We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Came to the island for a night and unfortunately chose this to overnight.
Reports say you are met at the pier. Yes you are then you have to walk about 3 kilometers in searing heat lugging your suitcase.

There are so many twists and turns to get there with many unsavory sights and smells on the way.
On arrival you need to climb stairs,ups and downs to get to a scarce but clean room

Very very basic.
Pool is clean and has to be found via a series of stairs !

The quote that the beach is 250 m away. Well that may be ...... As the crow flies.

Never again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2david1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good location - far enough away from the crowd to be quiet, but not so far that it's unreasonable to head back to your room in the middle of the day.
Only stayed here one night but it was comfortable enough and safe. Could have been a little cleaner. If I ever found myself on Koh Phi Phi again, I'd give it another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

At first we were not happy but the 10 min walk from the ferry in such heat didn't help the mood. The road to jjb is smelly and poorly lit at nigh. Theres lots of stairs and the whole place really could do with a tidy up. The area around the bungalows is a mess. We are in the "deluxe" and its clean, fresh towels daily but the bathroom needs painting and the curtains could do with sorting out.

I wouldn't stay again but its clean and quiet the pool is ok.

Phi phi is a great place for a couple of nights, we expected lots of rowdy louts but not like that really and the beach party was cool. Im 35 but didnt feel past it joining in.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank alibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very overpriced. Toilet was in bad condition. They don´t allow even slightly later check-outs. It is a bungalow, so it is understandable that there isn´t any typical hotel services, but prices should reflect that. There isn´t any illumination around the swimming pool area, so it gets completely dark there after sunset, making it impossible to enjoy at pool at the end of a busy day. I could have stayed in better places for the price I payed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deia_Korhonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Situated about 10 minutes from the beach, it is a nice and comfortable place to stay. There are a host of eating and partying option within 5-10 minutes walk from here. The hotel staff is polite and helpful. We took an extra bed and it was promptly arranged.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANKITBAHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

JJ bungalows are less than a 10 min walk to the main strip of bars and restaurants. Room was basic but clean and included a safe, fridge, aircon and tv with some english speaking channels. Pool was nice and very picturesque. There was also a shop in the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank layoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed deluxe bungalow for two nights. Very comfortable, quiet and private enough to have a quiet nap at the pool or your verandah in the afternoons. There was reliable Wifi and rooms were serviced daily with fresh linen and bath towels.

There were many, many stairs and it's definitely not a disabled friendly resort. No swimming towels were provided. The ten minute walk to the village or beaches unfortunately forced us passed the smelly sewerage garden ("poo garden") but thankfully, we couldn't smell this from our room.

Not bad value for money considering the many other noisier and more pricey options on Phi Phi Don.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelindsRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#17 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $37 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing