We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very basic rooms, not somewhere you want to spend much time! A bit run down, but generally clean and ok for a couple of nights for the price.

A bit of a trek up a steep hill from the pier and many steps up to the rooms, so be prepared!!

Better accommodation for the same price available......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    15
    17
    80
See reviews for
9
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked this hotel trough thai tourist center in bangkok for 3 nights, but we didnt stay one night. We arrived to the hotel and the room had damp patches, it smelled bad and the toilet was the most horrible thing, it was poorly build and full of insects. we though the hotel was good because of the price but we run away. additional, the hotel is situated far from the city, we had to walk around 15 minutes to get there. In conclusion this hotel is like the brochure shows, it is not even similar. We met two German girls in this hotel and they were complaining about the service and the hotel, they didn't have water in their room, and one of them got serious allergies because of the room. As advice, if you visit Ko phi phi is better to get there and look for hotel, dont book anything from agencies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejita25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The place was fine for the price but it really is NO FRILLS.

After trying to climb up half a mountain to get to the "resort" you then need to negotiate stairs that are very high. Once you have done this, as long as you haven't broke your neck, you can count on an evening of insects moving in the walls.

On a plus;
It's cheap.
It's far from loud music on beach.
It was clean inside rooms.

Room Tip: Go see the place before saying yes or no. If you recon you can handle it then good luck :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very basic rooms, with cold showers but for what we paid this was a great place- overall good value for money. Wifi in reception. Mr Sod the manager/owner was really nice and was really friendly towards us. There are some rooms at the top end of the resort that are the cheapest, wouldn't recommend these as we got attacked by monkeys but that was out of the hotels control.

There is also a pool but wouldn't recommend swimming in it, it is on the dirty side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dananddaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked this place bu a guy on the boat on my way to ko phy phy. The pictures in the brochure looked nice. But it's far from the reality! This place really sucks! It's smels bad (mold), the steps are, to sau the least dangerous, but this not my point, since i was paying for a low budget room. We came back from downtown one night and my room and the room of my friends have been forces and money have been stolen. The manager M. Sod, who was completly drunk, was beside the pool with two person that seemed to be on cocaïne. I told us that he spend the night drinking beside the pool and that he never heard anything. Wich is impossible with the distance from our room. He refused to give us the tel num of the police. And when we finally manage to find it, his two drinking buddys just left the place very quickly. After that he refused to gbe us our money back for the three nights that i still had to spend there. We ended up sleeping on some bench near the beach and the police station where we made a report the morning after. So please DONT GO THERE IT's A MESS!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benoitboivin693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I don't really understand all the negativity. We stayed in a bamboo bungalow for three nights. It was a fan room on the highest floor and we knew it was going to be basic. We read it was basic so we knew what we were in for.

During our holiday in thailand we wanted to experience a stay in a bamboo bungalow and it was a nice stay. It's al very basic and the shower and toilet are simple, but clean.

For a couple of nights it's okay to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights. It is true, that the resort is a little walk away from the pier, but it only takes about 10-15 minutes. The beach on the other side of the Phi Phi Don can be reached in 5-10 minuttes. You have to pass a place where the islands water is cleaned, so for about 1-2 minuttes it has a bad smell. The island is very small, so if you think it's too far, you are just too lazy.

My room was next to the poolarea, and it was nice. You can't expect much more for the price you are paying. The pool is clean, and the staff is really friendly. In the low season it's a quiet place, but the hotel bar will probably be more "alive" if there where more guests.

The TV in the room has a few english channels. Overall, I was happy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjarlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
View Garden
View Garden
#47 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coco's
Coco's
#35 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
Phi Phi Garden View Bungalow
#34 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#11 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
#27 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#4 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort

Property: Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort
Address: Moo 7 Tumbol Aonang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Mountain View Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing