We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly managment, scammed us.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Unfriendly managment, scammed us.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We paid an extra 300baht for the room with A/C. When we first checked in it was working, when we came back from a late dinner (around 11:30pm) it wasnt working. We tried absolutely everything to fix it but it just wouldnt work, so we went to the front desk several times throughout the night because we were SO hot and couldnt sleep, but no one was there. It miraculously turned on at exactly 7:40am. We did nothing.
We asked for our money back, and after an hour of arguing we got no where. They accused us of lying and being cheap. They said that there was no way that they could control the A/C. HOWEVER, directly after this we took a walk around our room and found a box on the outside that had the on/off switch to the A/C.

No money back, no free breakfast. These people were absolutely horrendous. Oh and the bathroom was infested with ants.

Recommendation: Check out Bottle Beach Resort. Its a beach further North on Koh Phangan, super secluded and amazing people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathirwinirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    27
    20
    12
See reviews for
19
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangybi, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this resort in February 2012 as we were attending a wedding nearby. We arrived at the port, on the other side of the island with prebooked transport by road. The driver collected two of us from the ferry then told us he was waiting for the next ferry and we would have to wait. We hung around for 20 minutes but whoever he was expecting did not materialise. He then transferred us to another taxi with a couple going to a different resort. The road was poor and deteriorated as we got nearer to the resort. Eventually at the entrance to the resort, the ruts were so large, that the driver gave up so we had to lug our own luggage into the resort. At the end of our stay, some friends who were leaving with a group had their luggage put on top of the vehicle. There had been some rain and the ruts turned into pools. Their suitcase fell off at the first corner and got wet. Be warned to put your luggage inside!
We had a small bungalow near the central pool. I avoided to pool as the sea was adjacent which I prefer. The bungalow was reasonable for the price we paid. It was small with a basic bathroom. The shower was rather temperamental, and it was either power or heat, but not both. One has to remember this is a remote area of Thailand and it was fairly cheap accommodation. There were fresh towels every day, but they were rather thin.

As we were there for a wedding, we were not overly concerned. The breakfast was basic with tea/ coffee and watery juice. The quantities of toast were also small. One morning we were too late but the restaurant was open all day. They served us, but we had to pay for it. We had some lunches in the restaurant, which again were average.
Next to the restaurant on the beach was a small roofed area offering massages. It was cheap and cheerful though not particularly relaxing situated next to the restaurant.

I would not have chosen this resort, except the rest of the family were staying there and we just wanted a cheap bed for the wedding. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the village, where we ate at night, but do remember to take a torch as the roads are unlit. There were several restaurants to choose from in the village as well as a variety of shops. Overall a low budget resort which I personally would not recommend.

Room Tip: Some bungalows had a beach or pool view which you could request for extra payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I expected so much more for a 3* hotel - if you can call it that! Where the 'Spa' bit comes in I have absolutely no idea! The room was very very basic and falling apart. The breakfast was awful and the dirt-track leading to the hotel is a health hazard at night with no lights and uneven surface. It's only redeeming feature was the beach location and surrounding gardens. The resort itself was beautiful but just a shame there is lots of building and noise coming from one section of the beach. I would definitely stay at a different hotel if I visited again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusBaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Phudawee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Look., if we knew the place would be like this, then no, neither of us would have ended up here. stranded from everything, only way to get around is via scooter, which, normally would be fun, if it wasnt for the 40 minute mud and clay. bumpy rock track to civilization...
Do urself a favour, dont do it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rater0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I visited Phuwadee recently with my partner and two other couples. All in all this is a great place if you want a basic but comfortable base during your stay. We visited all the other accomadation before booking with them, and they were the best value for money.

There location on the beach is fantastic, and what an amazing beach it is, the best we saw. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and we found the staff very polite and helpful.

All in all, I would book this restort again, but don't book if you are looking for luxious accomadation, as you get what you pay for. The pool is small, but who needs the pool when your located right on such a lovely beach. Very relaxing stay, will be visiting this bay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mische82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have booked through the hotel's website for a three night stay, after one night we have checked out.The owner was unfriendly, yelling at his staff. Breakfast was poor.The swimming pool was small, this was ok, but there was no shade, no chairs no towels. The rooms were ok, but we got rooms behind the kitchen although we had booked beachfront bungalows. The price was too high for what we got. The staff looked tired and bored. There was no holiday atmosphere.
The beach was stunning!
On our first day we walked along the beach to the Panviman Resort. Beautiful, friendly ( we were so happy to see some friendly people ). They offered us a special package ( we were there during low season october ). It included two nights in an amazing room with a view over the bay, massage, lunch and dinner, kayak, transfer by minivan to Thong Sala. After a quick calculation we realised we would pay less at this resort than if we would stay at the Thong Nai Pan 'Resort'. We moved the next day and we had such a great time!! Our two small kids had so much fun in the large swimming pool-jacuzzi, the beautiful beach and during the kayak trip.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#49 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Thongtapan Resort
Thongtapan Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suan Sawan Holiday Home
Suan Sawan Holiday Home
#99 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuwadee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuwadee Resort & Spa

Property: Phuwadee Resort & Spa
Address: Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuwadee Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phuwadee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuwadee Hotel Koh Phangan
Phuwadee Resort And Spa
Phuwadee Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing