staying here. My husband went for a walk around Phi Phi island and arranged other accommodation for us. Losing our money for that 1 night, was not an issue! We were happy to be out of there!!
The thought of having to spend a night in there was causing much distress.
Do not recommend at all!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    15
    17
    80
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and two friends lived there for two nights. The rooms are good enough, but it's a bit far from everything. Also, one night a guy broke into our room, while we were sleeping, and stole our wallets, cameras ++. We believe that it was one of the guys working there who did it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mats H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a room here for one night and did not even end up staying there at all. To begin, there was no electricity when we arrived, if you wanna use the AC its extra, otherwise you are stuck with a fan, which didn't even work in our room. This place is a long walk from the beach, shops and restaurants, plus the hill you have to walk to get there is no fun, especially if you are tired and drenched in sweat from the heat. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1986renatol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Where do I start..........Please just don't even bother staying here! We paid for two nights and left after one.....and I am surprised we even stayed that!

Now We're used to roughing it a bit and are no stranger to travelling and camping holidays so thought 'bamboo mountain' would be a good place for an adventure.......errrmmmm it would have been better to just have camped out on the mountain without the room!
The door locked with a pad lock that I could have broken off with my own hands, let alone a key. The door didn't even shut properly. There were dried blood stains on the bedding (presumed from mosquito bites from the previous victims!) and mould on the sheets! We paid for a double room - which was two single beds pushed together, this would have been fine considering the price but no one had thought that the mozzy net was also just for a single bed so it didn't even cover it.
The rooms are very VERY basic, cold shower and fan - which is fine if you still feel like you are being looked after! We absolutely were not!
Outside the view consisted of rubbish just dumped up in the mountain and the walk up here is not for the faint hearted.......and with a travellers backpack on......I think the only reason we stayed even one night was because we were so tired after this trek to get up to our room (and we'd previously stayed 3 nights on the jungle trek in Chang Mai so we're used to a bit of a hike) if you are not fit and healthy I strongly advise against staying here! the steps and hill up to the 'resort' will kill you, especially in the heat.

We met some guys down by the pool area the next day while we waited to speak to the owner about checking out early (ironically enough there were a couple in front of us also wishing to do the same!!) one of the lads also waiting told us his experience where he had fallen through the metal 'decking' round the pool area, it had rusted so much, screaming in pain the staff just starred at him then carried about their business, he was stuck there until his friend woke from his nap and heard his cries, he went off to be treated and luckily had nothing more than some very bad bruising and cuts. Hence, They were also waiting to speak with the management to leave early!
Once we finally spoken with someone on reception, they literally couldn't care less! It was like they already knew their customers would come down and say this in the morning - he started to respond without even fully listening to our disappointments.
First experience of complete lack of customer service in the whole of Thailand. Rude and just wanted to keep our money. Literally Could NOT of cared less. Would not refund us for the second night even though we were leaving. (we had already paid in advance on-line)
They would have to pay me to ever stay here again.
To be honest I don't think they care about repeat business.....just the quick cash they make from travellers passing through who need a place to crash........

Definitely DO NOT stay here if you are on a holiday!!!!! Thailand is beautiful and the people are usually very friendly and caring- this is not the place to experience all Thailand has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We needed one night's accommodation on Phi Phi and a travel agent in Krabi booked us this place as a 'reasonably' priced one on the island - this was the worst hotel we stayed at in as far back as I can remember! As other people have noted, there was no toilet paper, the room was filthy to the point we only walked in flip-flops, the bathroom mirror had water splashes all over it (must not have been cleaned this year), moldy smell... In addition to this, the approach to the hotel is revolting - on the street one needs to walk up to get to the hotel, there is garbage everywhere! And I don't mean a piece of paper here and there, it looks and smells like a landfill (see the pictures).

Overall, Phi Phi island really disappointed - not the nature but the people and the way they treat this beautiful piece of land and sea. The island is just so filthy to where I couldn't wait to get off of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abitofeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not one to give poor reviews but I found this place a challenge to appreciate.

The sheets were moldy and unchanged, the bathroom had no toilet paper, and the shower was more of a dirty mist that left me rather unclean. When we asked the manager if we could have clean sheets brought to our room his answer was "Can I do it tomorrow?"

Yes this place is probably one of the least expensive on the island and yes it is basic. But if you're going to Ko Phi Phi Don, this is not the place to be cheap. It's a beautiful island and quite a trek to get there so splurge a little and stay at a nicer hotel that is not located down a sketchy windy road.

If you do decide to stay at Bamboo Mountain, bring a bottle of insect repellant, a roll of toilet paper, sleeping bags, and ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The resort is about a 15 minute walk from the beach & main strip. It is up quite a steep hill and a word of warning; to get to some of the huts you will need to clime up a very steep set of stairs.

The Huts/rooms are very basic and contained only a bed, fan, cold shower and toilet, no other furnishings - they could at least include a mosquito net so you dont get eaten while you sleep!

However although the huts are quite bad the resort itself is really nice, they have a great pool area & great views from the huts on the hill and the people who run it are friendly and very helpful. For the money I paid I was content with what I got.

Room Tip: The rooms lower down the hill looked much better and were much easier to get into at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmithy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
#36 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
View Garden
View Garden
#46 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Long Beach Resort & Villa
Phi Phi Long Beach Resort & Vill...
#22 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#5 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Dream
Phi Phi Dream
#7 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort

Property: Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Address: Moo 7 Tumbol Aonang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing