We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but wouldn't stay here again. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Baia Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baia Baia
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok but wouldn't stay here again. ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

So I read the reviews and we came here knowing that it was going to be a party but we didn't know to what extent. The room is right behind a bar which is beside the two largest night clubs on phi phi. The music started at the clubs at 9:30pm and the base would shake the room. The music would go until 3:30am every morning. We stayed out each night but after drinking all day and into the evening, we could only last until 3am and even drunk it was hard to get to sleep. You would think that's fine because you can sleep away your hangover, but unfortunately although the clubs next door don't start up again until later, the bar the rooms are behind closes early in the evening and starts up again at 9:30 am with the music on.

The room itself was small and very dark. There was a single lamp in the bathroom which even made shaving a dangerous sport. In the main area there was a single light on the ceiling which was half blocked by a pillar, and a LED reading light with only 3 of the 15 LED bulbs with light coming from them.

The staff were nice but this place was not worth what we paid. We would not recommend it.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dlsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    9
    12
    16
See reviews for
2
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

After reading the other reviews and my own experience there I think that in staying at Baia Baia it really depends what you expect out of the place so I'll give an overview of our time there and what was good and not so good. A friend and I stayed at Baia Baia 2 weeks ago for 3 nights and on first impression thought the location was brilliant (right on the beach and near the main walking streets) and the rooms were clean and comfortable with working AC and definitely good value for money. During our stay we were out partying 2 out of the 3 nights and for this Baia Baia was brilliant - as I said, prime beachfront location and easy to get back to! However, on our last night we choose not to go out due to an early morning ferry and that is when the realization kicked in of how LOUD it is at night. Now I had read the previous reviews and thought well how loud could it really be, I'm sure with earplugs I can sleep through it - not the case! There is a beach party bar right next door (parties are on every night) and the bass is so loud that it physically shakes the huts you stay in. That said, the music does stop completely at 3am and from that point we did manage to get some sleep but were rather exhausted by the morning and slept most of the ferry ride back to phuket.

So overall, if you plan on going out partying every night you are in Koh Phi Phi then this place couldn't be better, the room we stayed in was super clean (coming from 2 neat freak girls) - though there are some bugs, your on an island what do you expect - the AC worked really well, room was serviced every day (just drop your key in at reception when you go out for the day) and the location could not have been better! However, if you aren't planning to do this then I would suggest you stay elsewhere as the noise really is impossible to sleep through - I can normally sleep through anything - and it would likely ruin your holiday time there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Baia Baia is right in the middle of Loh Dalum Beach, easy accesible from Ko Phi Phi Don harbor. There are some bars and restaurants around but they are not noise after 11pm. The room was nice, but we missed some rack for accomodate our luggage and the wardrobe was full of mold, impossible to use. Overall we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: There are diferente types of rooms, some are bungalows others not. Just make sure about which kind y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafhael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Actually not the cheapest hotel you can get in phi phi, but obviously it has one of the best location in phi phi.

Its only 5 to 10 seconds away from the beach, well the beach is your front lawn.

But because of its location near all the bar and attractions on the beach, so you must expect loudness coming from them at night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Let me say that i stayed here 5 years ago in 2008 and was amazed by the place. Very nice wooden bungalows right on the beach, fantastic restaurant and helpful owner who was around all the time.
Fast forward 5 years and you can immediately see that like Phi Phi itself, Baia Baia is a victim of its own success. Beach once tranquil with just couple of bars open in the night is now full of noisy super beach clubs playing loud music until early morning.
Bungalows are in urgent need of renovation (holes in mosquito nets, rundown bahtroom, broken locks on windows, ceiling wooden panels falling apart...) Restaurant was closed while we stayed here, was low season, so cant comment on that. There is also unpleasant smell coming from nearby sewers which is especially noticeable during the night.
5 years ago booked 1 night and decided to stay 7 days, it was that good. This time booked 2 nights but left after 1 day.
Phi Phi was a backpackers haven, cheap and full of vibe, but now its full of rich Russians and Chinese package tourists staying in 5 stars hotels. The island itself lost much of its charm, water in both of its bays is quite dirty and full of seaweed plus there is non stop traffic of boats arriving/leaving so you wont be left to relax during the day either.
Book this place if you are 18 year old and looking for a place right next to the clubs and for sure wont be sleeping at night. If not, then book something else or even better, visit Koh Tao or Koh Pangan who still got some of that ''best island in the world'' charm left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We read the reviews on TA and since we are people that don't usually go to bed very early on holiday didn't think we would mind it too much. However we were wrong. There's just no getting away from it, this lovely resort is right in the middle of the party part of the island. The bars are too close together and in Baia Baia you just hear both sounds contrasting. Its very annoying. The resort itself is very clean but very small. It is really pretty and the owners are really lovely. The beach outside is so beautiful, however ruined by drunken revelers relieving themselves at night we were disturbed to see after we had been swimming in the bay the day before.......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janelorien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Baia Baia resort for 5 nights. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen, and this hotel is right on the beach on the prettiest side of the island. In the daytime it's really peaceful and relaxing with such a chilled out atmosphere and stunning scenery. There's lots of trips to do and a snorkelling boat trip is well worth doing to see all the cast of Finding Nemo! At night time it turns into a party every single night - we didn't mind the noise as we were up for the parties, but if you want to sleep at night this is not the place for you! Our bungalow was literally vibrating with the bass of the music on the beach which was a good distance away! If you do want to party, you will have the time of your life - fire shows, UV face/body paints, amazing barbeques, cheap booze and dancing in the sand all night. We had a great time here and I will never forget it! Some people have said that the staff were rude but we did not find this at all - the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, as are most Thai's. There are also lots of restaurants nearby which do amazing food. We ate so well here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.1 mi away
PP Princess Resort
PP Princess Resort
#17 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stones Bar Dorm Rooms and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
B Place Guesthouse
B Place Guesthouse
#11 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dee Dee Beach House
Dee Dee Beach House
#2 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apache Beach House
Apache Beach House
#45 of 86 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
#42 of 61 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Baia

Property: Baia Baia
Address: 9 Moo 7, T-Aonang A.Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baia Baia 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baia Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Baia Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing