We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for wild nature's lovers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Pen Rai Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
norvège
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for wild nature's lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you want to be in a lost and beautiful place, far away from everything, if you like to sleep in a beautiful treehouse bungalow above the sea, very clean and with basic comfort, then Mai pen rai is the place that your are looking for. This place is peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. Nothing much to do than relax on the beach and hike to the waterfall. The bungalows on the rocks are impressing. You hear the waves, the birds and your bathroom is on rocks. From your big balcony you can see all the fishermen's boats at night. Beds are big and very comfortable. The beach is beautiful and perfect with small kids. You can rent kayaks on the beach and take a trip around. And the restaurant is so nice. Dishes are generous and delicious. The atmosphere is laid back and relaxing. Last but not least, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
important advice: if you can, organize your transfer from the pier in Thong sala in advance with the hotel. We couldn't do it and when we arrived at 19.00, we had to pay the local taxi 1200bht as the road is really bumpy and difficult. With the hotel's taxi, it costs 800bht.

Room Tip: bungalows on the rocks are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flore-VNorvege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    81
    41
    26
    17
See reviews for
73
138
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights there and it was a great experience that I will do again if I have the opportunity ! Why an experience ? Because the Thaansadet beach is very far from the port (approximately 20/30 minutes by car) and the road is no longer paved for the last kilometers ! However, after this short "safari trip", if you are looking for a quiet and lovely place, Mai Pen Rai is for you ! The restaurant is on the beach with a very cool decoration and the food is correct (but quite expensive). My bungalow was on the rocks and it was amazing. View on the sea, large room and bathroom (cold water) with a hammock on the balcony. A very peaceful place, great for couples.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThomasFNLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Just over a year ago I travelled back to Mai Pen Rai Bungalows after staying there in 2000. I was so glad. This is a quiet, magical place and had lost none of its charm and remote splendour.
Simple accommodation beautifully appointed and great team of people running a funky, laid-back restaurant.This is the perfect place to kick back and relax away from everything and if you like….. everyone. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jontyh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My bf and I came here after meeting some other travelers in Thailand that recommended it as budget accommodation with excellent food. We got a secluded room on the rocks and I was impressed by the superb view and nice design of the bungalows. Thai bungalows are traditionally very airy - so expect a few bugs. The bungalow we stayed in near the rocks had a excellent view of the ocean, a mosquito net, a balcony with hammock, and a very large bathroom. The only downside to the room was that the fan was a tad week, but the bed was raised up so that ocean breezes from the window hit us while sleeping making up for the lackluster fan. The shower hose was also a bit off and wouldn't stay in place properly.

The food though is what really makes this place top notch. You are far away from the main city since you are tucked away in a park on a very rough road, making the kitchen here one of the few places to eat. No worries though, they have something for everyone. Amazing curries, whole fried fish in tamarind sauce, fresh coconuts, and self-serve coffee available at all times... (instant though, I mean, this is Thailand still). The service is also superb. The ladies working here work super long hours but none the less are always ready with a smile. They also have a small store and you can buy mosquito coils (recommended), candles, and a lighter for reasonable prices. The decor is also artistic and lovely.

The best thing to do here is laze around all day long. You can also book a trip on their flagship boat Orion for a day trip to Ang Thong or take a hike up through the park. I'd say this place is best for those a bit more adventurous because the power will go off for a few hours each day due to national park regulations on the use of generators. I'd recommend bringing some flashlights or headlamps with you. Also, this small resort is very practical. For example, when you take the truck from the port to the resort, if the resort needs ice - they will just stop to get it and put it in the back of the truck with you. This kind of stuff may bother some people who expect a more "Western" experience, but I promise you, if you just go with the flow - you will have a positively superb time!

I can't wait until I can come back. Oh, on a final note, the crowds for the full moon party won't bother you here. For the party, there is a boat shuttle to the party beach for those that wish to go. But other than that, if you stay at the bungalows during the full moon, you won't even notice that it happened.

Room Tip: The beach side rooms are a bit more noisy due to the crowds on the beach during the day. I'd re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

There is no doubt that Mai Pen Rae is set in the most gorgeous surroundings, and the food at the restaurants is delicious, but don't expect to do any day trips once you are here...it is very remote and organising taxis was difficult. Great if all you want to do is lie on the beach, but not good for those who want to do activities, and it is expensive to get to the Full Moon Party. The bungalows were more 'rustic' than we were expecting, with electricity only on at certain times of the day, but once you get used to this it is pretty nice.
Service at the restaurant was rude and slow. Always half the group had finished their meal before the others even got theirs, although good service is hard to find in Thailand at these prices.
Value for money was good here, we were a group of students and found the food prices fair.
All in all, perfect for a secluded, relaxing, quiet beach break, but not for those who want to see and do a lot on the Island.

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow with a sea view to see the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magicalmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This has been one of the best if not THE best places we have ever been on vacation! We stayed for two weeks in the first bungalow on the rocks. The bungalow had an amazing sea-view and a couple of great hammocks along with a funky rock bathroom. The food at the resort was great and definitely try the Snicker shakes! They have a cool, relaxed vibe for anything you are in to, and it is a nice pace compared to Khao San road. We stayed two weeks, ate all of our food there and drank a decent amount as well, it was about 500$ in total, a pretty great deal! You may even see the local pig that wanders around the paths as well! The pad thai at the restaurant up on the mountain is the best of the three, and their Massaman curry is great, too! If you are around Mai Pen Rai for the weekend, go for the BBQ buffet that had whole barracuda, crab legs and loads of other great stuff on it!

Room Tip: The rooms on the rocks are a bit of a tricky walk at night! Bring a flashlight or stay on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

from the moment we travelled across the mountain road and arrived at Mai Pen Rai Bungalows - Fiona and the Staff treated us special. Our daughter and new son-in-law were married on the beach in front of our bungalows. The wedding feast was awesome and plentiful and the Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The flowers to set off the wedding procession were perfect. The restaurant had everything you needed from breakfast to dinner and snacks. Fabulous place to join with friends for a wonderful wedding celebration.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows were great but even those that stayed in the rock/cliff area loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMCQWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
2.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
7.6 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plaa's Thansadet Resort
Plaa's Thansadet Resort
#16 of 91 in Surat Thani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dolphin Bungalows
Dolphin Bungalows
#40 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
7.5 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#13 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Pen Rai Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Pen Rai Bungalows

Property: Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Address: Than Sadet Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mai Pen Rai Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mai Pen Rai Bungalows, one of the oldest resorts on Koh Phangan - the place of pleasure for nature lovers and Artists. For an experience of the old Koh Phangan, this is the place to come away and forget all the stresses of the outside world. Mai Pen Rai is situated in a paradise infringed with swaying palms, and green turquoise waters. Here at Than Sadet the bungalows are built in harmony with the nature around with prices to suit travellers and back packers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mai Pen Rai Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing