We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible rooms, good staff”
Review of Harmony House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony House
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were hot and filthy and had cockroaches, not uncommon for Thailand but the outside of our room was like a garbage pit, so made you feel a little uneasier than usual.

The bathroom was the worst I've seen, filthy, flush didn't work properly, horrible stench.

Location was good but anywhere on Phi Phi is really as it's so small!

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and that was the place's only saving grace!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinsapede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We checked out of the first hostel because it was so noisy. This place was less noisy, but still quite difficult to sleep. I expect this is typical for most places on Phi Phi. the building smelt pretty bad, it was hot, but clean. The staff were pretty friendly and the breakfast is not worth getting up for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

we stayed here in January during travels. It was booked up for our first couple nights but we managed to reserve a room. we had a double room with shared bathroom. the room was a great size and the bathroom was always clean. there were 4 bathrooms in a row so there was always one free when needing a shower. its very sociable and the staff are really friendly and helpful. there is a safety deposit box which is a bonus. Harmony house definitely made our stay on phi phi island enjoyable!!! its fantastic value for money, 600baht/ night for a double

Room Tip: go the day before if not happy with the place you are staying. you wont be able to see the room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I believe we paid 800 baht per night for a fan room, including breakfast (well two pieces of white toast and coffee). Average is the best way to describe it. The room was really hot, almost sauna like. Bed was average, pillows were really poor. The smells in and around the guesthouse are not pleasant. The washroom was pretty standard for Thailand standard. Staff were pretty helpful though. Overall, this is a very average place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here Feb 2013.
My brother had a $300 dental guard in a plastic box. When cleaning the room, they threw out the box. Apparently the cleaning person viewed the small, glow-in-the-dark box that was on the nightstand the way someone might see an empty water bottle.
The staff is useless, surly, and incompetent. Their response was: someone is going to talk to the manager.
Stay here at your own risk. But be forewarned.

Room Tip: Rooms at different hotels have nothing to do with this staff, and therefore might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The worst service I have ever received from hotel/guesthouse staff in the whole of SE Asia!

Outside the rooms was a rancid smell that I can only describe as poo and sewage which had leaked into our sauna of a room. There were 2 fans that might aswell have been 2 radiators.

Due to the smell and the heat we went to reception and asked if they had any air-con rooms as it was far too hot. We were offered a room with one bed for 3 of us, even though we didn't want an extra bed they tried to charge us for the third person.

When we refused the room the lady called us crazy and said that no one had ever complained about the heat. Clearly this was a lie as it has been mentioned in other reviews and a few people who were also staying there said the same thing.

Baring in mind we had been in the room for about 3 hours they refused to offer any kind of refund or help!

Absolutely terrible service and I wouldn't recommend this guesthouse to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

i stayed at harmony house in february 2013, i had a standard fan room an was happy with it. it is basic, that's for sure, but the price was ok and harmony house is a great place to meet young travellers. if you are looking for something quiet make sure you take a room that is off the street, otherwise you will hear the party people all night :-) i have never tried the breakfast, as there are plenty of places in town where you can get a great breakfast. i really loved the staff, they were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.7 mi away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#26 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natacha Hotel
Natacha Hotel
#31 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#24 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#19 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony House

Address: 206 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $18 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harmony House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony House Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Harmony Hotel Ko Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing