We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great selection of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marlin

Marlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great selection of food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We liked the fact you didnt have to book at this one. You could arrive when you liked. However there was an option to book a front ocen view table if you wanted to. The selection of food available was great from Pizzas, to hamburgers, Rice and Thai food. The pricing left a little to be desired, however mostly ok.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    23
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The restaurant is located in the best beach hotel we've been and has a beautiful view of the beach, which makes all the more dissappointing the food and service. The service is slow and distracted, while the food is average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarTdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best food in Thailand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Excellent service & delicious food - try the tyger prawns & the chicken cashew nuts. Great venue with a lovely atmoshere, the only negative was the awful live singing group

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food but very slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate here a few times, simply because it was more relaxed than Ruan Thai and more like a restaurant than Coconut Grill. The food was good on all occasions but we found the service just really slow and with bad timing.
We got our starters at different times, and after we got starters they brought the bread with dips, which is usually served when you sit down and while you're ordering as something to pick at.
The mains were all delicious though.

We booked dinner on the beach, which was a bit of a let-down. It's a stone's throw away from the restaurant, so doesn't really feel all that private. They also forgot about us at times because we weren't in direct sight. It took over half an hour to get our last course after they'd taken away our plates. I had to go up and check if we were getting our last course, tea/coffee? He said yes and just brought us a tea and a coffee! Didn't ask which we wanted and didn't bring us the cookies that were part of the set menu. It was already after 11pm and we just couldn't be bothered to complain or correct him. It was a disappointing end to a nice enough evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very tasty Thai food with wonderful wine and cocktails. The staff are really friendly and will make it a night to remember for you

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RobinTinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing