We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miserable staff, nice loaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Ranked #73 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Miserable staff, nice loaction”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location on a pretty beach with a nice pool and average but clean and large rooms. The staff however are miserable! Particularly the front desk/reception. They are resentful to guests and very unwelcoming. I actually spoke to the front desk about this, but they didn't even respond to me when I asked why they aren't friendly. They have been dumped on in the past from full moon party guests but taking it out on everyone. Its a pity as its a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa as advertised but taking out a kayake was fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heatherpozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    138
    128
    92
    98
See reviews for
68
239
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at Haad Yao Bay View Resort (29th and 30th September) and it was a pleasant stay.
Its a little far from the main pier and town area....about 20 mins by scooter.....but if exploring bays and beaches is top on your agenda, this place is strategically located.....you can ride all the way till the northern side and all the way down till the Haad rin Beach and beyond if u have the time and energy of course.

SInce its further away from the town centre, almost everything is more expensive - taxi rides are more expensive by 50-100 Baht one way, boat to surat thani, train from surat thani to bangkok, were all 25% - 30% more expensive than in the town area, the scooter hire was also 50 Baht more expensive than in the town area.

The Hotel is located in a very pretty Bay. the accommodation category we chose did not have a sea view but the hotel had sufficient beach chairs.
Food was Below Average and expensive! staff was OK.

We had only 2 days in Koh Phangan and we had gone there especially for the Full Moon Party and the weekend local market in the town.
This hotel was not the best suited for us, but we made the most of it :)

The massage/Spa setup by the beach looked quite awesome though we dint have time to try it out.

Keep Traveling !

Room Tip: if you are keen on a sea view, you should take a bungalow. The standard rooms are in a three stori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Enjoyed the few days in Koh Phangnan, hotel is clean and most staff are friendly and attentive. It is right on the beach and there is a pool. Barbecue at night is worth a vist lots of food for a modest price.
Be careful about being charged for the resorts taxi which may pick you up from the pier, tried to charge us 120 baht each and we were not told about that until we got to the hotel. Also if you book through an agent they may try charging you card even if you pay in cash or at least hold it as a deposit.

Room Tip: There are a little building works going on at the moment but it didnt disturb us much getting a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at bayview for 4 nights whilst on our honeymoon. We had a sea view room with a jacuzzi on the balcony. We could not fault the room. It was lovely with Thai charm and character, and a great view!
Unfortunately we found some of the restaurant staff to be quite rude. You could tell they were often smirking and talking about us in Thai when we were simply just ordering food or drinks.
Apart from this, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaplows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We came here after the full moon party for some r& r and it was perfect. The pool is gorgeous and it is located right on the beach. The rooms are lovely and spacious. The area is very quiet but the hotel was able to organise a boat trip for us. Great value!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights (supposed to stay for 2 but extended). We stayed in a bungalow, which was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony with amazing views. I agree that the staff weren't too helpful and the food is far from the best I have eaten in Thailand but considering the price, the views and the stunning beach we were more than happy with our stay here. We left Koh Phangan before the Full Moon party but went to Haad Rin for some of the parties leading up to it and found it cheap and easy to get there and back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LO10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel, yes the view is lovely and looks over the bay but the rooms are basic and the staff miserable. The staff are there from the morning till the very late evening so no wonder they are so unhelpful and unfriendly...
They did organise the transport to the Full Moon Party which was a good half hour drive away. The reception seemed to be doubling as a travel agency and so therefore don't really have time for you unless you are giving them money. If you're going to koh phangan for a full moon party for a few nights, don't stay here, it's not worth it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deano H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#67 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#40 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haad Yao Resort
Haad Yao Resort
#72 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa

Property: Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Address: 57 Moo 8, Koh Phangan | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a minute’s walk from the golden sands of Haad Yao Beach, this resort is surrounded by nature. Located on the island of Ko Phangan, it features a spa and an outdoor pool.Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa offers rooms with wooden furnishings and wall panels. Most rooms have a private balcony, where guests can sit and enjoy views of the sea. The private bathrooms provide a shower and bath toiletries.Guests can enjoy a traditional Thai massage by the beach or at the spa. The resort provide car and bicycle rental, currency exchange, and laundry services.The beachfront restaurant serves local and international dishes. It also offers fresh seafood specialities. Drinks are available at the bar.Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa is a 15-minute drive from Thongsala Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao Bayview Resort And Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing