We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total rip-off, was threatened by owner with violence DO NOT STAY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phangan Great Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
Nottingham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total rip-off, was threatened by owner with violence DO NOT STAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

I stayed here with my fiance for a few days at the start of May, we tried other places first but they were full. The many touts at the ferry pier from Samui recommended this place as nice.....

We arrived and all seemed ok, nice pool, restaurant on the beach, etc but the staff seemed too full on and slightly aggressive especially when we were politely turning down their endless offers of tours, excursions, etc. My fiance particularly felt uncomfortable by the short but seedy caretaker called Tony whom always seemed to be around when she was near the pool or walking back to the room by herself, forever coming to ask if she needed any help !!!!!!

It all turned pearshaped when leaving, we had been careful with our budget and so made a record of the things that we had bought only to find on check out that they had added many many things, food, internet, drinks, most of them fictitious. They knew that we had a ferry to catch and so when we asked to see the signed invoices they deliberately took ages to find them (20 - 30 mins), and then could't find them all !!!! By now we were about to miss our ferry and so were about to walk away when the caretaker Tony appeared with a pool cue in both hands and was standing near the exit ahead of us, gesturing for a fight !!!! The other staff all took aggressive positions too, they had obviously seen this before !!!

We paid for the sake of being hurt with violence and vowed never ever to return to this place. All the happy touts will recommend this place since they get their commission regardless, easy money !! And so many new visitors come to stay each time that they don't care about bad press since it will not deter future business.

Our recommendation, please do not suppport these people any more and please stay elsewhere. Threatened with attack with a pool cue is not my idea of a chilled holiday, especially when they had added to the bill fictitious items !!!


DO NOT STAY HERE >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

DO NOT STAY >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifethedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    39
    32
    104
See reviews for
7
56
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We booked Great Bay while waiting at Surit Tani for the ferry to Pha Ngan, then felt sucked in when we couldn't find the beach in our guide book. However the touts on the boat seemed to think it was good value so we stuck to our decision - and didn't regret it! We were met at the pier by an aircon mini-van that stopped at 7-11 for beers :) 800 baht for a bungalow with tiled bathroom, hot water, air conditioning, bar fridge and TV. The bungalows are pretty new so CLEAN and keep the mozzies out. The restaurant does decent and well priced Thai food, and the bar on the beach is good for a laugh. We hired their bikes for a day to ride around the island which was great fun before heading up to bottle beach. Also has a nice clean swimming pool. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fretsy_penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed at this place leading up to the Full Moon Party Oct, 2008. The rooms and facitlies were reasonable but the staff and owner are atrocious !!

I would not recommend staying here at all and had I read the other reviews here maybe I would have taken note. The other reviews are completely believable since we experienced similar.

The owner (big Thai lady around 40 years old) is one of the most rude Thai people that I have ever met. I lived and worked in Thailand a few years ago and have a decent understanding of the society, culture and values, this lady was rude, short, abrupt, arrogant and very very argumentative. I do not understand why, she has a wonderful establishment. eg the prices go up a few days before and after a Full Moon Party so when we stayed for longer I asked when she would put the price down back to normal levels. She became rude, aggressive and very threatening physically and through other means. Speaking Thai to her eventually she gave me a normal price but only after 2 days.

Internet, the guys would charge from 5 mins before starting to 10 mins after. On 3 occasions I had to challenge the internet man. eg one time, I used the internet and went on at 9 pm (as based on the computer clock) and left at 9 15 pm. When I left I checked the times on his charge sheet (to go to the bill on checkout) and he had from 8 48 pm to 9 27 pm. When politely challenged he became embarrassed and pointed to the clock that he used, which was only 2 mins out ! I asked then if is 2 mins early then the finish time should be 2 mins early (how could the same clock be 12 mins early then become 12 mins late within 30 mins)....he was busted .......

Motorbikes, my friend had a puncture then paid for them to repair it (if you get it repaired anywhere else they will charge you $50). Repaired, it went flate again in 20 mins, he was charged again for another repair, for the same to happen again.
Thus he was charged 3 times to repair the same puncture that they failed to repair !!!!

Another friend had their bike fall over and a small scratch in the plastic bumper (fairing) became apparent, they charged $100 for a new fairing even though there was nothing wrong with it. He pulled out the price list of extorsionate prices !!!

The worst thing............

One of the girls fell ill and was mostly in bed for a few days. We came back early one evening to find her distressed that the motorbike man (Thai) had been harrassing her with unwanted sexual advances that were increasingly more aggressive. She was ill in bed and he was trying to gain access to her room to "check that she was ok". He explained that "he wanted to spend the night in the bed with her" to ensure her health and safety. Needless to say he became very aggressive when she told him to leave her alone !!!!


So summary of the place, ficticious meals being charged, overcharging and overtiming internet use, very aggressive and unpleasant staff and owner, overcharging and false damage to motorbikes being charged and worst of all...

sexual harrassment by staff followed by aggressive and almost violent behaviour....

with this, they keep your passport so you cannot re-negotiate ..



AVOID AVOID AVOID !!!!!!!


If you cannot avoid staying here, remember

check the price and get it in writing as you check in

check the internet time, etc when using internet

pay bills regularly to avoid big complicated bills

do not hire motorbike from them, go up the road (2 mins) and get one there

DO NOT STAY HERE AS SINGLE FEMAIL NOR REMAIN ALONE AT DAY OR NIGHT !!!!!!


Good luck, God Bless

  • Liked — Leaving for somewhere better
  • Disliked — Unwelcome and agressive sexual advances by staff (Tony, caretaker and motorbike man)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittravel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

It has been over 2 years since I stayed here with my girlfriend (now wife) yet I'm still compelled to say something.
Reading the reviews of others, I'm socked at how the complaints are the same. Wow.
We stayed here for a week and were having a great time - moped parking, wonderful bungalow room for 30$, nice pool, good access to Tongala town, etc...
But then, when we checked out, the nightmare began. We overheard previous guests YELLING as they left and this was a bit weird. Then, when we checked out we found ourselves doing the same thing. They charged us 80 cents per minute for internet, countless drinks that weren't bought, hidden costs on everything. Our bill was literally 200$ more than we expected. At first I thought it was around 20$ more (we guesses before we checked out) and wasn't very happy but let it go. Then I calculated the extra zero and my lady and I freaked. I don't remember much more except saying, "you (crazy aggressive 40 year old lady) have no idea how much us travellers talk and you will get the worst reviews." and she said, "we don't care about you. so many people come here for first time, we will always win. you two leave now!!!" it was demented and truly unexpected after 8 days of paradise and generally good service from her and her team. the sour taste left us so angry - angry enough to write about this 2.5 years later. wild.

  • Liked — Room, pool, location, mopeds, food at restaurant, laid back TV area
  • Disliked — Owner, hidden pricing and the lies.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuitcasedSoul_MGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

organised the accomodation when arrived on the island. lovely spacious bumgalows which slept four easily! nice pool on beach! the restaurant however-you'd find hairs in your food! they also put everything on a tab even if you didnt want it that way! they charged us for things we didnt order, if they messed up our orders and brought us the wrong meal they'd charge you for both meals even though you return it straight away! and since you pay off your tab on last day you cant prove they are charging you for items you didnt receive including items none of us had ever eaten our whole trip!
the worst thing was on the full moon there is a compulsary pre-party in the restaurant we were told for the set fee our dinner would be included, our taxi to haad rin would also be included and finally a breakfast the following morning would be included. they ended up denying they'd ever said this and charged us for the taxi and the breakfast. overall we were not happy with our stay here.

  • Liked — spacious room, lovely pool
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

We stayed at the Great Bay Resort in Thong Salat on Koh Phangna last April. We arrived the day of the full moon party and had accommodation here booked through Nice Place travel agency in Bangkok. Nice Place messed up and had booked us in the day prior to our arrival, which meant that we had to pay for our second night twice. This wasn't so bad, but Great Bay hadn't kept all of our rooms (even though they were already paid for) so we had to double up for our first night.
The resort itself isn't bad: the bungalows are comfortable and there's a nice pool. The beach isn't great: the water is silty and shallow, but it's very pretty for lying out.
It was when we checked out that we got quite a shock. They overcharged us quite a bit, telling us that they'd quoted us an extra 500 baht a night for air con, when they'd assured us that it was 300 baht extra a night. Food, drinks, everything was much more costly than had been advertised. We queried and they became very abusive, quickly telling me that I was 'stupid' and 'crazy' and they called the police two minutes later. The cop arrived and told us that we could either spend the day at the police station, waiting for our bill to be queried, or we could pay it and move on. The cop mentioned that this wasn't a lot of money for us, but it was for them. Considering that the girls behind us were also (unsuccessfully) querying their bill, I imagine that Great Bay probably have quite a fortune amassed.
The bill for two nights for each couple in our group was over a hundred euro, so this place really rips you off.
It left a terrible taste in our mouths. Everywhere else we stayed in Thailand was just lovely, so don't let these people ruin your trip!

Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#17 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Residence
Sunshine Residence
#187 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#13 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#11 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#10 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#52 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Property: Phangan Great Bay Resort
Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing