We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude waiter!”
Review of Tommy Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tommy Resort
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude waiter!”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

First day in Ko Phangan with my friend. Had a lovely day at the beach and had breakfast and lunch at the Tommy Resort resturant. We went back for dinner because it had great views of the beach. I pointed at the spaghetti bolognese and asked for this but just spaghetti and tomato sauce...no meat because i am vegatarian. The waiter brought out a meat dish and i said 'no i didn't want meat.' He went back to the kitchen and then came back to me and argued with me for 5 minutes saying that's not what i said. He was very loud and rude in front of other people eating dinner and everybody was looking at us. He said i could have the dish for free (even though i don't eat meat) but they woudn't make me what i asked for!? When we left and paid for our drinks and my friends meal the waiter said, "next time go to the next resturant." Rude rude little man!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missditsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    67
    14
    15
    17
See reviews for
19
57
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Tommy's resort is a famly run hotel. The young manager Sutee is amazing and sets the tone for all the staff. Any problems and the manager does everything he can to solve them for you. (even getting me cough medicine when I got ill and calamine lotion for my daughter's heat rash.). Really nice coming down for a good breakfast and getting a warm welcome from owners, manager and staff alike. Felt really looked after by the manager and staff. It helped us fully relax because we were looked after so well.
Tommy Travel Shop very helpful and the ICE CREAM shop 'Dream Cones' has real Italian ice cream and wonderful real coffee.
Tommy's resort has a nightwatchman and a extensive CCTV system that covers everywhere on the resort. I felt very safe.
The swimming pool is huge and you have the choice of swimming in the sea. The resort is right on the beach and it was lovely eating meals looking out to sea.
I would recommend this hotel to everybody. I talked to other guests staying at Tommy's and found that for most of them, this was a return visit. People come back time and again. One man comes every year with all his staff for their annual staff holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Together with my wife I stayed three years in Tommy Resort in Koh Pgagnan because it was great that period I booked again. Unfortunately I could only book 5 nights because of Full Moon party so I did while I only wanted to stay four nights. When I came into the room the walls had mosture on the walls and the closets where at his end live time. Also the badroom didn't look clean. There was paid internet (not expensive) but it didn't work and after making notice of it they didn't compensate me. With full moon I read that there would be noise but I didn't expected that they would about 20 speakers of the size 2mx1mx1m 30 meters from my room. So till 8 AM i really couldn't sleep so after a few hours trying I went out again. On the other hand the staff was really friendly and did his best to give a good service and still the location is great. Also their swimming pool and restaurant with view over the sea is unique for that part of Ko Pgahnan. PS I had cheapest rooms so maybe bungeloo's are better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Job_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We were staying at Tommy Resort during the Fullmoon Party so we had to stay 5 nights and paid quite a high price. Since the hotel offers a free pick up from the peer we e-mailed in advance about the time we arrived. They told us to call them when we were on the boat, which we did. Apparently there are several peers and so they needed to know on which boat we were. We said the small boat called Ring Run or something. When we arrived, we searched for a someone from Tommy Resort but we could not find them. Eventually we took a taxi. When we arrived the reception worker said that they were waiting for us at the peer and that someone was actually still there. So we missed them. When we arrived in the room we were disappointed again. All tables were filthy, the sink was full of sand, the toilet kept on flushing and the closet could not open. Luckily the manager came to fix it straight away. He told us that it was due to the storm and he apologized and admitted that they forgot to check the room before check-in.
Eventually we had a good stay here but we just expected a little more for the money. The bathroom is a big disappointment. The shower works on air-conditioning power or something but we only had hot water occasionally. No shower curtain or whatever so the whole room was wet after taking a shower. We could not hang our towel anywhere. It was not really nice to sleep under two sheets wrapped around a woolen blanket. We never really used the breakfast, since we were partying every night. Would be a plus if they would have some understanding that party people which is probably their main target market, are waking up late. Anyway despite that all the room was ok, the swimming pool nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Loved our stay here. We had planned to stay next door at the Bayshore but found a building site there so stayed here instead. So glad as I loved the cute bungalow only 3 back from the beach and I loved the restaurant area right overlooking the whole of Hat rin beach. The room was spacious but basic. The bathrooms could do with an overhaul and the mattress definately had seen better days but as I spend most my time outdoors this didnt bother me too much. The tv wasnt fab either. Really what you pay for here is the location more than anything. We were here outside of full moon time. You can still here lots of partying down the beach into the night so dont stay here if you're not keen to get involved. All in all - loved it! Just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haysammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed in the pool villa. It was very clean and had 2 very efficient airconditioners. The staff are very helpful and even delivered a free birthday cocktail to our room. The pool was always clean. The restaurant was reasonable, but there are many restaurants within walking distance. If you stay during full moon party season be prepared for noise and constant partying. I'd definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

really nice pool and restaurant is ok. very good location and quiet at night but near to main bars. relatively clean. main draw is the pool.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank notjustahatrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#47 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Resort

Property: Tommy Resort
Address: 90/13 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nok Bantai | Suratthani, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tommy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tommy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Hotel Koh Phangan
Tommy Resort Ko Phangan
Tommy Hotel Ko Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing