We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK massage deck is more than OK”
Review of Salad Beach

Salad Beach
Ranked #6 of 70 things to do in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK massage deck is more than OK”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at salad hut, salad beach for a week and the guy at the massage parlour has magic hands. The best massages (1 per day). I have ever had.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    226
    104
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferntree Gully, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Haad Salad !”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My stay here was in June, and the tide does go out a long way, but, for me this is part of the attraction.There are lots of things to find , curious crabs, interesting shells, small fish, and so on.
The sand is soft and white, and the sunsets amazing!
I enjoyed watching the fishermen returning with there catch of the day.
Also it is so nice to be able to be right on the seafront without any roads to cross, and no hawkers trying to sell things, just peace, bliss !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marilynjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice beach with enough places to eat and a good choice of accommodation something for everyone.Would highly recommend this beach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AllyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem reap
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful sea”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very quiet and secluded beach, the sand and the water wasn't that nice because of the coral, but it's excellent for snorkeling. Nice and cosy atmosphere at night, really lovely.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallins, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere but too shallow”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Before I start complaining, here is what we were told by someone who has been here in September 2011 (18 months ago): Nice beach, clean water, shallow but deep enough for bathing, the reef visible at low tide now, was covered by water,

I am assuming this has to do with the different season of travels.

However, when we were there, the beach was very very shallow for most of the day, the water was warmer than the outside temperatures and it felt like getting into a bath. It basically looked like the sea was missing a good few liters of water. The South side of the beach was muddy and cloudy and not inviting to go for a swim. The north side is of fine white sand but very shallow. I saw a good few people snorkeling behind the exposed reef so there seems to be things of interest. Lots of sea cucumbers around the stony bits of the beach which were fun to watch. Locals make a great effort to clean the beach everyday.

We stayed at the Cookies Resort, which has no direct road or path connection to the "village" unless you want to walk a great detour ;) The best way to get into the streets behind the beach front resorts, is to just walk through one. You will find shops, restaurants, scooter rental places and 2 or 3 ATMs.

Nice restaurants along the beach, diving places adn 2 or 3 massage places at the beach and lovely sunsets!
It makes it easy to stay in the bay and not move for days.
If you do want to leave an explore, transportation is quite costly I though. To visit the neighbouring beach Haad May Had, I paid 100THB for a 5 minute drive and trying to arrange a taxi back from there the taxi driver wanted 200! I walked back, took me 45 minutes and it was a lovely walk :)

You are better off renting a scooter for the day. It is cheaper and gives you more flexibility.

Over all it was not the nice beach I had hoped for but the laid back atmosphere, the friendly staff of Cookies Resort and the nice pool (not to forget the nice cocktails these guys make) made up for it and we ended up staying longer than planned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HannaSUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salad Beach also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Salad Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing