We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaloklum Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
$82
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
$147
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Cove Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$40
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Hill Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$61
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maehaad Bay Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$85
$76
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Havana Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$71
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
10
12
12
14
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
12
12
14
27
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 75 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in November for 4nights we had a great time here Barr the weather but that couldn't be helped the location of the hotel is wonderful and some of it was a work in progress when we were there so it will definitely only get better!!
The manager Chris was a great guy with good ideas on the place he helped me and my girlfriend out a lot and nothing was too much even when I dislocated my shoulder at the full moon party he took me to the hospital of his own accord and waited for me to have my treatment and brought me back!! (If you read this Chris thanks again mate!!) all in all I loved Thailand and this is a great place to stay with the best management!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramsay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spend a six nights at Chaloklum Bay Resort in mid-January 2014. Chris, the manager, met us at reception and checked us in. He gave us the five minute tour of the resort, restaurant, pool, bar, beach & sea! Its only a two minute walk from reception to the beach passing the restaurant, pool and bar on the way.

Chris showed us to our room. We were upgraded free of charge from our booked room to a superior room. The balcony outside the room had a sea view and wooden furniture. The bed was large and comfy. There was a TV, A/C, fridge, desk, dressing table and bedside cabinet in the room. The bathroom was western style with pebbles in the shower for a foot massage a the same time! The room are spread around the resort in raised bungalows so there is quite a bit of privacy in your bungalow, but it was only a short walk (maybe fifty meters) to the main area of the resort where the pool, restaurant and bar are.

The beach next to the resort was nice. It was protected by a breakwater so there was just a gentle lap of the sea on the sand. A five minute walk up the beach is unprotected so there are larger waves there if that's your thing. The wind was mostly Northernly while we were there so the kite surfers were surfing just off the beach, it's really cool to watch.

The restaurant served both western and Thai dishes. We tried both while we were staying and they were excellent. The included breakfast is served buffet style and offered both continental and cooked options as well as tea, coffee, juice and fruit.

We pestered Chris all week with questions about where to go, what to see and to book stuff for us. He was always charming and never failed to deliver. All his recommendations were spot on, but I suppose that's what happens when you've been on the island for a while.

We had only originally booked four nights, but were so impressed with the island and the resort we stayed a further two nights. It's a secluded, quiet and relaxing resort. We're very happy we stayed here.

Room Tip: We booked the standard room, but got a free upgrade to a superior room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaftDuck22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Keep away from this place. They might virtuously cheat you if you get the shed that they call "a house with two bedrooms". You may not see it inside before you pay full amount in advance, as it is kind of "occupied now", but when you do and get in on the day agreed, you'll run out of it.... with a very small chance to get your pre-payment back. They will charge you for few nights at highest misterious rate that has no any reason or written confirmation.

If you decide to stay, you will live in a creature of dark art. The gloomy dark shed you got has no windows, just wooden window doors that can't be locked - they easily opens from outside. It has no ceiling - just concreete walls and raw triangle beam roof full of wholes. It is full of insects and mosqitos because you can't close nor isolate the "house", and sonically you'll live on a street. Beds has rather decorative destroyed mosquitos nets with wholes. There's only one small ruined cupboard in ex-soviet style. Shed is located behind the main restaurant kitchen - all the sounds are with you. The staff is owesome - we even didn't get the keys.

We've made a stupid mistake and paid 18.000 for two weeks as an advance. It was too late to reject it and quit the same day we checked in - resort's staff was not able to discuss it. Next morning they faced the fact that they will return just 6.000 saying this is an exception and no one return payments on the island. We didn't call to police because the piece of paper we got before has "not refundable" mark - we didn't notice that before, as they took pre-paiment very quickly and in a very pleasant manner, very opposite to what happened next.

It is first time to me when I have to write negative feedback, after many routes in India and Asia during last ten years. First time ever.

Thanks for reading, and be awared.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank vitalbesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaloklumBayManager, Manager at Chaloklum Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

This Review has nothing to do with Chaloklum Bay Resort. Their are houses for rent in the area which stipulate entirely different Cancellation Policies from a standard resort that supports bungalows on a per day booking system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been backpacking through thailand together, me and three friends. Wound up at Chaloklum by chance. Rooms are clean and cheap, and right there on the beach with an excellent pool. The man who runs it is a king. We showed up very tired and by the time we woke up the town was a little dead on a sunday, but he drove us into town and set us up at a bar. Real friendly, real great resort.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ryandowdle651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A very peaceful resort located in a bay with a wonderful view.Excellent bungalow with all facilities.Able to rent a bike there,and was greeted with a smile by the resort manager.Overall i would recommend this,good food and drinks ,and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews