We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good for a base”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Right in the middle of town close to everything short walk to shops, restaurants and the pier. Very quiet at night in the rooms which was excellent but its only 5 minute walk from the clubs on the beach. Rooms were good, need a bit of touching up in bedroom and if you go to bed at night or go out all the power goes out and so if you are wanting to charge a camera battery either you have to stay in the room until its charged or sleep with a light on. But I have experienced this in many hotels in Thailand. Showerhead in the bathroom wouldnt stay up so I had to hold in hand but overall good bathroom. The staff were a bit unhelpful, they have no bar and no restaurant on site, although it does say pizza and pasta I saw none being served during my time there, which is a shame as they do have a pool bar which i never saw being used.

Room Tip: I stayed in deluxe double but some of them have a balcony view of a brick wall at the corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzieadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    358
    134
    52
    47
See reviews for
35
359
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The phi phi hotel is in a good location if you want to be in the middle of all the action but still want a quiet nights sleep. However, for the price you pay it is very run down. The rooms are an okay size but nothing special. The aircon took an hour to start working (my friends in another room also experienced this). The complimentary breakfast is not the best. The pool is small and the pool bar is permanently shut. The hotel has a whole lot of stupid rules that are quiet rude and do not make you feel as though you're on holiday. Unfortunately, there are not many nice hotels in PP and its very overcrowded. Next time I go to Thailand I will be skipping phi phi. I'd recommend only going as a day trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The location, the room, the breakfast are ok. Phi Phi is awesome. But the way this hotel treat you is surprising... Especially in the country of smiles.
When you arrive they tell you what is forbidden and how many penalties you have to pay if you break these rules...the hotel is full with these policies. Ok accepted but not liked. I paid a lot to be treated as a guest and not as a bad student.
But when i feel every time I ask something from the staff at the reception that I ask a favour I really dont like it. I think they should train the staff to smile at the guests and handle them as guests. Definetly not worth its price. Luckily Phi Phi is too beautiful and exciting and I want to come back to this island. But not to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriszta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, First of all the hotel is just in the middle of phi phi village which means you are 3 minutes away from all the main restaurants and beaches. The rooms are clean and the maintenance people are very fraindly. But on the other hand, the hotel is old which means the we had a lot of problems with the electronic key which had shut down the electricity of the room every 15 minutes we had it replaces but still no luck. The bed is hard as like you are sleeping on wood, the free wifi is out of signal and very very slow and the customer service is terrible few examples: 1. Prior to our stay I've send few emails to the hotel using their website asking for a room which is not on the noisy part, but the hotel gave us that room and when I told them about it they say that on the agoda voucher it did not mention that, when I told them that I sent the emails using their website "contact us" form they act like they don't understand. 2. The hotel check out Time is 11AM of you are planning to leave later you need to understand that the hotel can't provide you with a place to take a shower. we even told them that we agree to pay for the ability to take a shower in one of the rooms but the receptionist told us that it is not about the money but it is the hotel policy that you need to take a shower in the pool shower, which is in the open and change clothes on the main toilets, they even had us buying a shampoo from the 7/11 cause the couldn't give us one, again hotel policy. So If the hotel policy is that I need to wash myself in front of the entire hotel guests like a hobo on the street that is not a place I consider paying the amount of money they are asking.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, we could overlook the bad side like the bed matress or the other problems if the customer service was good, but a bad customer service it is a thing I can't accept.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naxAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Great Location and good clean rooms!
Location location location!
9
This resort is in an amazing location! Close enough to the action if you want to party and quiet enough if you want to stay in and relax. Phi Phi has a very chilled out atmosphere and that's how the resort feels. Breakfast was a pretty standard buffet you find in all resorts. Only this I can really fault them on is giving us the list of fines (I think this was mentioned in another review) if you lose the key, take towels and all that and no outside guests past 10pm. I felt like I was on schoolies (spring break for the Americans out there). Staff were helpful with our enquiries. Price is steeper than I expected to pay but more places are in Koh Phi Phi but this resort was bug free and as a good a smell as you can get in Thailand. Places might be more expensive but meals are cheaper that Phuket, beer is cheaper and lots of happy hours and specials. I recommend a snorkeling trip too, one of the half day ones! Expect 100 baht for Thai food 60 baht for small beer (Chang) Around 100 baht for a large one Snorkeling costs anywhere between 400-600 for half a day, shop around a bit. They'll take you to Maya bay (from The Beach) amongst some other places everyone else gets taken.

Nightlife Tip: Reggae Bar with the Thai boxing ring has good happy hour prices (6pm-9pm). Free bucket to anyone that is game enough to step into the ring (starts around 9:30pm). Head towards beach for cheaper drinks or later happy hours. Bucket prices range from 100-500 baht, depends what you can stomach really.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I think everyone says Phi Phi has the worst hotels in Thailand.

P P palm tree I think rates in the top five. I think all the hotels are very average in terms of rooms but spec themselves on location.

Only way to get to PP is pretty much ferry if you want to stay more than one day and PP Palm tree is located smack back in the middle of the PP central shops and 5 minutes from the pier. It is an excellent location if you want to be right in the middle of it all. Remember the beach is still only 5 minutes away as it only takes 5 minutes to walk from the pier to the other side of the island.

Some suggestions include getting some updated TV's, they were still using CRT's. Actually having something in your minibars, all we had were 2 bottles of water - though I guess they don't put anything in as outside the hotel are a million shops selling things for a third of the price.

The shower gel and shampoo is very cheap.

Bed sheets had cotton clumps and definitely needs to be replaced, ours had holes in them. Pillows were awful too, pretty sure they must be some kind of hard foam.

Sounds more like management is taking the cheap way through with the basics.

Room Tip: Get a pool access room. Stepping out of the room into your room is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drunkntigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights and had a great stay. We were greated with fresh pineapple juice which was needed after the hot ferry trip. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Ton Sai Pier. The room was well equipped and with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. The breakfast was the best we had in Thailand witch a huge choice. The pool was spacious and we always found a sun lounger, the only downside was the pool bar which was never open. The staff were friendly and able to store our luggage fo us on our last day after check out. The hotel had good wifi and lots of channels on the tv. Overall a great location and would definitely reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#7 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#14 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Villa Resort
Phi Phi Villa Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P. P. Palm Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P. P. Palm Tree Resort

Property: P. P. Palm Tree Resort
Address: 125 Moo 7, Ao Lo Dalam Bay | Aonang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — P. P. Palm Tree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your P. P. Palm Tree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p.p. Palmtree Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
p Palmtree Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing