We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This was such a great place. We arrived on Phi Phi with nothing booked but a vague idea of area we wanted to stay. We passed JJ's and hubby decided to have a peek. He came back impressed. We looked at another place ad then came back. Good decision! The girl on reception was so kind and helpful, gave us map and advice straight away. We got a large room for 800 bhat.

Great value for the island. The room and bed were huge! Nice new large TV with cable, clean and decent bathroom, air-con, 2 free bottles of water. Nice balcony area with seats. Yes there are cheaper rooms to be found on the island but I doubt they would be anywhere near as nice.

We had no problems with staff, as some other reviews commented on this. Yes their English is not great - but this is Thailand! We can make a bit of effort too! All the staff we dealt with were very polite, helpful and smiley.

Ah, the waste treatment facility - somewhere that must be passed if you want to get to beach and town quickly. Can't complain really as it's a necessary evil. Smell very bad for about 1 min but the whole thing is camouflaged with tropical garden so it's not TOO bad!

Ko Phi Phi is gorgeous, stunning island but we were shocked at the amount of rubbish on the main beach. worrying sign for future. The island itself was full of youngsters on gap years so sometimes felt like we were in Benidorm or Ibiza with the amount of drunk kids out of it on whiskey buckets!

The beach on the ferry pier side of the island is quieter and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

I and my boyfriend stayed at JJ's for a few nights last February .
We booked a deluxe bungalow as the standard one didn't look very good on the internet site. And we weren't disappointed at all. The bugalow was great indeed : really clean, well-furnished and spacious ! It was situated on the top of a hill ( those steps were very steep to climb but a good exercise !), and just a 2 min walk away from Phi Phi Village but still far enough from it not to hear all the loud noises of the party town.

The staff wasn't very kind to us, they didn't even say hi when they'd see us, but this isn't really important, we have to bear in mind that people don't really speak English in Thailand but at least they're always smiling, unlike the JJ staff but oh well.

The hotel is located right next to a waste water collection and it horribly stinks in the morning when you have to pass through it to get to the town / beach. Fortunately you can't smell it from the hotel !

On the whole, I'd recommed the deluxe bungalow to anyone for the reasons I've already mentioned and for the price too, it's good value. On the contrary, the rest of the hotel looks pretty old and would need some renovatiions.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Really nice rooms on a hill (have to be fit to climb the steps every day ;-)). Takes about 10 min. to walk to the nearest beach (though you have to pass a sewage plant to get there). Generally not to far away from anything you need but far enough to get some peace and quiet on a lively part of the island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawasdee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

On our arrival at Phi Phi we had to walk for about 10 minutes through the town in order to get to JJ. Thankfully my boyfriend knew the way as it was somewhat of a maze if you haven't been there before. On our arrival we were shown to our room. My inital booking had been for a standard room, however the people who had booked before us had decided to stay longer, so to our surprise we got a free upgrade - the shower was big enough to fit about 10 people in! The room was clean and quiet and we had a nice balcony to relax on.

The staff speak limited English, but are friendly and polite. We had absolutely no complaints.

There was perhaps only one thing that let the location of JJ down, which was the walk past the sewage plant that you have to do to get to the beach and the town. It's only a small patch of land so you can easily hold your breath as you walk past. On the positive, the location is great in terms of being far away enough from the noise of the clubs and bars that when you want to sleep you can do so without being disturbed.

The beach is a 2 minute walk away and everything is pretty much on your doorstep. The trail up to the viewpoint is also very close to JJ, so I highly recommend checking it out. Go early in the morning though as it's a steep hike to the top - you don't want to be doing that in the mid day sun!

All in all we were onto a winner with JJ and I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jems_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

We found sanctuary here and loved it. The massive, clean rooms and the big deck were fantastic. The 1.500 baht per night seemed a bargain compared to many other places that offered less (at high season). The staff were very kind and accommodating. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

The bungalow was great, with huge windows and a personal balcony with seating that looked over the greenery of Phi Phi. The bungalow was all tiled with air con and very clean. The bed was huge and their was lots of space to put everything both in the bathroom and in the bedroom. The staff were helpful, although their English wasn't great- they gave advice on the best places to snorkel, swim etc. 2L bottled water was provided in the fridge every day for us free of charge which was wonderful especially if you woke up parched in the morning!
It was located about a 2minute walk from the village and about a 5-10 minute walk from the main beaches on Phi Phi- this was great because if you wanted a quiet night in it was far away enough to block out the noisy nightlife of the village and beaches.
Compared to some of the places on Phi Phi the price wasn't too bad and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

A lovely place, away from the noisy town, but only a 5 minute walk to the main harbour, and a 2 minute walk to the beach.

I'm a touch surprised people say it is "far" from anything - the nice beach (on the other side of the harbour) is literally 2 minutes away, and the main PP town is a couple of minutes more. That said, it's worth phoning them when you arrive as someone will come and take your bags from the ferry area. Don't bother trying to book at the harbour - we asked and they told us "JJ not there - tsunami take it" - clearly they don't have a deal with the accommodation touts (masquerading as a tourist office).

The room (102) was large, very clean, hot shower, TV with 2 English movie channels, fridge, good AC and a lovely view of the trees. No noise at night.

Overall we were delighted. We paid 1500 baht a night (web site says 2000 so don't book on the web!). It seems some people paid even less. For Phi Phi that is excellent value (p.s. Phi Phi is lovely - we thought it would be too touristy - we are backpacking, but we were pleasantly surprised)

Great place, highly recommended, and the woman who owns/runs the place is a charming lady too.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OntheSpectrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#17 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $37 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing