We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked this place, great value”
Review of Mandalai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandalai Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liked this place, great value”
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We stayed at Mandalay with my husband in the beginning of January 2009, for 5 nights. Although the weather wasn't that great all the time, we enjoyed our time. We had booked a garden view room, but when we arrived to the hotel, we got upgraded to a pool view room. The interior of the room was very nice.

If You although want to be part of the party scene, prefere staying elsewhere, Chaloklum hasn't got any nightlife. If You want a getaway from tourism crowded places and want to see how the locals live, this is a good choice. Ok, there's basically almost no beach at the front of the hotel, but there was a very good beach at the end of the bay ( to the left looking to the sea from the hotel). The beach there wasn't that crowded, if you go there early in the morning, there's a big possibility of being on the beach just by Yourselves and the restaurant by the beach is ok too!

We went also to Koh samui and Koh Tao on our trip. The best part of our trip was in Koh tao and Koh Phangan, here at Mandalai. Koh Samui was more a place for package-tourists in my opinion, with loads of huge new resorts being built.

If we went to Koh Phangan again, I would like to stay a couple of nights at Mandalai again because of the great rooms, lovely restaurant (very good food (try the green curry here and the bruschetta for starters (its veeery good)). And the staff was very friendly all the time.

Here are a couple of things to do in Chalokum: play pool at the lost dog (i think that was the name of the place), there was about 5 ok restaurants, but we liked the hotels own restaurant the most. Walk to beaches nearby following the paled roads or just stay on the whitesanded beach in Chalokum (appr. 1km from the hotel). Take a kiteboarding course at that beach, lasts about 4 days.

  • Liked — The interior of the room, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Broken tap in our room, thought that the beach would be nicer right outside the hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank World__traveller33_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

fabulous hotel in real thailand. really cannot fault the mandalai. staff were really friendly and helpfull. we had a sea view room and it was perfect. a great view from our bed and bath! the hotel and chaloklum are both quiet, but what more do you want? if you want to be out partying then best to go elsewhere, but we really enjoyed seeing another side of thailand that hasnt just turned into rows of bars like you see in the mediteranean (or phuket!)beach was about 5 yards from our room and about 100 yards away is the clearest, quietest piece of beach we saw on our travels, where hardly anyone walks up and down. it felt like it was our beach everyday. as for the pier - yeh there is a pier close by, but we couldnt see why it could possibly be a problem. we would go back tomorrow if could afford to and could get the time off!!

  • Liked — location, quality room
  • Disliked — no option of 'pick up' from ferry
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stagmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

The hotel itself is a nice place but the location Ao Chaloklum is not. It is located next to the pier.

Rooms are nice.

But what is the best room worth, if complete environment isn´t.

No beaches close to the hotel and a rate of approx. 6.000 BAHT is more than tripple of an A/C bungalow on other beaches with a much better infrastructure and surrounding.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed here in Dec 08 for Christmas and thought the place was great. We booked a beach view room which had spectacular views of teh beach and sea. We were a bit dissapointed that the hotel would not collect us from the Ferry on arrival especially as it says on their web site that they do. The staff were very friendly and especially Saa who ran the restaurant next door where breakfast is served. We came towards the end of monsoon season so didn't get teh best weather and were dissapointed to find that the Mandalai boat featured on the website was moored on teh other side of the island due to the weather and so couldn't be used. The village itself is small but feels like a genuine fishing village. There isn't a great choice of restaurants. he food was good in the restaurant next door. If you're going to stay here we'd recommend spending the extra to get the beach facing rooms as the other rooms didn't look like they had much of a view in comparison.

  • Liked — Beach views and great rooms
  • Disliked — Misleading website
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.4 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
538 reviews
3.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
233 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#50 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#68 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#75 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalai Hotel

Property: Mandalai Hotel
Address: 61/1 Moo 7 Chaloklum Road, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalai, under new management has re-opened and was the first hip boutique hotel on the Island. The hotel is located in the heart of Koh Phangan's fisherman village in Chaloklum Bay. Superbly situated on the beach front enjoying spectacular sea views and surrounded by the necklace of mountains. Many outdoor activities are available. Restaurant and cafes can be found in the village and all over the island. Mandalai is a room only hotel catering for the full moon party clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mandalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalai Hotel Ko Phangan
Mandalai Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing