We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going back for the 4th time in 18 months”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 130 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going back for the 4th time in 18 months”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I try to divert my return trip home from Europe to Koh Phangan as often as possible and I always stay here at Blue Ocean. It is by far the best value accommodation on the Island and if you're lucky enough to spend time in this corner of paradise make sure you try their Mojito.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    49
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
249
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited this resort in June, low season by Thai standards, but everything was perfect. The resort i situated in NW of island on a beautiful beach, sheltered by a jungle covered hill from one side and beautiful tropical garden. We had a sea view bungalow which is very cozy with wooden furniture good climatization and most important very quiet surrounding. All you can hear is sound of waves and tropical birds in forest behind bungalow.
Beside great location, another big plus is very friendly and helpful staff, and Andy the owner who gave us great tips for exploring the island, and even took us to great jungle parties.
The place is so romantic that we decided to have our wedding on the beach, and Andy helped with finding wedding planner and made for us fabulous seafood dinner and wedding cake as a present.
Restaurant Dolce Vita which is part of the resort has a great food ( both Italian and Thai) so we had most of our meals there (breakfast is included).
We stayed for 2 weeks and were very sad when the time came to go back home.

Room Tip: Recommend sea view bungalows, great view of garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolaMilica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited march 2012. The location is very nice, Beautiful beach (child friendly) and the restaurant is great. We booked a deluxe sea view bungalow but we got dissapointed. It was very old, dirty, and a lot of ants in the bathroom. These rooms really need renovation. The Deluxe Garden bungalows on the other hand were very nice. So we moved to one of those. That was perfect. Another thing was we had our laundry done. But i forgot to take out my money, it was around 2000 bath. The hotel staff send someone to go get it but the laundry said there was no money. Although it wasn't a very large amount it was kind of dissapointing. Overall we had a very nice stay after we switched bungalows.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andyeboom, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, it's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our deluxe garden view bungalow and at the same time we regret that it has not been the same for the sea view.
I'd like to take this opportunity to inform you and our future guests that all the deluxe sea view bungalows were renewed in October 2012, the bathrooms have been completely renovated and we installed very thin-meshed mosquitos nets. Any way it can still occur due to the wild nature of the island to find ants in the bungalows. Our housekeeping staff during the room's daily cleaning tries to limit these episodes.
We are sorry for the episode of the money left in the pockets of the pants, I remember that I went personally to check the laundry shop where we deliver things to wash, but assured me they didn't find anything.
Thank you again for taking the time to inform us about your stay.
Kind regards
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I travel to Thailand quite often but had never been to Koh Phangan. With some trepidation we booked our room/bungalow ( the pictures always look better than reality). When we arrived my husband and I looked at each other and finally exhaled. We knew we had made the right choice. Andy, the lovely manager was ever so helpful with all our inquiries, he was very well informed about the island. The staff was very cordial, sometimes communication with them was more of a pantomime act but we all laughed about it and our requests were always taken care of promptly. Our room was lovely, the mattress was fantastic, the grounds were very lush and green and quite peaceful overall. There is a bar adjacent to the hotel grounds called Pirates Bar. We thought it was going to be real noisy but not at all. Super pleasant experience overall. The also have an excellent restaurant on the premises which you will love. It felt like you are in your own little private paradise.
Plan to go back this year again and hopefully every year after that. Just lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank SohiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andyeboom, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guests,

Warm greeting from Blue Ocean Garden Resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to write the review.

The pleasure is ours to have you stay here with us. This is the aim of BOG to ensure the guest feeling like at home and deliver value for money product to our distinguish clientele.

We will working hard to keep our cleanliness standard in this oven environment resort. I have addressed the issue with the rest of staff here and working for the best way to keep it up.

If your travel date is allow you to come and visit us again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With warmest regards,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we enjoyed the entire experience. 7 nights in a lovely room, just by the beach. The people were extremely friendly and helpful, the food was great, and Andy's insight into the island was very helpful with planning our daily outings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andyeboom, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Blue Ocean Garden Resort!

Thank you for your review of our resort. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and satisfied with your room, food as well as our staff hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Sincerely
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was easy and relaxing from the start. Andy the Manager provided prompt, courteous replies to my emails. We were travelling with our 15 month old son and they made everything easy for us, especially the restaurant staff who were absolutely wonderful with him. The food was exceptional and it was lovely to enjoy a glass of well priced wine on a balmy night with the sound of the sea lapping beside you : )

We were warned that the beach would not be the best for swimming at this time of year, both on the website and by Andy during our communications. Sure enough it wasn't the best in the morning, but reef shoes and a higher afternoon tide made it perfect for a sunset bathe : ) The grounds are absolutely stunning and incredibly well kept, lush and green. Just perfect for our little guy to run around. So much space, especially compared to all the other resorts on the beach which all look pretty hemmed in. There are only about 14 bungalows which makes for an intimate, boutique experience - which was exactly what we were looking for. It's at the end of the beach, romantic and child friendly at the same time. Without a doubt definitely the best place to stay on Had Chao Prao.

Wifi was strong throughout.

Thank you Andy and team... We love the Blue Ocean Garden!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharontje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
risi2611, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Sharon,
Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Thank you !
Sincerely,
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Everything about the resort was amazing, from the very friendly staff, the food (both italian and thai) the rooms, the grounds. It was heavenly. Andy offered to arrange a number of activities and had excellent suggestions.
The water was too shallow to swim when we were there, actually quite hot. But if you go out to the reef it is decent snorkeling right off shore.
The only problem with such a small beach is that it can lead uncomfortable situations with other guests, not the fault of the hotel at all. But there is no way to avoid unruly children, if they are there, or other guests that feel it is clothing optional. By no means are these deal breakers, we just opted to not spend as much time as we would have liked enjoying relaxing on the gorgeous beach.
Also at the edge of the grounds is the entrance to the Pirates Bar, we enjoyed a low key night there and was pleased that the cliff kept the music noise from our room on the other side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
risi2611, General Manager at Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Blue Ocean Garden.
We are delighted to hear such positive words regarding your experience with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at Blue Ocean Garden.
Sincerely
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paragon Spa Resort
Paragon Spa Resort
#1 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#4 of 130 in Ko Pha Ngan
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#13 of 355 in Ko Pha Ngan
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort
Address: 51 / 11 Moo 8 - Chao Pao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*CONTACT US DIRECTLY FOR AVAILABILITY* Established in 2007 under Italian and Thai management, Blue Ocean Garden is a beachfront resort featuring three affordable types of bungalows and rooms, and restaurant La Dolce Vita, serving Italian and Thai cuisine right on the beach. Facilities are a combination of Italian design and modern Thai style, which create a feeling of elegance and relaxation. With just few rooms, the atmosphere is always friendly and intimate, ideal for romance seekers and nature lovers. All facilities are built around a tropical garden slightly descending to the beach and treated with care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Garden Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing