We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triumph in the face of adversity”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 131 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Triumph in the face of adversity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We arrived at the Blue Ocean Garden as the worst storms in 50 years were building to their peak. Despite the extreme weather conditions, partial loss of electricity, limited food supplies and the bar being washed away in the night, Luciano and his team worked hard to make sure our holiday was as pleasurable as possible.

The food was delicious and varied (a mixture of thai and italian dishes) even when they were working with partial power from the generators. I especially enjoyed their seafood curry that was served in a coconut. Because the weather was terrible, we spent the majority of our time playing cards and backgammon in their covered veranda, so we sampled a good few cocktails too, which were nice. Even though the roads were flooded and the laundrettes were out of action, the staff still made it through to clean our rooms. As the storms continued ripping the islands apart and it became clear that we would not be able to make it off Koh Phangan in time for our flight back home, Luciano made us welcome for another couple of days, gave us a large discount on our room rate and kept us up to date with any developments. When the skies started to clear and the ferries were running again, he bought our tickets to Koh Samui, helped us book flights to Bangkok and gave us a ride down to the terminal. We weren't the only people he did that for, there were at least another ten guests who all needed help to get home. I can't thank Luciano and his staff enough for their stirling efforts. Many tourists had an absolute nightmare during those days and we definitely fell on our feet going to the Blue Ocean Garden.

The only thing we were sad about is that we couldn't see this beautiful place as it was meant to be seen: soft, clipped lawns, tropical flowers, coconut palms, smooth sandy beach, a crystal sea and cool, carved, wooden verandas. It would have been paradise. Instead, well, it was warmer than the North Sea and we still built a sandcastle.

Room Tip: Deluxe Bungalow facing the restaurant was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curleque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    49
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
40
250
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Had a truly great stay at Blue Ocean Garden. Friendliest staff, great management who directed us more than once to the best spots on the island. That is, if we weren't enjoying a freshly made iced fruitjuice on the lazy beachbeds on the white sand beach only 20m from our bungalow! Had more than 10 great nights of sleep in the new, fresh and clean beds and room. Very recommendable, after a nice diner, stay in and watch a movie from your very own bed. Relaxation guaranteed.

Think I made my point..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NielsCransberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We came to stay for 2 days and ended up staying 12...
- Very nice helpfull owner
- The best cappuccino
- Nice and clean beach
- Very nice rooms (we stayed in the superior), quiet aircon
Would definitely recommend going there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jantien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

my friends and i stayed here in feb 2011. Very nice place to stay on Koh Phangan, the beach is nice white sand and is not crowded. the sunsets are wicked. (Chao Phao)the Italian owner Luciano is extremely helpful. the food is home made and is supurb . sweet little tropical paradise that is out of the way from the crowds. free wifi is available. the tiny netbook we had sucks for picking up wireless internet but worked well when found a good spot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddog7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Very nice place with big garden. Delicious restaurant. Always helpful Italian owner Luciano. We really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boblincz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed at BOG for a week and the end of our stay we had very unpleasant or better said shocking situation. During our short beach walk, we met a very friendly and nice young dog, it was playing in front of other hotel. It started to follow us - in Thailand it’s nothing unusual, dogs there in general are very friendly, stay on the beach and like to accompany for a while. Although we ignored him, he came with us to our hotel beach. We sat for a while on the beach thinking it will come away. In the same time an Italian man /we don’t know who he was – maybe Luciano friend/cousin because he lived with Luciano in the same bungalow and every day took a black hotel dog for a walk, always on a lead/ noticed this dog, brought a black dog and set it free encouraging to fight. Everything in front of us. Although I started to shout at this guy nothing helped. The worse happened when this poor, scared dog wanted to hide and escaped to our terrace. This crazy guy came with a dog gain and the situation repeated. But that time I was between this 2 dog and was forced to jump over a terrace. He completely ignored me, didn’t care what may happened, that we could be hurt or bitten.
Watching everything all guest were shocked. At the end Luciano came, sad sorry and explained why this guy reacted in such way – that it’s a kind of protection against other dogs and garden cleanliness. After all we felt that guest and their safety is less important that garden and this situation completely spoilt the image of this place and our nice memories from Ko Phangan.
Other “-“
– breakfast is served (choice 1 of 4 or 5 options) from 8.30 – which is rather inconvenient when you want to leave hotel earlier f.e. for diving or any trip, and everybody arrives for breakfast that time which means waiting for your meal long time
- be careful – during breakfast croissant are served which are not included in breakfast- you’ll be informed and charged extra for them during checking out
- forget about snorkeling – nothing to see – because of tides sometimes even swimming is impossible
- Beach and garden isn’t nothing unusual – we stayed on Lanta in very similar conditions but less pricy
- Very simple bathroom in delux bung.
- Bedding wasn’t change so often as mentioned in hotel information

“+” cosy, not crowded beach

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABP_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

It's my third time in Koh Phangan and the one I enjoyed the most. This place is what I was looking for when coming to Thai islands: a beautiful clean beach with a living coral reef, a nice tropical setting, good food and comfortable bungalows. I agree the bathrooms may look a bit old fashioned, but I believe the beautiful wooden loungers on the beach with comfortable cushions are what you really need here. Wifi was very fast and reliable for a free service. Breakfast was very good too, with few options to choose from made to order and served in front of a wonderful marine landscape. The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. I am sorry my stay ended too soon and will be definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco_MoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
6.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paragon Spa Resort
Paragon Spa Resort
#1 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#3 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#18 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort

Property: Blue Ocean Garden Beach Resort
Address: 51 / 11 Moo 8 - Chao Pao Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*CONTACT US DIRECTLY FOR AVAILABILITY* Established in 2007 under Italian and Thai management, Blue Ocean Garden is a beachfront resort featuring three affordable types of bungalows and rooms, and restaurant La Dolce Vita, serving Italian and Thai cuisine right on the beach. Facilities are a combination of Italian design and modern Thai style, which create a feeling of elegance and relaxation. With just few rooms, the atmosphere is always friendly and intimate, ideal for romance seekers and nature lovers. All facilities are built around a tropical garden slightly descending to the beach and treated with care. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Ocean Garden Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing