We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why so many bad reviews??”
Review of Coral Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Bungalows
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why so many bad reviews??”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place is amazing what are you all on about!? Obviously if your wanting European standard spend more money and go to one of the big 4* hotels and not bungalows!

For me Coral Bungalows was prefect. The staff are so friendly and introduce you to everyone when you arrive. The bar serves all sorts of cocktails which are fun and the food is really nice too. You can get Thai and European food (and pizzas etc too). They play music in the evenings and there's the pool parties once twice a month. They set you up for the full moon/ black moon/ half moon parties too and provide transfers.

It's amazing I absolutely loved it! Wish I could live there and it's so cheap I practically could!

Room Tip: Well they are all bungalows and I think pretty much the same. Some probably don't have everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    86
    83
    42
    93
See reviews for
7
84
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff were very cool apart from charging 1 of us for jumping in the pool after hours (forget how much but it was ridiculous). The rooms suited me - no bugs at all, the rooms are solid! Not like the huts you find elsewhere... Pool parties there are crazy and everything is a short taxi away, prob cost about 1e so its practically free. If you go when its busy you dont have to leave there. Wouldn't recommend it right after the full moon because it's empty and there's absolutely no craic to be had there. The 4 days before it though... thats a different story altogether!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpfitzge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during the full moon party. Rooms are very basic and aren't cleaned at all during the stay. Staff weren't very helpful or pleasant. When we arrived there was rubbish outside our room, we had to ask them repeatly to empty it. This 'hotel' is located on sunset beach and is a good 10/15 minute walk from the sunrise beach where the full moon party is. I would recommend travellers to stay closer to the sunrise beach. Pool parties are absolutely mental, it is free entry for everyone on the island and they provide a free taxi service to and from it so you can still benefit from the pool parties but stay closer to the sunrise beach.

Room Tip: stay close to sunrise beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SameSame_Different
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days during the half moon, and they had a promotion on the rooms. we paid 300 baht for a decent room. The pool was nice (although the water was dirty) and the restaurant was good with fair prices. So all together the place itself is worth the money.
That being said, in 5 month of traveling in south east Asia we were never treated so poorly. From the moment we arrived we felt like we weren't welcome. All the staff seamed condescending and aggressive. The whole place is covered with sings saying what you souldn't do or else you'll be fined. The kitchen closes at 22:00, but apparently 21:50 is after that. If you order a dish, and don't get it after 30 minutes, dont expect an apology and expect to be laughed at. After talking a few people there, everyone said they were treated badly.
Anything extra, aside from the room you'll need to pay for. The WIFI costs a disgusting 100 baht for 100 minutes. Plus you'll need to pay extra for a safe box.

In conclusion, its hard to say no to a 300 baht a night room, but if you come when the price is higher, I recommend you DON'T SET FOOT IN THE PLACE.

Room Tip: If there is a pool party in the next few days, ask for a room far from the pool as it goes on till t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Right on sunset beach, a 10-15 minute walk from the beach where the full moon party happens - this isn't necessarily a bad thing as a decent night's sleep can be had! The rooms are spacious but dingy and very basic. Shower is not enclosed. Massive pool parties every night in the pool/restaurant area. Good drinks specials. This is definitely the place to be if you're a travelling student! If not, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try stay as far away from the pool as possible - you'll have less noise at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Avoid! Don't go to this place!
Pros- Not bad location
- rooms good size - swimming pool
Cons - Pay for Wifi (RIP-OFF)
- full of loud mouth football chavs
-Most staff are very unhelpful - Everything at this place has a cost!! Watch out for them

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dukey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2011

After staying for 5 nights with my boyfriend we went to check out and were told we had to pay for a broken plastic table that was meant to be from our porch area. We tried to explain we hadn't caused the damage but they wanted 2500 baht for the damage when we said we weren't paying they threatened with the police or pay it. The oh so friendly staff (mainly Att) soon became very unfriendly and rude, laughing and saying it's not a lot of money to us, were English and telling our friend to shut up.

In the end we had to pay up as we would miss our boat (which they knew) and they would have called the police.

My advice would be to stay elsewhere for half the price and not risk being scammed (we weren't the only ones being charged for things). 1500 baht in full moon season for a prison sell looking room covered in glow paint is ridiculous and there were other places advertising for about 6/700. If you want the party atmosphere just go there for the parties.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
Sunset Beach Club Resort & Spa
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
C Villas
C Villas
#144 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pooltrap Village Bungalow
Pooltrap Village Bungalow
#194 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Beach Bungalows
Sun Beach Bungalows
#238 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune's Villa
Neptune's Villa
#40 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bungalows

Property: Coral Bungalows
Address: 70/8 Moo 6 | Haadrin Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Koh Phangan Coral Bungalows Haadrin Nai)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral bungalows is ideally placed between peace and party. A 5-10 minutes walk will take you into centre of Haad Rin and the Full Moon party beach of Haad Rin Nok. A 5 minutes walk in the opposite direction will take you into an area of secluded beach and sea. Over recent years Coral Bungalows has grown in reputation as well as size. But still offer a very warm welcome to new customers. We also pride ourselves on the many regular customers and friends who have returned to us over the years and given us great memories. The things that make us difference is, we like to get know our customers and provide a personal touch to their stay in Koh Pha Ngan. At Coral we believe that friendly staff, affordable prices, good facilities and a great atmosphere has made your holiday at Coral Bungalows the unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coral Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Phangan Coral Bungalows Haadrin Nai Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing