We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PP Charlie Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in , rooms are filthy the staff are rude and dont care about making your stay a pleasant one , the pool is 5 mins walk from rooms and is shared by the rest of the island , phi phi is a very scenic place but to be honest unless you can afford the really expensive resorts stay away the island is filthy , stinks of sewage and most hotel staff have not got a clue how to run the place,this island will make you sick and ruin your holiday I dont want anyone else to experience what me and my friends did.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stevemacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 637 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked for 26th to 30th Dec 2013. Everything was paid before we arrived via credit card. Well when we arrived at the hotel to check in we were shocked to discover they had given away our rooms and didn't have anything again until 28th!! And they wouldn't give us our money back for the two nights and all of a sudden couldn't understand English!! We eventually had to find other accommodation for the two nights out our own pocket!! The 'RESORT' isn't infact a resort it's a building site dirty and smelly!! The supposedly pool is actually the hotels next door and is a free for all!! Breakfast consists of five things to choose from wifi doesn't work. Staff are an absolute joke!! They do not care and won't help you what so ever!! Only seem to know English when they are wanting money from you. Worst hotel I've stayed at in my life!!!!!!!!! Do not book this hotel!! DISGUSTING!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lauranross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The whole Hotel is dirty. The chamber maid only clean every 2-3 days.
She never changed the bed sheets during my 8 day stay.
The rooms are old and look used. The furniture is broken or destroyed.
The bin was always full and the toilet smells.
I had to pay my whole stay on arrival otherwise I hadn't stay at this Hotel!

The Breakfast und Pool are the only good things here.
But at the pool you always find peole how not belong to the Hotel.
I can only recomend everybody "DO NOT STAY THERE!!!"

Room Tip: Never book a room in this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

DONT STAY HERE. This place is the exception to the rule when it comes to service and standards in Thailand. It's easily the worst place we have ever stayed at in the world. Don't get me wrong Phi Phi island is absolutely beautiful but this hotel brings you straight back down to earth. The smiling staff that you see all over Thailand are clearly banned from here. While we checked in we heard 3 people complaining. We looked at each other and made a snap decision to still stay. What a mistake. It's located really well but so are many many hotels. The pool on the photos looks lovely and indeed it may be one day. They had builders there tiling the area around the pool when we stayed so it war cordoned off. The sunbeds are wrecked The rooms don't look anything like the website images. The shower doors don't slide, the toilet doors don't slide, the so called balcony was covered in at least a years worth of bird muck. You have to present the check in staff with 1000 baht as a key deposit. This struck us as strange but never the less paid them. When we got to the room we read what the 1000 baht was really for, it's so they have you over a barrel when you check out. They have loads and loads of ridiculous rules printed in the room. Trust me you won't be getting all the money back, it's not possible. To get between the rooms and the reception you have to walk through unlit boggy areas that in my opinion shouldn't be accessed by guests. It's a staff area, living quarters, cleaning area, cooking area with off duty staff everywhere. it's not very pleasant at all. Phi phi is beautiful but do yourself a favour stay anywhere but here. It's disgusting. There were people complaining left right and centre. We can't all be wrong.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Mark_S186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We booked for 5 nights.. And wish we had not! On arrival we had to pay 1000 baht to secure our room key...not mentioned on booking...? Masses of rules and charges for bedding towels etc.. We saw people in reception on booking out being charged 400 baht for towels that the maid did not replace when cleaning rooms, we had this too but had the mind set to go chase them to get more at the time of cleaning the room.. So be mindful of this...
The construction site beside the rooms is going on all hours as is the music in town and can be heard in the rooms. They were spray painting the rooms and did not warn us, we had to leave our room till late at night as the smell made us both pretty sick!
The grounds of the resort are filthy and that's putting it politely. The staff I think live in the slums which are on the resort grounds between the rooms and getting to the beach, pool and restaurant for breakfast. Piles of rubbish left on the pathways which smells putrid!
I could go on but will just end this review with warning DON'T GO!

Room Tip: Go for top of the range to get below average rooms or don't bother at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakandjil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The good things:
1. Location: close to the beach and beach parties
2. Pool: amazing pool, nice view from the pool and good temperature.
3. Nice breakfast not to fancy but well enough.
4. Nice room but not at all like the picture
The bad things:
1. The bathroom is not convenient, because when you take shower the water goes everywhere; the water power is very low therefore when you take a shower you take ages to rinse your hair
2. You need to leave a deposit of 1.000 Barth, because there is many rules, like in case you leave stains on the bed linen, in case you smoke, in case you vomit, etc. Also you will be fined if you leave the AC while you are outside the room.
3. No WIFI in the rooms
4. Lots of noise from the construction site
5. The rooms are not dark enough to sleep because the curtains are very thin and white

Room Tip: try to take a room far away from the construction site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crewonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are regular visitors to Phi Phi and love the location of PP Charlie. It is cheap so expect a very basic service and room type. It not somewhere to stay if you are after a resort experience but its location is hard to beat and the price is very cheap. There was a lot of young people there, probably not the most family friendly place if you have young children. We took our 9 year old daughter there and it was fine, simple, basic, not super clean, but fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Be aware there are bar/nightclubs on the beach very close by to PP Charlie so ask for a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#17 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#13 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
PP Princess Resort
PP Princess Resort
#12 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay View Resort
Bay View Resort
#9 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Charlie Beach Resort

Address: 104 Moo 7 | Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $59 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Charlie Beach Resort is a three-star beachfront resort known for its outstanding style, comfort and service. The property lies along the most beautiful beach in Phi Phi island and yields breathtaking panoramic views of the Loh Da Lum Bay. PP Charlie Beach Resort offers an extensive variety of services, including romantic honeymoon packages, banqueting, weddings, the best scuba diving in Koh Phi Phi, sportfishing, exciting adventure tours, snorkeling trips, superb cuisine and sea food, and comfortable rooms, all set against the captivating tropical scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your PP Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Charlie Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing