We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff. Very supportive during a terrifying experience”
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Experienced a horrible few days in the South of Thailand in the floods that hit in March 2011. After several days at a cold wet ferry port waiting to get off the island, a young male from the hotel staff offered a clean room with electricity for a cheap price. They provided us with free transfer to and from the hotel in their own 4x4. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were great for the price. A big thank you to all the staff that supported us (special thank you to a young Chinese worker with glasses who I believed to be the assistant manager), and kept us updated with weather reports on an hourly basis. Great pool and bar area.... would love to go back and see it in its beauty.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2011

I throughly enjoyed my stay of 6 nights as the Grandsea Resort and would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldkotr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed for four nights in early February and were very happy with Grand Sea overall. At first the Rooms we were given seemed fairly basic and spartan, but were really quite nice. The Resort has a new section but it is strangely built with a lot of stairs and fairly dark, but has the sun on it all day so rooms are very hot. Thankfully we were in one of the older bungalow type rooms with just a short walk to the lovely restaurant and beachside pool area. Sunsets were stunning, picture postcard stuff.
Staying with elderly relatives, we were very happy in all respects. The pool was beautiful, relaxing and the restaurant served very good food, although at times they were stretched and orders took a while, even though the resort was not very busy. Breakfast was really good and the selection pleased everyone in my family.
The beach is not so good, however by walking round the corner, only 100m away is the most beautiful undisturbed beach for peace and quiet. Walking the opposite direction finds a few good beach restaurants where one can obtain very cheap good food every night.
The Resort is approximatley 15 mins flat walk from the town and Taxis pass by which can be hailed and used for 50 baht per person for the short ride.
Staff at grand sea are excellent, the Resort may not be the best, however, for peace, relaxation and good service, it will take some beating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in a really nice clean room with a/c, fridge and tv. We payed 800 baht a night. We had booked a cheaper room but it was not available when we arrived so they upgraded us.
The food in the restaurant was tasty and the waiting staff were really warm and friendly.
The beach was deserted and clean. The beachside hammocks were the best and the wifi signal even reached that far.
The pool was clean and perfect for sunbathing.
It's a great place to stay if you want to really chill out away from the crowds before and after the full moon party.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I was very happy with our stay at the Grand Sea Resort. Although the room we stayed in was basic, it was all that we needed and the air con was an absolute must. I was a bit worried about how far it was frrom the full moon party at first, however realised it wasnt that far at all. Also, a great place to be as the areas around the full moon party are awful and full on by day (dirty and extremely loud). The manager, Duncan, was wonderful and catered so well to all of our needs and answering any questions we had. The pool areas were beautiful, especially the new pool being built with the bar!
Looking forward very much to going back next year, all booked!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Had a fantastic time, beautful, lovely place.
Wonderful, friendly staff!
100% recommend to all. I have been now with friends and my boyfirend!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed here for two night due to extending our stay on Koh Phangan. The resort was amazing especially the new rooms that had just been built (pricey). We stayed in the standard A/C room which was good but the shower wasn't great as the shower head was broken and it felt like being hit with hail stones. otherwise the resort is an excellent location for the main shopping and eating area (10 mins walk) and from the pier (10 min walk). Also the resort ran taxi's to the full moon party every hour which was only 20 minutes away in the taxi. The best part of the hotel was the pool area where we spent a lot of our time. The beach is not great here as it is not cleaned and the tide was very low while we were there.

Do

* Describe the service you experienced
* Tell us how you liked the room
* Talk about the location & amenities
* Say what you liked best & least

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
Baan Busaba Hotel
Baan Busaba Hotel
#56 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
180 reviews
2.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $26 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing