We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Book this place, without hesitation!”
Review of Chunut House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chunut House
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My friends and I traveled all over the island of Phi Phi staying multiple places. The Chutnut House is above all the best place we stayed in Thailand. We had 5 girls and stayed in a family suite. It was beautiful and had two large bathrooms with magnificent hard wood floors and high ceilings. The staff here was amazing and the value was well worth it. If you need a place to stay and want to be comfortable, stay here. We wished we would have stayed more then one night. The cost is very reasonable. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GagaJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 134 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2010

I booked a bungalow in advance. It was really worth it. It is maybe a bit more expensive, but still affordable. On Phi Phi you pay more than elsewhere, but it is for sure a place with a great vibe. Quiet location but only few minutes to Loh Dalam Beach and center. The staff is really really friendly and helpful. I felt really comfortable here. The bamboo bungalow huts are clean, with a nice terrace and are cleaned every day. The breakfast is good and is held in the next door's bakery, which belongs to the same owner. I can surely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed here at the end of October 2010. This place is great, the bamboo huts are lovely, we stayed in the deluxe double with air con. The room was spotless and the semi open bathroom just added to the charm. The owners are really friendly and the wife runs the bakery next door. We had breakfast included and it was a vast choice it couldn't be faulted.
If I was to be picky the only thing that I didn't like was our hut was next to a patch where they were building a new hut so we got woken up around 6am every dag and if went on until around 4pm so we couldn't really relax in the room in the day. Overall this place is excellent!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orgee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I actually stayed in the Chunut house for many months on many separate occasions in 2002, 2003 and again in 2005 and 2006. I would still stay there except for infalation for alas I cannot afford it for long term stays any longer even though it is totally worth the money.
It is a really beautiful charming property quite unlike anything else on Phi Phi.
Idyllic setting, wonderful staff and a fabulous frence bakery now attached serving freshly baked croissants and other tasty treats for brekkie and lunch.
Now I stay in much more basic accommodation accross the street in a far less charming concrete bungalow but I still visit regularly and think nostalgically on my beautiful bamboo bungalow in the hills....
I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeiritasYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We planned to stay here for a week but unknown to us the season changed mid stay from off peak to peak season..... and so did the price. As we were travelling we only booked the first couple of nights accomodation on Ko Phi Phi, as we did in all places where we first arrived . After deciding to spend the week on Ko Phi Phi we planned to stay on here and tried to book the remaining 4 days only to be told the price had doubled. We expected to pay more in peak season but double???. We didnt feel the hike in price was justified and moved on.

Chunut House itself is very nice. The huts we stayed in are spacious, clean and modern with an old fashioned look. We did find some bugs in our outdoor bathroom (with a thatched roof ) but nothing to worry about. The location is good with bars, restaurants and beaches all reasonably close by. We were met from our ferry by one of the staff ( or was he the owner, not sure ) and taken to Chunut House. They supplied mosquito coils every night which was a nice touch and they also do laundry for a small fee. Breakfast is available every morning, although again this costs extra

If i stayed here again i would go for the more expensive room with air con and clarify the price up front.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

What appeared to be a nice place out of the way to stay in Ko Phi Phi, turned out to be a disaster! The owner of the hotel (short little guy) is very two-faced, and should not be trusted!! He assured us that the room would be a certain rate, but upon checkout "apparently" had no recollection of this and refused to honor the original rate. It was quite obvious that the wife was running the show, as he could not make a decision for himself. He kept flip-flopping on what was originally agreed upon, and would blame his poor English (even though he understood us perfectly fine) on miss-communication. Very shady and dishonest business practices indeed...

As per the rooms, they're nothing special and you could probably get something much nicer AND closer to the beach for a similar price. The bathroom was constantly filled with ants, and seldom cleaned. As per the actual room, the walls are paper thin and we could clearly hear our neighbors next to us, but also 2 huts down. We found several cockroaches in the bathroom, and traces of rat poo in the room. When it rained, we could hear the rats crawling between the walls. Our suspicions were confirmed when we saw a family of rats in-between the roof of our neighbor's hut.

***If you do plan on staying at this place, don't agree to pay more than $500 baht/night or else he's swindling you!!! Be forewarned, stay at your own risk!!!***

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotkarl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Very nice bungalows in amazing tropical garden. we travel in bigger group so we trayed bungalows with aircon, without aircon and without hot water, and each bungalows was great and large enough. They have very helpfull staff and good breakfast with own bakery. Location is also good is 5 minituse to Loh Dalum beach or 5 minituse to Long beach(best beach on island in my opinion). Only one thing is not so good, 50metres from hotel is big garbage. but its not so bad as we expect :)
I defenitly recomend this hotel. Very good price, and they dont want to any cash when i reservated this hotel and everything working fine, Staff waiting on us on the pier and help us to the hotel, but be carefull luggage boy from this hotel allways waiting in the end of the pier so you must little big looking for him :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joll32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
#29 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
Phi Phi Arboreal Resort
#34 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort
#27 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
PP Casita
PP Casita
#10 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#14 of 89 in Ko Phi Phi Don
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunut House

Address: Moo 7, Phi Phi Don Village, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $26 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chunut House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Chunut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chunut House Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing