We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Mandalai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandalai Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Far away from the overrated full moon parties at Haadrin and Thongsala lies Chaloklum Village. The fishing port, beach, and town are set in a deep, lush, and protected North facing bay. The town itself is composed of a 1 kilometer strip of low-level traditional Thai shop houses, small restaurants, bars, cafes, and shops that line Chaloklum Bay. Just as the village has retained its traditional architecture, the traditional way of life has continued in this active fishing community. Squid boats work the harbor, fish dry in the sun on racks along the beach, children attend the local school, and the temple is still the center of village life.

Follow the link below for the full review

http://www.phoshizzlepei.com/2013/04/mandalai-hotel-chaloklum-village-ko.html

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoShizzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Mandalai Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked 12 nights through Agoda who led us to believe that this was a fabulous luxury hotel going for an amazing bargain price - from 250 us dollars to 38 per night !!
We were bitterly disappointed to discover a pretty but smallish room with no balcony, although advertised as a suite didn t even have a small table to take breakfast, nowhere to store our suitcases - we had them on the floor and had to almost jump over them, and the view of the sea hidden by the wall just a few metres from our window !!
This hotel is totally out of place in the middle of fishermen s huts stinking of drying fish and the pier just a stone s throw away. No pretty beach, filth floating on the surface of the sea in front of the hotel. On arrival no water in the room, when fixed only cold, had to wait again... No breakfast included and this is not surprising as they have no facility to serve it. The pint size swimming pool there to compensate for a lack of beach would hardly entice guests to bathe in it encased as it is between four close walls.
So although we felt thoroughly deceived and cheated the manager refused to let us leave unless he or we found a replacement guest. We were able to "escape" for 4 days and had to come back for two or make this a gift to the hotel. Needless to say this booking somewhat ruined a good part of our stay on Ko Phangan. BEWARE OF AGODA.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hedgehog293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Don't expect a four star hotel with all luxurious facilities. If you are looking for a quiet and peaceful environment you are definitely in the right place. Grate location with opportunities in overflow to visit the most lovely and not crowded beaches by boat. Just a few steps outside the hotel you are in a very small authentic village and the fisherman are bringing in the catch of the day. Lovely rooms and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithvdD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We' ve staied recently three nights in this hotel. Size of the property enables a familiar athmosphere, which we greatly appreciated. The hotel manager is a great help in booking some trips, organising taxi service etc. The rooms are big, the suites have even a whirlpool. Pool and beach access provided. You have to be aware of the fishermens' village location: the beach here is not the nicest of the island, however you have great restaurants (with sea view) with fresh sea food, and good access to all other beaches (Bottle beach, Koh Ma etc.)
Greatly appreciated the wifi, which you have also in the rooms (not always the case on the island).
All in all: great velue for money. If you are not looking for an all-inclusive entertainment but are ready to explore the neighbourhood as well, this is the best choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are not loud though fishermens' boots marine are just accross. Rooms are lar...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice people in beautiful hotel situated on the fisherman village. Big beds in big rooms, in a quiet street. I guess I will go back for sure! They have friendly staff who always found solutions for all our inquiries. Nice job to the new owners, you make something good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustforfunKohPhangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good hotel......in a sweet seafood village.....on the beach....nice pool side area....great and spacious rooms....very kind staf.....wi fi available....very good location...great seafood and italian restaurants just a few minutes walk away....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bojana12bgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just writing to warn people the hotel is closed. We went past the hotel late April and it nas a for sale sign on it 50-60 million baht I think is the asking price. It is a great location right on the beachfront of a beautiful fishing village. hopefully someone will buy it and do the necessary repairs.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Pilumitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
4.0 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#24 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
445 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malibu Beach Bungalows
Malibu Beach Bungalows
#74 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
Viva On The Beach HOTEL
#54 of 380 in Ko Pha Ngan
75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
#77 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalai Hotel

Address: 61/1 Moo 7 Chaloklum Road, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $50 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mandalai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalai, under new management has re-opened and was the first hip boutique hotel on the Island. The hotel is located in the heart of Koh Phangan's fisherman village in Chaloklum Bay. Superbly situated on the beach front enjoying spectacular sea views and surrounded by the necklace of mountains. Many outdoor activities are available. Restaurant and cafes can be found in the village and all over the island. Mandalai is a room only hotel catering for the full moon party clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mandalai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalai Hotel Ko Phangan
Mandalai Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing