We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Ko Phangan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Best place to stay on Ko Phangan”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Rainbow Bungalows has it all: quiet, peaceful little beach (which you won`t find often on Ko Phangan, party central), clean bungalows directly on the beach (good mattresses&shower) plus a wonderful restaurant with very reasonable pricing with direct view of the ocean. Martin and Noi are great hosts and have made my stay very comfortable and memorable. I highly recommend staying with them!

Room Tip: I had a bungalow directly on the beach and fell asleep to the sound of waves..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    45
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
23
143
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent three weeks at the Rainbow, and loved every minute of it. For people like us who don't like to party every night, the location is perfect, quietly tucked away between Thong Sala and Haad Rin. The bungalow we stayed in was great value for money, clean, and had a comfortable bed and a lovely view of the beach and ocean. The gardens and grounds were beautiful, much nicer than any we saw on the island. And the food was divine - everything we tried on the menu was delicious, and the prices were extremely reasonable. Finally, we loved the people there. In particular we'd like to mention Noy, who is lovely hostess and a wonderful cook, Mama and Papa of course, Jack and his impish grin, the two girls helping out in the back, Bong and her family, and the dogs Max, Wally, and Angie.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyPity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Best place to stay in Phangan, bungalows are clean and comfortable, the beach and garden are immaculately maintained. Noy cooks the most amazing food, the best on the island and possibly Thailand :) It is a little piece of heaven on earth, looking forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: go for the sea view, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here for two full weeks and loved the place. The food is amazing , the accomadtion and huts are amazing. Great value.I found all the staff very helpfull and was an amazing place to chill. If you want to find paradise , go to this place. I know me and all my friends will be back very soon. Thank you to all the staff and Martin and Noy. It is truly an amazing place to stay :) Dunny and lou and the gang will be back . Thank you Rainbow :) Dunny :)

Room Tip: The huts at the front have amazing views ! treat yourself, you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunny746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great place, simple, clean, very friendly, basically all you need. We travel all the world, atmosphere does it all! Specially Noi the lady owner, warm compliments for her. Richard (Holland), Nil (Turkey)

Room Tip: Family owned, blend in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

certainly the best location and beach, and the facilities were very nicely maintained, but the small details were missing. you couldn't open the windows on the most expensive bungalow on the water ... so it was either cook or use the air conditioning. no fan was available even though asked ... seems that would be cheaper to run than the AC. service was always tainted with an attitude of resentment, though i cannot say it was bad, i always felt i was intruding. perhaps martin needs a vacation to improve his mood. food quality and price was very good. we are dog lovers so this wasn't actually an issue. an alert if you aren't, you may want to avoid this place, as the dogs are VERY friendly (come up to visit regularly on your porch or at the beach) and they do a fair amount of barking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Four of is stayed at rainbows for 7 nights over New Years! It was amazing. The owner Martin is cool, has good banta and really friendly. His wife is the best cook in the world I have never experienced food like it. Sueperb!!! Location is great it's peaceful, however hadrin is a stones throw away... They have really nice dogs who greet you every night. Wally the rockviller is a proper softy loved sharing our toasties from the 7 eleven. You would be stupid not to stay here! We will be back. :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
4.0 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
744 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#18 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Rainbow Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Rainbow Bungalows

Property: Phangan Rainbow Bungalows
Address: Bankai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Rainbow Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows, beautiful private bungalows on the beach. We have no dorms, no penniless hangers on, and no tacky triple x pool parties. We are not on the road... sorry, if that's how you roll! Our beach is awesome, located between Thongsala and Hadrin, just a stone's throw from all the action, but not too close! We have beautiful wood bungalows, well built to western standards. With a wonderful garden, on a quiet private beach, it's chilled when you want it, and can be wild when you want it! Our WiFi is commercial grade hotspot installation, and services the complete local area. We maintain top notch security, (which you don't get in many other places), with two pedigree and highly trained protection dogs. They will love you like family. We work hard to provide our guests with a really friendly, family vibe. Excellent value for money - one of the cheapest bungalow operations actually situated right on the beach! Nearly everyone rates our efforts favorably. We are top 3% across the board, out of all properties (650+) on Koh Phangan for price and service quality. Our prices do not change throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Phangan Rainbow Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Rainbow Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing