We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typical Average Hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Great Bay Resort for one night after we were approached by a lady at the pier who works for them and drove us there.
On first arrival it seemed good enough, at this point we had not looked at any other hotels. We paid 500 baht each for a room near the beach.
Our room was clean but not to the normal standard you would expect. Our chair had blood stained marks on it and when I pointed this out to the cleaner she just smiled at me. The bed sheets also had UV paint on them, obviously from the full moon party. The aircon in the room however was superb.
The small pool outside was also very clean.
We had lunch at the hotels restaurant upon arrival, the food was good but slightly overpriced.
Moreover, breakfast was not included.
The staff were friendly enough and didn't cause us any hassle.
We had a lovely massage by the beach too.
We walked further up the beach and found another hotel to stay at which cost almost the same price for both of us. It included breakfast, the staff were super friendly and our room was large and stunning. A lot better value for money.
If the Great Bay resort lowered it's prices perhaps peoples expectations wouldn't be so high and therefore less people will feel let down. This may also draw more customers to the resort. Perhaps this is something to consider.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    39
    35
    109
See reviews for
8
59
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varanasi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a really good time at Great bay. Got some problems at an other hotel when we arrived (agency from Bangkok didn't send the money so no room) and the manager at great bay had been so helpful, we got our money back from Bangkok! Even if she was in a rush for full moon, she took time for us wich was really appreciated. Really nice view, cool people, 10mins from full moon beach.. and you guys gotta go to that Eden Garden party on Saturdays, it's insane!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valoudion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The only thing was the staff from the restaurant that was a little bit rude and have difficulties to understand english. Otherwise, really nice Hotel with good atmosphere and nice staff and facilities

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh phangan
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Never stayed in a worse place in my life! Awful staff, awful food, no room cleaning for the whole 8 days we were there! No toilet roll, no clean towels, no clean sheets, rude staff! Charged for imaginary damage to the motorbike which was already there! I can't stress how much nobody should ever stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12303386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Please let us respond to this review to say your stay was very good, and we enjoyed having you, until the end. You were happy to stay here 2 weeks and no complaint. As you choose your holiday to party in the night and sleep in the day is of course ok but please you cannot expect cleaning service to be open in the night when you get up. Toilet rolls and towels are always available when asked. The bike was written off and had to be shipped to the mainland, this is not imaginary and unfortunately is not free, this was an upsetting end for everyone to your stay. We can never stress enough to tourists that scooters can be dangerous and always warn people to drive safely. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The first guy that approached us on the harbour and gave us a really great deal convinced us to stay here (we had no plans for where to stay at this stage). So we went with him to Phangan Bay Resort.. The taxi there was 50THB per person at a discounted cost of half price. The rooms were a great price and had a/c, hot water and tv. They were big rooms and had enough space and beds for 3 of us to stay in one room for 4 nights, It's located right on the beach front but just a short 2 minute walk to the Main Street where all the nightlife and shops are. The booking office located at the resort is super handy for getting help and a ticket to your next location!! Also the scooter hire is fantastic!! Great food at the restaurant and the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming!! If you want to stay somewhere peaceful but close to the activities then this resort is perfect!! It's also a great family environment. If your looking for luxury on a budget then I highly recommend this resort!! I will definitely be staying here again :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

You wouldn't believe Thailand was known as the land of smiles after staying here, the staff are so sour faced and rude constantly (with the exception of Nong who was wonderful, always smily and chatty, he was definitely the best thing about this hotel). The room was decent, good size, only problem was the shower never got warm. Housekeeping was slack, had to constantly ask for toilet roll and towels. Wouldn't stay again but solely due to the miserable staff!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Resort next to the close to the beach and has nice pool for relaxing, staff was nice in general. You are not allowed to take food in your room?

Big disappointment came from scooter renting, we rented scooter for one day and we told that we must return it next day since we leave next morning. We were told that scooter can be returned before 9pm and we had to pay for just one day. Next day we were told that the scooter is only for 24 hours and we had to pay for two days even though it was not yet 9pm. The 24 hour rule would make sense but since we were told to return the scooter at 9pm it didn't make sense. I talked in phone with the owner or something and she was yelling that no one else has had a problem with that, what do I care? She is the one who started the confusion. It is hard to sum it all up in short review but that really sucked. I have never had such a problem with renting a scooter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juho O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaddiePankong, Public Relations Manager at Phangan Great Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
We are sorry that you feel like this when the staff were very attentive and apologised profusely. The only available action was taken to find you a new room on the discovery of the problem. The bed was removed the next day and replaced by a totally new bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#79 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dewshore Resort
Dewshore Resort
#72 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabaii Bay Resort
Sabaii Bay Resort
#74 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morning Star Resort
Morning Star Resort
#69 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Property: Phangan Great Bay Resort
Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing