We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away from this dump” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of PP Charlie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
PP Charlie Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stay away from this dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

deceptive pictures / brochures.
long list of charges if anything in the room is soiled, including the linens, towels, ashtray and drinking glasses: you will definitely be charged for something!
rude, lazy staff.
mouldy smell in room
disgusting view outside our room of garbage and sewer waste.
no sound insulation at all: we could hear people talking next door, and music being played 3 doors down.
please stay away.
we left this hotel within 2 hours of arriving, and stayed at another hotel.... do yourself a favor and RUN!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nitsa1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    98
    134
    98
    191
See reviews for
40
197
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Tour operator in Phuket booked us.

Arrived to find kid covered in poo on the walk way.

Standard room had steel chop saw going outside the window. Complained and was only offered an upgrade which we had to pay an extra 1000 baht for (2 nights on top of 5800 including boats).

Had to sign a form saying sheets and towels would be inspected for stains at check out. And to check out an hour before the boat leaves to allow for this.

Manager surley and uncooperative.

Finaly relaxed only to be woken the following morning sub 10am by a guy hammering on the door yelling at us to check out, although was not until the next day.

Phi phi is a noisy mess and this hotel is in the thick of it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadagander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having read the reviews on this place which don't give it any justice!!!! I thought it best I write a review myself. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed my stay that much I even booked for my daughter and her friends and also my other daughter is staying here in November this year. The reason I booked this place was because of it's location to the lovely loh dalum beach. It's just a 2 minute walk!!!!!! And practically on top of the town centre with it's many bars and restaurants. Our room was in the barrack type block just set back from the town centre so if we needed to nip back for anything it was really convenient. Our rooms was A202 and A203 and I booked these same rooms for my daughters. The block is 2 storey high and we was on the upper floor. You could see the reception, restaurant and town centre from here. To get to the beach you come down the stairs turn back on yourself and it's a 2 minute walk down a sandy path. The room I thought was very nice!!! Dark wood furniture, aircon good tv and a mini bar. The bathroom clean and adequate no problems at all with the room. This place is the perfect location on phi phi island for the beach and the nightlife which we liked. I don't get some of the reviews!!! Maybe some rooms are not up to scratch but ours was just perfect. I have travelled Thailand on many occasions and yes hotels are cheaper or of better quality and amenities in other places. Here in phi phi however nothing is cheap. If you want a better class hotel you really are going to pay a lot more and the locations are not as good as the Charlie beach. I did go for breakfast on 1 occasion and it's not really that good, lots of flys and some food not covered. What I did was eat the food that was covered up and also there is a chef that cooks you eggs or omelettes to order so you know no flys had been on your eggs!! To be honest the breakfast wasn't an issue for us as most of the time we missed it!!! We just went to a cafe and payed for breakfast about 150 baht. I found the staff to be quite friendly but quite laid back. No one pays much attention to you when your waiting to check in!! Or if they are busy with other guests they don't really acknowledge you!! When the do finally check you in you have to pay a deposit think I paid 800 baht and when we checked out we got it back no problem. When you look at other places on phi phi in this price range they are either full of bed bugs or quite far from beach and town centre. Trust me this is the best location. One more thing, there is a very nice pool and I've read that it's shared with other hotels!!! This maybe so but at least you have a pool to use!!! What is the problem if it's shared!!! Even though I always like to have a pool wherever I stay, we didn't use it because the beach is just the best beach youl ever see!! And it's pretty shallow. We also found it a bit difficult to find from the pier!! It's not far about 5 minutes walking, just wish I'd have emailed the hotel to send someone to the pier to help us with luggage and to find the place. I will stay again absolutely yes. We slept well as the rooms are just enough set back from the bars/music and the food was nice in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room A201 A202 A203 up 1 flight of stairs, in my opinion these rooms were very good. Email the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Like everyone says. They will use a very nice photo of a room with beach view to lure you in but once you get there, you get a garbage room. Get this - if you stain the sheets, they want you to pay I forgot how much but it was ridiculous. The room is in an apartment style complex with about 30 other rooms on the block and the pool that they claim they have is a shared one with other hotels I do believe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinSpecToR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the barrack-like wings situated in the back, a bit away from the beach. Really anonymous but totally OK place if you use the hotel just for sleep. The wing closest to the bar street gets noisy though.
The girl at front desk was really helpful and well spoken.
The seaside part of the hotel appealed to me more. The hotel has a really nice pool area by the sea with a nice shake and drink bar in the pool, perfect hang out for the hot, humid Thai-summer. As it was low season there was plenty of room for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, there is no such thing as value for money in phi phi with regards to accommodation as they all seem to be of a low standard.

Location is great and really central to all the bars, restaurants and the beach, however it is quiet at night. The pool area which is shared with PP Princess is really good with a swim up pool bar. The breakfast is poor with the food being cold both mornings I went. The rooms are clean but the walls are stained. Also they have a list of costings in the room and at reception which outline the charges you face for a variety of different stainings of the bedclothes etc which is ridiculous! We wanted to extend our stay as it really isn't that bad but we had to change rooms which was fine but then we were told we had to change again for some reason! The staff were extremely apologetic for this and helpful throughout our stay. All in all this hotel is probably one of the better ones in phi phi and we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Halfway through our tour of Thailand we decided to treat ourselves to a more expensive hotel, so went for a poolside/beachside room at Charlie Resort. Our room overlooked the pool, which was lovely, and had a horizon edge which flowed over onto the beach! Room very modern, spacious and with great air con!! The room actually ended up too cold at times! Room cleaned on request everyday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clf573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.1 mi away
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
#11 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#10 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#17 of 37 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PP Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Charlie Beach Resort

Property: PP Charlie Beach Resort
Address: 104 Moo 7 | Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Charlie Beach Resort is a three-star beachfront resort known for its outstanding style, comfort and service. The property lies along the most beautiful beach in Phi Phi island and yields breathtaking panoramic views of the Loh Da Lum Bay. PP Charlie Beach Resort offers an extensive variety of services, including romantic honeymoon packages, banqueting, weddings, the best scuba diving in Koh Phi Phi, sportfishing, exciting adventure tours, snorkeling trips, superb cuisine and sea food, and comfortable rooms, all set against the captivating tropical scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your PP Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Charlie Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing