We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful setting”
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in a really nice clean room with a/c, fridge and tv. We payed 800 baht a night. We had booked a cheaper room but it was not available when we arrived so they upgraded us.
The food in the restaurant was tasty and the waiting staff were really warm and friendly.
The beach was deserted and clean. The beachside hammocks were the best and the wifi signal even reached that far.
The pool was clean and perfect for sunbathing.
It's a great place to stay if you want to really chill out away from the crowds before and after the full moon party.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 131 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2010

I was very happy with our stay at the Grand Sea Resort. Although the room we stayed in was basic, it was all that we needed and the air con was an absolute must. I was a bit worried about how far it was frrom the full moon party at first, however realised it wasnt that far at all. Also, a great place to be as the areas around the full moon party are awful and full on by day (dirty and extremely loud). The manager, Duncan, was wonderful and catered so well to all of our needs and answering any questions we had. The pool areas were beautiful, especially the new pool being built with the bar!
Looking forward very much to going back next year, all booked!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Had a fantastic time, beautful, lovely place.
Wonderful, friendly staff!
100% recommend to all. I have been now with friends and my boyfirend!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here for two night due to extending our stay on Koh Phangan. The resort was amazing especially the new rooms that had just been built (pricey). We stayed in the standard A/C room which was good but the shower wasn't great as the shower head was broken and it felt like being hit with hail stones. otherwise the resort is an excellent location for the main shopping and eating area (10 mins walk) and from the pier (10 min walk). Also the resort ran taxi's to the full moon party every hour which was only 20 minutes away in the taxi. The best part of the hotel was the pool area where we spent a lot of our time. The beach is not great here as it is not cleaned and the tide was very low while we were there.

Do

* Describe the service you experienced
* Tell us how you liked the room
* Talk about the location & amenities
* Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

the grand sea was an incredible place. everything about it was grand. the location, the people, the service, the food - you name it, it was as much as i could have wanted for being on a tropical island. duncan, the manager we associated with the most, was quite possibly the nicest, coolest, and most hospitable person you could ever meet.

not only do i recommend coming back here, i plan to return myself as soon as i'm in thailand again.

please please spend some time here, i promise you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

If your heading to Ko Phangan and looking for good accomodation with swimming pools, helpful staff, lovely restaurant and seperate bar, this is definately worth a look.
This resort is near Tongsala and easily accessible by taxi or motorbike to the more "party areas" of Ko Phangan.
If you are heading here in low season and the resort is not busy, it is worth asking for a discount on the rooms, they are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkin_fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

On our arrival at Grand Sea we were impressed with the beauty of the resort, the initial greeting and first appearance of our room. Sadly after a day our impression started to change. Our beautiful beach side bungalow (an expensive room) had cobwebs, the fridge needed adjustment to work properly, the shower leaks onto the floor if you point incorrectly and the service faded with each day. Pillows and towels disappeared and often they had run out and were unable to supply replacements. The sea view restaurant was a place we learnt to avoid and on our last night a singer played electric guitar until the early hours outside our room without any prior notice. The lovely pool is so full of chemicals it is unpleasant to swim. Prior correspondence with them confirmed inexpensive Wifi in the room, which was not the case on arrival. The staff have little if any english skills and do not care to assist you if they can avoid it with "sorry, no" Final check-out is sloppy and unprofessional, especially bearing in mind their intended market attracted by their 3 star rating. (Which I expect will be altered on their next audit)
Grand Sea is a stunning location with lovely bungalows and buildings let down terribly by the service, or lack of it. We had intended to stay a month but changed resorts after 13 days. Our replacement is everything we imagined and we wish we had started our vacation here. If you do choose to stay at Grand Sea, I suggest you look carefully at the location of the bungalows and choose one well away from the beach front bar unless you enjoy loud street music until the early hour.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohemian_shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#57 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#42 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $26 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing