We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!”
Review of Chunut House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chunut House
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

When we arrived our first reaction was that people were very nice and friendly. The room was not what we expected. We paid for 2 nights but decided to leave after one. On photo's it looks fine but in reality it is something else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    35
    17
    26
See reviews for
11
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at Chunut House with my sister when we visited Koh Phi Phi in February this year. The hut we stayed in was right next to reception. It was very clean and staff made up our hut everyday - they replaced towels and made the beds. The room was very spacious and contained a fridge and bookcase. There wasn't really anywhere to unpack your clothes but we didn't mind. The bathroom was adequate, but you had to make sure to keep the door closed between the bathroom and the bedroom because mosquitos could get into the bathroom. The water temperature and pressure was good. The walls of the hut were quite thin so you could hear people walking past so we were woken quite early in the morning. As other reviews have mentioned, there is a sewerage "lake" that you have to walk past to get to Chunut House but you can't smell it once you get there.

Koh Phi Phi is small enough to walk anywhere and the closest beach to Chunut House is Lo Dalam. Swimming at the beach is not the greatest because the water is usually filmy from the fuel of longtail boats that pull up to the beach. You can hire a longtail to take you to a secluded beach with better water if you are keen to go swimming but beware of jellyfish.

There is a great bar on Lo Dalam called "Slinkys" - lots of fun after dark. Also "Reggae Bar" is great. They have staged Thai boxing shows and tourists are welcome to get in the ring and fight against each other for a free bucket of thai whisky. I would recommend "DMC Restaurant and Bar" for some excellent Thai and western food. Try the garlic and pepper calamari. So good!

There is a little massage parlour at the end of the road that leads up to Chunut House that does great cheap Thai massages. We got one everyday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetho2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Not been to Koh Phi Phi before so booked this accommodation on the strenght of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The young lady on the reception desk was very friendly and extreamley helpfull along with all the staff. The rooms were ok, a little basic for the price we paid, (2,300 baht per night), a wardrobe would of been nice and a fridge that stays on 24 hrs, rather than connected to the switch on the wall activated by the key card. So when you left for the day or evening when you returned your water was warm. The main issue with the accommodation for us was the location. It is quite a walk from the beach, bars and restaurants and to get to it you have to walk past the smelliest sewage plant, plus at the moment there is a massive contruction site nearby too with noisy machinery and site rubbish everywhere. Until the building work has finished and the smell from the sewage plant is iradicated, you may want to give this place a swerve. Overall, friendly, helpfull staff, bad location, too pricey.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentNick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We went to this hotel because it was highly recommeded in Lonely Planet. The room was a little bit dirty and the AC didn't work. The good thing was that it was near everything and we didn't ear the noise

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XanaIgreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terre, New Caledonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Going with Lonely Planet's top pick, we booked the hotel online for a 2 night stay. As soon as we got there, we wanted to leave but ended up staying that night and left first thing in the morning.
We had to walk through a dump site to get there and the smell was really bad. The bungalows are cute on the outside and that's about it. The bathroom was terrible. The towels are stained and grey. The view was overlooking a little road filled with garbage bags everywhere.
This place is not worth the money. I wouldn't have stayed there for free!
I wish I wouldn't have relied on some of the reviews posted for this hotel. My husband and I are really not picky but this place was definitely the most disappointing part of our trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

these people know what hospitality is! Lovely bungalows, yummy breakfast (Thailands best croissant), clean, friendly!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliepiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

I had found this hotel in Lonely Planet where it was highly recommeded. The staff was nice when i had met them at the pier for pick up and when i arrived at the bungalows. I was traveling alone and only needed a single room. Unfortunately, the room they gave me was not in the cluster of bungalows which seemed really nice. My room was in a seperate building which overlooked into the locals backyards. The room was dirty including the towels and the bathroom was very sparse - a little appaling. As a single person I did not feel comfortable staying in the room. I was ready to leave. They were very nice and concerned that i had already paid for my room, at that point I didn't care, I knew I could not sleep there. They said they had another room available which was across the street with no room number. It was a bungalow which was very clean and matching the description Lonely Planet had written in there book. I would be sure when booking your reservation NOT to get a "room" only book a bungalow. I didn't know what i was getting when i booked it.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dudley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.0 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#20 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#1 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Bella Resort
Coco Bella Resort
#15 of 88 in Ko Phi Phi Don
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chunut House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chunut House

Property: Chunut House
Address: Moo 7, Phi Phi Don Village, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chunut House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chunut House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chunut House Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing