We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gr8 view! On the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phangan Great Bay Resort
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Came to Koh Phangan without bookings. Got off the at the ferry terminal late afternoon & was told about a few resorts by a local tout. seemed that Haad rind area was pretty full up.So checked out a few resorts in Baan tai area. There was a room available at Great Bay Resort and it looked alright.
Gr8 view, A restaurant, massage,drinks all available facing the ocean. They had a a little barbeque going on the beach and u can dine on the beach itself. The most colorful sunset while sipping a beer on the beach did it for me!. the room was on the first floor with a little balcony overlooking the pool. Clean, comfortable. didnt notice a lot more as we were more intrested in heading out than staying in! did not eat meals here so cannot comment on the food. lots of negative reviews have been given by travellers. i cud crash here for a night again just for the location. taxis run to/fro along the island day/late into the night-early morning. its a short walk to the main road to hop into a cab

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 243 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Needed a place to stay for the Full Moon Party for three nights, and we weren't sure where to go. Met a man on the ferry that recommended this place to us, and tried to sell us a room but we weren't comfortable handing someone cash.. instead we decided to head over after the ferry had docked. BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER!
Was greeted by a British lady who was unkind, impolite, and honestly seemed like she didn't want any business from us. Unfortunately, it was really late at night and we really had no choice, so of course with a vote, we decided to stay.
The owner did not smile, was a horrible host and treated us like we were idiots. They tried to charge us a ridiculous amount at first (700 bhat each), and after much discussion got her down to 400 bhat per person per night for 3 nights. Of course, the needed the payment upfront.. surprise!
Over the course of three days, they managed to ruin our laundry, tried to charge us for a "clogged" toilet (it was clogged the first time we used it), shut the hot water on and off and worst of all, be the reason why one of us got food poisoning.
NEVER STAY HERE!
Waste of money, horrible location, disgusting beach, stupid and miserable staff.... etc.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, there is my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilov3ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Quiet possible the worst place i've ever stayed. Horrible staff!!!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shiv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed here dec/jan 2011/12 , had an absolute awsome time! met some great people there and had a scream! , it is in a good little location a good place to chill or party , just step out your room youve got a pool /massages/ restaurant/ bar and beach and jet ski's, it is a little bit away from the main fullmoon party beach but not too far plus you can organise a mini bus from the resort to take you all down there, we used to stop off at Coral bungalows on the way there on a night out to hit the pool party first which is good before going down to the beach which is walking distance around the corner.
As for the rooms there mine was good it wasnt no Hilton but it was clean and everything worked and had a nice hot shower and clean towls were provided.
~ the staff there where awsome , birdy and tony realy made it a good stay both entertaining and funny and helpful and the other english girl who worked behind the bar ., But the old female boss was interested in just your money and it would of been nice to see at least a smile from her she was sorting out the bar tabs on your room, so be advised to keep on top of it and know what youve spent.
~The food there was nice with a good bbq on the beach.



A TIP FROM THE TOP as i found out and was not happy about aswel as somebody else that was staying there , i booked and paid for this resort about a month before i went to thialand on the internet and paid about 2500 baht a night for two people plus card charges and there were people turning up paying less than half that for the exact same room next door, and they charged us an extra 500 baht a night to have a bed put on the floor for a third person to stay in my room.
So if you go there i wouldnt book it before hand. The prices where probly more expensive then because it was new years eve week.

But on the overall i would recomend this place to stay, we where lucky that everybody else staying there at that time where a real good bunch and made it an even better stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We were greeted by someone at the pier offering us this destination for a Hotel. I thought it was a nice little resort. Rooms were fine. Food was good. Beach is decent although the water was murky and the bottom felt like hard clay. It is pretty isolated but only ten minutes drive to the Pier and 20 minute drive to Had Rin. If I go again to Koh Phangan, I would definitely stay in Had Rin which is I think the busiest of the towns. Great Bay is nicely located if going to the HalfMoon party. HalfMoon was an awesome party.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for a half moon party in July! The resort is great if you just want to laze around, relax and a good location for the half moon party! One of the better resorts in the ban tai area!

Breakfast on the beach! The pool and sea right there, air con, minibar etc.

Just a wee tip- if you're a traveller on a budget, haggle a bit for the cost. There was only two of us staying in the bungalow and we got the price reduced a bit! Also there's some lovely wee (cheap) places up on the road to eat And Internet is much cheaper in the Internet cafes up the road too!

Recommend staying here! I was lovely!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We arrived here by accident after I was violently sick on the journey from Koh Tao. The rooms by the pool were cheap and well appointed , the beach was beautiful and the pool was quiet and clean. Unfortunately the resort is near nothing (fine if you have a scooter) and the restaurant is over priced and some of the staff are pretty surly. (especially the woman at reception who is always shouting - "hey you, you need to pay" - even though they have a tab system)They have a cute beach bar though and a nightly bbq (also overpriced).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamajunglequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Dewshore Resort
Dewshore Resort
#103 of 394 in Ko Pha Ngan
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#33 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
486 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,535 reviews
6.1 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
6.2 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $30 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing