We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big clean bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days and was glad I booked this. Phi phi is more expensive than many other parts of Thailand, so expected to pay a little more for decent but low end of price range bungalow, and I was glad I did- I met a number of people who paid less and ended up moving!

Rooms are huge, with fridge, decent tv, and very clean. Not a fan of bugs and insects so checked when I got there and saw none the entire stay :)

When booking we were allocated a room close to reception so I had no issues with steps as some people below did, reception is up one flight of stairs but that was all I climbed each day- though there were a few higher up so if steps are a problem I would just ask for a room lower down, staff were accommodating.

Location- 5 mins walk from the action, 10 mins from the beach. This was perfect for us as quiet but closeby, however you do need to walk down a sidestreet for 100-200m or so to get here and not sure I wouldve liked this walk at night alone as it was very quiet. Felt perfectly safe with 2 people however and during the day was pretty busy street. Poo garden is mentioned a lot below....basically on the side street there is an old waste treatment plant that's been turned into a beautiful garden, and yes, it stinks. Wasn't sad to see it go but walking past it a couple of times a day wasn't an issue. Smell didn't reach bungalows, just made the walk a but unpleasant!

Would recommend staying here, while it wasn't perfect for the price range it was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemcg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 147 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our room was nice, the pool was nice, but overall it seemed over priced. We moved after two days to a guesthouse in town at less than half the price. It was nice to not walk past the sewage treatment plant anymore.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierrasclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We booked a room after having seen very convincing pictures of bungalows on the beach. We arrived at Phi Phi harbour and were met by staff who took us on a 10 minute walk away from the beach and further into Tonsai town (the main town - shops, tourists, restaurants). We then walked passed a sewage plant that had cleverly been disguised with flowers and plants. I can only describe the smell as nose-burning and lasted for a good 4-5 minutes. In fact someone has cleverly graffittied 'Poo Garden' on the entrance sign to the sewage plant - which included a bench for people to sit (??). On the other side of the walkway there was a lovely view of rubbish bags piled high and a building site. So far I was confused - there was no beach in sight...we reached J.J.'s and checked in. We then began the climb - the climb which after 3 days of going up and down was to give me buns of steel. We seemed to have picked the room (you select your room when booking) that was furthest up the hill - typical. No beach in sight I was still confused.

The bungalow itself is one room with a bathroom. It has a little decking for you to sit outside on. The room is small but nicely decorated with Thai wooden wall features, a large bed, flat screen tv with cable, mini fridge and storage area. The bathroom is a good size and is good with a large walk-in shower. We paid 2500THB which was pricer than other hotels we stayed in and we got a lot less than other hotels we'd stayed in but Phi Phi accommodation is generally more expensive and not as good.

With regards to the beach, the website must have been old as it's since been updated. I'd seen comments about the original J.J's being washed away with the Tsunami but I don't know if that's true. Either way the bungalows are about a 10 minute walk from the nearest beach. That's not a bad thing as it means you're away from the absolute madness that is Tonsai. This is a party-goer's dream, European bars and restaurants litter the maze-like streets. It gets absolutely rammed when the masses awake around 10am and go in search of hangover curing fried breakfasts - which by the way you will see EVERYWHERE. Signs saying 'proper English breakfasts' are everywhere, be warned the sausage is 95% always a frankfurther. We actually stayed over New Years Eve and New Years Day. On NYE we actually did a day trip (read on for more details) so were quite tired and actually went to sleep around 10.30pm so missed all the NYE celebrations. The next morning we were up early to see the sights and came across some very dazed, confused, half naked, painted looking people - it was quite amusing. Oh definately look for a bar called Stones Bar - which is next to Hippies Bar - this is at the end of the beach strip, it's approximately a 10 minute walk from J.J. - you can ask around to be pointed in the right direction - it is a beautiful beachfront bar.

To be honest the main beach - the one 10 mins away, Loh Dalum, isn't that amazing and you'll probably be looking at doing day trips to the other more prestine beaches, like Maya Bay - the one from the film 'The Beach' (by the way you can get a brilliant day trip to 5 bays including Maya, lunch, snokelling and kayaking kit for 500THB per person with Blue Skies tours - bargain. You can book these day trips anywhere - there are tour operators everywhere).

If you do want a beach front hotel then you MUST stay on Long Beach at the Paradise Pearl Hotel. It's obviously a little more pricey but it's on Long Beach which is far nicer that Loh Dalum. However you do need to take long boats to and from Tonsai if you want to get in on that party action, boats cost around 100THB per person each way and it only takes 10 minutes. If you want to stay in Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort. This is literally 100 metres away from the Pier and right in the centre of Tonsai but the hotel looks fantastic and it has a lovely pool. Obviously you will pay higher prices but the hotel is so much nicer and there's a restaurant and that lovely pool.

I wouldn't go back to J.J Bungalows - only because I will just pay a little bit extra and stay somewhere with a pool. Also those stairs and walking through Poo Garden every day was just a killer. I'm not saying that it's not a good accommodation as the staff are really nice despite their limited English then try to help. I would recommend J.J's for backpackers and people travelling on a strict budget.

Oh FYI Phi Phi island is covered in cats - this is no exaggeration, there are cats literally everywhere. Walking down a short street you will see around 30 cats - no joke. So if you have allergies or just don't like cats then maybe think about staying in Long Beach and visiting Tonsai (you wont be missing much). However if you're a cat lover, like me, then get yourself a hotel room in Tonsai and pack some anti-bacterial gel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLittleWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We booked this hotel from phuket after reading the reviews on here.
Very friendly staff,big rooms and only a few minutes walk from the beach/nightlife.
People have complained about the smell from the sewarge works when walking past but its not that bad.
Not ideal if you;ve got problems walking as the bungalows are up very steep flights of steps

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had initially decided to book for 1 night in JJ Bungalows just to have somewhere when we first arrived in Phi Phi, then we intended on looking around and checking into somewhere else (if we could find somewhere better) for the next 3 nights. But we ended up staying in JJ for the 4 nights.

The rooms are spacious with a big TV and bathroom, fridge with water everyday and a nice balcony to sit on. The first night we did have some problems with mosquitos - they were everywhere outside the room buzzing round the lamp - literally hundreds - then we found that there was a gap in the window and they were coming into our room, but we grabbed our stuff and ran down to reception and they put us in a new room straight away which was much better!!

We didn't have much interaction with the staff but they were friendly and smiled and said hello everyday and always did a great job cleaning our room.

As previous reports have said it is a good location in that it is far enough away from the bars so you can get a decent nights sleep, but it is bad in that you have to walk past the sewerage point every day but this doesn't affect the room as there is no smell there.

Phi Phi is a gorgeous island, we had a great few days there joining in with the backpackers and partying, watching the Thai Boxing and chilling out on the beach in the day. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travelCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

This was such a great place. We arrived on Phi Phi with nothing booked but a vague idea of area we wanted to stay. We passed JJ's and hubby decided to have a peek. He came back impressed. We looked at another place ad then came back. Good decision! The girl on reception was so kind and helpful, gave us map and advice straight away. We got a large room for 800 bhat.

Great value for the island. The room and bed were huge! Nice new large TV with cable, clean and decent bathroom, air-con, 2 free bottles of water. Nice balcony area with seats. Yes there are cheaper rooms to be found on the island but I doubt they would be anywhere near as nice.

We had no problems with staff, as some other reviews commented on this. Yes their English is not great - but this is Thailand! We can make a bit of effort too! All the staff we dealt with were very polite, helpful and smiley.

Ah, the waste treatment facility - somewhere that must be passed if you want to get to beach and town quickly. Can't complain really as it's a necessary evil. Smell very bad for about 1 min but the whole thing is camouflaged with tropical garden so it's not TOO bad!

Ko Phi Phi is gorgeous, stunning island but we were shocked at the amount of rubbish on the main beach. worrying sign for future. The island itself was full of youngsters on gap years so sometimes felt like we were in Benidorm or Ibiza with the amount of drunk kids out of it on whiskey buckets!

The beach on the ferry pier side of the island is quieter and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I and my boyfriend stayed at JJ's for a few nights last February .
We booked a deluxe bungalow as the standard one didn't look very good on the internet site. And we weren't disappointed at all. The bugalow was great indeed : really clean, well-furnished and spacious ! It was situated on the top of a hill ( those steps were very steep to climb but a good exercise !), and just a 2 min walk away from Phi Phi Village but still far enough from it not to hear all the loud noises of the party town.

The staff wasn't very kind to us, they didn't even say hi when they'd see us, but this isn't really important, we have to bear in mind that people don't really speak English in Thailand but at least they're always smiling, unlike the JJ staff but oh well.

The hotel is located right next to a waste water collection and it horribly stinks in the morning when you have to pass through it to get to the town / beach. Fortunately you can't smell it from the hotel !

On the whole, I'd recommed the deluxe bungalow to anyone for the reasons I've already mentioned and for the price too, it's good value. On the contrary, the rest of the hotel looks pretty old and would need some renovatiions.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 64 in Ko Phi Phi Don
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#17 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $37 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing