We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pool and beach but not value for money”
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights during the full moon party, the location isnt great although it’s only 100 baht per person by taxi to Had Rin where the FMP is, personally I'm afraid of the roads over there so I didn’t like the journey up and back. I would rather stay a bit closer next time. The grounds had lovely Thai houses to stay in (from outside), the room was very basic and bathroom was just ok. The hotel has 2 pools, one just in front of the beach with amazing views so cant complain. We were kept awake one of the nights though from the next resort along the beach. The breakfast was terrible, worst during our 16 day trip, they give you a ticket which you have to tick the items you want. You have 3 options, orange, pineapple or tea (I chose pineapple but as they hadn't got any they tried charging me so I had water), next option is ham, sausage, bacon (no ham, bacon was horrible and sausage was just as bad) last option scrambled or fried egg (all horrible) and that was it. They had cereal, and waffles and other nice things but they were all extra and this was the most expensive place we stayed we didn’t expect this. I wouldn't stay again because, location, room, food, no pc's for internet and to phone long distance is robbery compared to the town. They say they will bring you down to the full moon party every hour, so we assumed the lift was free but when we tried taking the lift they told us it would cost us 250 baht each, we said no walked outside and got a taxi for 100 each!! Another thing is I emailed them to arrange pick up from pier but they didn’t even reply.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I very much liked the Grand Sea. It had everything you need including a private bungalow right on the edge of the ocean. Quiet and peaceful. And a short walk brings you right into the town of Thong Sala where the market food is fantastic good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights around the Full Moon Party so the prices were higher than average. However the Grand Sea Resort was not an aspirational hotel like the Santhiya were we spent the previous 3 nights. Even though the price was cheaper I would not consider the GS better value. The staff did contact us before hand to arrange for pick up from Thong Sala pier and also brought us back when we left, free of charge. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but did not make up for a somewhat disappointing stay. We were upgraded to a spacious pool view bungalow and we used the pool a lot because the beach was too shallow for swimming. It looks nice in photos, but walking down the beach we found many broken bottles and litter. Disappointing for our stay on a tropical island. The breakfast and snacks were ok, but for better and cheaper food head towards the Night Food Market in Thong Sala town. I would recommend staying on a nicer beach, since the island is not so big to get around.

Room Tip: Better to choose a nicer beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlogGrandVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was the by far the most expensive accommodation on our two weeks of island hopping so we were expecting something great. Unfortunately the room was a dissapointment. It was very basic, not very clean and the TV reception was bad. We had breakfest included in our stay but didnt even bother with it the second morning. We were given a piece of paper and we had to tick a box for what drink we would like, what eggs we would like and what meat we would like... the choice was poor and it made the hotel look really greedy. Receptionist was nice and helpful though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed here for two nights around the full moon party. When we arrived i thought we were in for a treat as the resort is truly stunning with two swimming pools and a small, but beautiful beach at our door step. Unfortunately the room did not live up to our expectation. I would like to stress that there was nothing wrong with the room but it was extremely basic for the price we paid. (1700 baht per night) It was clean and airy but not worth the money we paid. The price was obviously hiked up due to the full moon party so i would recommend that anyone looking to venture to Koh Phangan for the full moon party, book your accommodation in advance.
The staff, however, were extremely helpful as they booked ferry tickets for us (and dropped us to the pier for free) they also helped arrange transport to the full moon party for us and helped us with renting scooters.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoifemcbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed in poolside room for 4 nights and ended up extending our stay! Had 2 large pools, one at the front with a sea view and the other at the back (poolside rooms look onto this one). Both were very clean and a welcome relief from the heat! Small clean beach in front of the resort with good swimming in the sea (the water is so warm!). Although near Thongsala you can't see the port from the beach yet it's only a 15 minute walk into town.

Loved it at grand sea, would definitely stay again.

Tip: if your budget can stretch, I would book the bungalows as they are in traditional Thai style and look gorgeous

Food in restaurant excellent (fried rice especially good). Great customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leanne_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

After 3 weeks of travelling around southern Thailand we spent our last two nights him Thailand here as we wanted to get an early ferry and also wanted to see the night street market in Thong Sala. We left an awesome beach and Hotel In Haad Yuen to stay here. In hindsight we should have stayed at Haad Yuen. Thong Sala is pretty boring compared to other parts of Ko Phangan. We enjoyed staying at the Grand Sea Resort. We booked the two big beachside bungalows and they were large, clean and very comfortable. The pool is nice, the beach is very average (you need to walk out 300 meters or more to get to water above your knees!!) The staff at the Grand Sea were very pleasant and helpful but the restaraunt was average at best but acceptable. We were stating during a quiet period. The resort was nearly empty.
We had an nice time staying here but it wasn't our favourite on KPG. Whilst staying here we did the elephant safari. We wish we hadn't as we felt that it was taking advantage of the elephants. The seemed to be treated ok but its a fake environment for them to live and it exploiting them so a few tourists can ride an elephant. We would boycott the elephant rides in the future.

Also the staff at The Grand Sea resort were very helpful especially the guy who drove us into town and would pick us up. He was a great guy (so was him family). Thank you

We wouldn't stay here again yet we did have a nice stay here. There are just nicer places elsewhere on KPG

Room Tip: Book the large beach front bungalows. On the left side of the pool as you are facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacking2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#46 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
6.3 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#29 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
184 reviews
4.1 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#77 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $35 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing