We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service vs price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coral Bungalows
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service vs price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

First of all this is a cheap place to stay, especially when there no full moon party (400 baht a night with aircon for 1 double and 1 single bed). During a full moon party the price will probably double if not triple so be warned.
- Service is one of the things I missed. There "gym" is NOT a gym. I wasn't treated very well when I arrived, but I really needed a place to stay so I just let it go.
- They wouldn't take my drivers licence instead of my passport (pasport was for motor cycle rental) which was a pain to say the least.
- You have to pay for internet. A lot of the places have free wifi and this is a first one I paid for. It's pretty mush expected as part of the service, but coral refuses.
- You have to pay for pretty much everything extra, so look at the fine print when you stay here.
- These are really strict people, you'll see you can get a fine for pretty much anything you do wrong.

There are advantages!
- It's cheap
- It's a 15 min walk to Haadrin Beach (full moon party central)
- It's on a sun set beach
- Have have so called "famous pool parties"
- Staff in the restaurant are friendly, but the food isn't great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    83
    78
    39
    91
See reviews for
5
77
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

They charged us double price for a single bed, we had to call the tourist police to help us (of course, no surprise, they didn't do anything). The reception girl was really disrespectful. VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. The water's pool is disgusting and the beach is awful....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 617travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

.....but if you're in a grumpster you might not!!

I thinkj some of the negative reviews on this hotel are a touch unfair. Sure it's loud, OTT and a little shameful but if you're with a group of mates and you want to go to ko pha ngan to party and make a tonne of friends this really is the place for you.

The rooms in the main building are genuinely good, roomy and with comfy beds and enough sheets and blankets. The bathroom is basic but adequate. - Its all a lttile on the dark side but the only reason you would be in bed is to be sleeping off the night before so blaring natural light would be a nightmare! I did see a couple of ropey looking bungalows but just ask for the main building and im sure you'll be ok.

I went with one mate and I left with 7 new mates who we travelled reound the rest of the islands with. The bar and pool area are a little rundown but everyone is dancing on the tables, making pals and enjoying themsevels so the venue itself is irrelevant.

One thing I defo wouldnt advise is families to stay! Coral has a pool party at least once a week. You know that scene in Titanic when everyone has dropped off the ship and they are bobbing in the water screaming etc? This party is just like that - apart from all those people are also getting it on with eachother. To various different levels. I did think it a little gross but the whole area was absolutely spotless and the pool had been emptied, cleaned and refilled the next day which I was really pleasently surprised about.

In short - if you're travelling with mates and are looking for sopmething cheap - close to the action and also the centre of the action this is an absolute winner. If you're looking for more relaxed luxury then you can find somewhere better. x x x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JokeswithOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Rooms here are very average and expensive around full moon time but you dont stay here for the rooms. The Hotel has a lovely Pool and large restaurant area this is where most people spend there time. Food is very average in the restaurant but it is cheap. Its good place to hang out and meet people. Pool parties the few nights before the full moon are pretty crazy and great fun, 10 minute walk to the main full moon beach.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Some of these reviews make me laugh, you are paying 200baht for a room that sleeps 3 people (out of full moon time), it is clearly advertised as a party resort so stop complaining about the noise. I am currently staying here, have found the staff to be nice (if a little slow at doing anything), the pool is actually pretty clean (not sure what it will be like when the full moon kicks off but they are up at 4am cleaning it everyday), the food is pretty average but I have found that of pretty much everyplace I've stayed on these islands.

Yes a lot of it is geared around money, but everything is reasonable (wifi not so much - 100baht for 100mins. But just get a 3g sim card?), they give a lot of discounts for customers, hiring a scooter for 100baht a day is a bargain!

In short if you are looking for a quiet family resort you probably need to question your parenting skills for starters and secondly not be looking around haad rin, on the other hand if you are looking for a laugh with similar backpacker types in a resort that is geared up for it you can't do too badly here for 200baht a night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Voycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place is amazing what are you all on about!? Obviously if your wanting European standard spend more money and go to one of the big 4* hotels and not bungalows!

For me Coral Bungalows was prefect. The staff are so friendly and introduce you to everyone when you arrive. The bar serves all sorts of cocktails which are fun and the food is really nice too. You can get Thai and European food (and pizzas etc too). They play music in the evenings and there's the pool parties once twice a month. They set you up for the full moon/ black moon/ half moon parties too and provide transfers.

It's amazing I absolutely loved it! Wish I could live there and it's so cheap I practically could!

Room Tip: Well they are all bungalows and I think pretty much the same. Some probably don't have everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff were very cool apart from charging 1 of us for jumping in the pool after hours (forget how much but it was ridiculous). The rooms suited me - no bugs at all, the rooms are solid! Not like the huts you find elsewhere... Pool parties there are crazy and everything is a short taxi away, prob cost about 1e so its practically free. If you go when its busy you dont have to leave there. Wouldn't recommend it right after the full moon because it's empty and there's absolutely no craic to be had there. The 4 days before it though... thats a different story altogether!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpfitzge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#36 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
C Villas
C Villas
#144 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#38 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#184 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#44 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sojourn Villas
Sojourn Villas
#167 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bungalows

Property: Coral Bungalows
Address: 70/8 Moo 6 | Haadrin Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Koh Phangan Coral Bungalows Haadrin Nai)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral bungalows is ideally placed between peace and party. A 5-10 minutes walk will take you into centre of Haad Rin and the Full Moon party beach of Haad Rin Nok. A 5 minutes walk in the opposite direction will take you into an area of secluded beach and sea. Over recent years Coral Bungalows has grown in reputation as well as size. But still offer a very warm welcome to new customers. We also pride ourselves on the many regular customers and friends who have returned to us over the years and given us great memories. The things that make us difference is, we like to get know our customers and provide a personal touch to their stay in Koh Pha Ngan. At Coral we believe that friendly staff, affordable prices, good facilities and a great atmosphere has made your holiday at Coral Bungalows the unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Coral Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Coral Bungalows Haadrin Nai Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing