We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Staff”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are not bad but the staff is SO UNPOLITE. It seems as if you are bothering them for stating there.

Remarkably, we stayed there for 4 nights and they did not clean our room! When we asked for, they say that we were probably sleeping (as it was true for most of the people being the full moon party week). However, we were enrolled in a 3-day scuba diving course and leaving the hotel each day at 7 am. AWFUL.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    39
    35
    109
See reviews for
8
59
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed two-nights, was only stopping through Koh Phangan for the half-moon party.

On the bright side: rooms were clean (no pests, I looked), A/C was magical, and beds were comfy. Room 6.

Got hard-sold on staying here by this woman with an English accent. Regretted it fairly quickly: the place isn't close to a ton of places to eat / booze / kick it at. Walking 25-30 mins will get you to great places to eat and other hostels that you can hang at. In between Great Bay and your hangout: dirt road, hot asphalt on the main road, empty bars manned by teenage Thai girls. For half an hour!! If the management here were in any way trustworthy then I'd have given more stars. But man, they charge a lot for everything and just the way they do business makes you feel like you're being scammed. No smiles, no effort to provide quality, no suggestions on where to go travel or anything like that, just yells to pay for Item/Service X or go. Given that we weren't surprised that the hostel vibe wasn't there. But hey -- these were just the two nights I stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were conned into staying at this place- a lovely Thai man named Cob cornered us off the ferry from koh Tao and we were easily swayed as we hadnt organised anywhere else. Oh how stupid we were; the place is in the middle of nowhere with a half an hour horrible walk into Thongsala and too far from Haad Rin to walk. The beach is dirty, too shallow to swim and plagued with lots of stray dogs. The room was not particularly clean, we had 4 lizards cohabiting with us and the windows leaked when it rained. The atmosphere of the place was dead despite quite a few people staying there. Perhaps the worst feature of the place the was English woman who seemed to run things: she was extremely rude and unprofessional, asking us to move rooms because they had accidentally double booked the room and only telling us we could stay when we'd packed up everything. There are much better places to stay on koh phangan, avoid this like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaTJ232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

One of the best places we stayed whilst travelling for a month in Thailand, clean and spacious huts that were basically on the beach! About 20 minutes from Haad Rin beach but it was not an issue for us and meant that it felt safe and was quiet. Was really nice to have the option of a pool because it got so hot that the sea was not always enough to cool down properly! Nice food and really friendly staff, my friend fainted on the beach one afternoon and the staff were all very helpful and efficient in looking after her. Would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers on a budget that want to stay in a safe, friendly environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel's location is quite beautiful in that it is right on the beach and not too far from the port. However, we found that in general the staff were unfriendly and there was not a good atmosphere. The English lady who works there always seems stressed running around chasing people for payment which makes you feel on edge. I did not feel relaxed staying here especially in comparison to other places where you can put your food and drinks on your room tab and chill! We were also offered weed on our arrival by staff (which we declined). The number of staff who are friendly is far outweighed by those who couldn't really care less.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavinaDevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were met at the pier by some Thai men who had many leaflets and we had no accomodation so we chose to go to one of their hotels. After choosing which one to stay in, they took us in the minivan and charged 50 baht. We arrived to a place nothing like the leaflet and would never have stayed there in a million years. We were then taken to the 'a/c rooms' which turned out to be on an entirely different resort - great bay.

The pool was green when we arrived and the old lady in reception is very moody indeed. The food was average and the accomodation was very very basic. Decor was dated and they overcharge for the rooms. We left after 2 nights because it was too far from anything and when we did leave we were extortionately overcharged for the taxi!! I recommend sabai beach resort instead which is where my boyfriend and I left to go to. Absolute paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliaholly1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We turned up on the pier of Koh Phangnan and a friendly male Thai approached us instantly with a deal of this resort priced at 400bht each per night. Seemed very reasonable and the 50bht taxi there. Upon turning up to the resort, the elder woman who dealt with all the admin/transactions was rather rude, blunt and unfriendly. We paid for two nights at 400bht.
The friendly man from the pier then informed us that there was parties on the beach and a short walk in either direction for food.
This turned out to be a lie.
The beach was empty with only 6 deck chairs available, to which the dogs slept under. Im very comfortable with dogs however, they were rowdy and run around barking randomly at guests which did intimidate anyone uncomfortable with dogs.
They were left unsupervised at all times.
A walk on the top main road in either direction would take 30-45mins before you could find a restaurant or bar which still didn't look their best. Scooters are a must here, unless you arrange taxis.
Our second day we hired scooters from the resort and they made thorough checks of the bikes prior to handover, which proved to us they were keen. Prompting us to point out as many scratches to cover ourselves.
Approaching our last night i enquired about booking an extra night. The elder woman, again was terribly rude! Slamming her calculator down as she requested 1200bht for one night and insisted you cannot request one night at a time. From 400bht a night per person, to 1200bht!
We handed our scooters back after checking out and was cleared of any further charges we was worried about they may try to claim.
The bungalow/room itself was rather nice. Only issue was the shower would only work by running boiling hot water. No possibility to alter the temperature. Completely unusable.
I would not recommend this resort for anyone, ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryle_UK_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#79 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dewshore Resort
Dewshore Resort
#73 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sabaii Bay Resort
Sabaii Bay Resort
#76 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Morning Star Resort
Morning Star Resort
#74 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Property: Phangan Great Bay Resort
Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 367 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing