We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for parties, great for relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for parties, great for relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We chose this resort because they had rooms available with single beds which was perfect for our group travelling. This made the cost really cheap for us as we got an extra bed put into our room so all 4 of us could stay together. The room was massive so there was still plenty of space. It was modern and clean but basic. We were near the back of resort and it was really peaceful with a great balcony in the shade and nice garden area for chilling out in the sun just in front of our room. The owner spoke English but was by no means fluent which made her come across a bit grumpy to start with but we had a good joke with her and she was able to arrange anything we wanted instantly! An English girl also helped in reception so it was no problem conversing with them. Kelly was really helpful and loads of fun, she even got us in free to some of the parties on the island!!

This is a perfect place to stay if you want to be near to the parties but still quiet in the day. The beach was one of the best in its area plus the beach swing was heaps of fun! All our food was great and really cheap plus the barman was fantastic. Wish we could have stayed longer, this is the perfect place especially for groups travelling together and young couples. Will definitely be coming back next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    39
    32
    106
See reviews for
7
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trang, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My friend and I came across this hidden gem right off the ferry. We went out on a limb and tried Great Bay resort. We got a free lift to the resort and check in was easy. The prices were extremely reasonable (we are all teachers in Thailand with low budgets) and the staff was excellent. The bar and restaurant are right on the beach, beside the pool with a blue sea and white sand in front. The food and cocktails were really tasty and we had a fun time chatting with the bartender. Extremely helpful in sorting out future travel plans as well. I have already returned once and will continue to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knsarmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merville, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just returned from Thailand, and spent 17 days at this resort.
We found the staff were very friendly.We were nice to them, and they were nice to us.
Rented a scooter for the 17 days. The resort is a couple of kilometres out of Thongsala, so you should rent a bike.Make sure that you mark any damage down on the rental form. There is no insurance, and you will be held responsible for any damage. The road conditions and driving skills are terrible, and most visitors were young people, with lots of drinking and driving, with resulting accidents. I returned my scooter with no penalty.
The bungalows were comfortable, and equipped for a max of 3 people.
It is not a luxury resort. Most visitors were younger backpackers, there for a couple of days.
The resort should have more loungers and shades available.
The food was good, especially the barbeque, and the price was reasonable.
The cost wasn't too bad, 1200 baht, but the rate for the peak time was excessive.
We had a great time.
Doug & Annie [MAMMA & PAPA]

Room Tip: choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Don't stay here. Mamasan is rude and grotesque. Restaurant overpriced. Food is crap. Very noisy rooms. Don't rent a motorbike...you will be made to pay for imaginary damage. Don't stay here! Owners and staff not only failed "Customer Service 101", but also "How to Just be a Kind of Nice Person"

Room Tip: Choose a room on the other side of the island, in another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seabass2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Pros- ok beach, decent sized bungalow, fair price (1200b), amenities available.
Cons- grumpy owner lady, up charge for extras, kind of isolated off road, English speaking travel agent booked us ferry to koh Tao ... Took our money - charged us 150B for ride to ferry each ... When taxi is 100. She claimed all ferries were full until that night... don't know if she wanted us to stay longer and spend more money?? I specifically asked about the company we came on and she tried to sway me away from them a few times. Then she said it was full. I searched online and found it had plenty of seats. Basically she lied to us to book with a different company. If you stay there I would watch your back when purchasing services such as renting scooter ... Be sure to check every scratch and mark or take pics as they will nail you.

Otherwise it was great

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Me and my friend stayed there on december. Unfortunately late planning lead us to stay there due to full booking of other good hotels. It is very expensive hotel offering no service at all. They would change towels only if we ask them. The room was poor with 2 uncomfortable beds. No fridge. Not to mention that we booked the hotel price online and after they contact us to add a gala charging us extra costs. Although it is an overal bad experience the only good thing was the food at the beach bar and sometimes the music.

Room Tip: The bangalows are the worse maybe the hotel rooms are better who knows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Do not hire scooters from them. they will make you pay for one scratch that's been there and will threaten you with your passport. Most rudest people to deal with. they will rip you off with overpriced accommodation and no hot water. the 5 days we spent there no one even bothered to clean our room. Disappointment written ALL over.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shaan2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Residence
Sunshine Residence
#196 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morning Star Resort
Morning Star Resort
#66 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Awe Resort
Awe Resort
#75 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sun Beach Bungalows
Sun Beach Bungalows
#240 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban Tai Resort
Ban Tai Resort
#23 of 131 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Property: Phangan Great Bay Resort
Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing